Articles tagged "debut"

Day’s YA – WICKED SAINTS

Happy Friday, YA pals!

My latest pick is a dark, gothic-inspired fantasy that had me hooked from the first chapter.

WICKED SAINTS by Emily A. Duncan
9781250195661
Available April 2, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

My name is Nadezhda Lapteva, she thought. I am from the monastery in the Baikkle Mountains. I am a cleric of the divine. I am here to kill the king and end this war.
She would bring this country to its knees.”

Meet the last living Kalyazi cleric with the ability to communicate with the gods, Nadya. She is strong, smart, and her unique power is key to defeating her nation’s enemy (the Tranavians) and their evil blood magic.

Meet Tranavian blood mage and Nadya’s biggest enemy, Malachiasz. He is monstrous, beautiful, and a little bit broken.

readmoreremove

#PubDay (3/19/19)

A kick-butt female vigilante, a speculative SF novella collection, and a debut love letter to Chicago and its people join us to celebrate #pubday!

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk

Two starred reviews!

“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Two Starred Reviews for LANNY and CAPE MAY

A Henry James read-alike and a spicy debut both received two starred reviews!

LANNY by Max Porter

Movie adaptation starring Rachel Weisz coming soon!

“In his bold second novel, Porter (GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS) combines pastoral, satire, and fable in the entrancing tale of a boy who vanishes from an idyllic British village in the present day…. This is a dark and thrilling excavation into a community’s legend-packed soil.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Elegantly mysterious: a story worthy of an M.R. James or even a Henry James and a welcome return by an author eminently worth reading.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek

“This young couple’s September honeymoon in Cape May got so boring they almost went home early. If only…. The 1950s setting, the pellucid prose, and the propulsive plot make this very steamy debut novel about morality and desire feel like a classic.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Yes, betrayals are at the core of what happens at Cape May, but beyond that, this remarkable debut novel offers a sobering reminder of how the possibilities of life, when first encountered, often carry their own riptide.”–Booklist, starred review

#PubDay (3/5/19)

A short story collection, a city missing its resident superhero, a March Indie Next pick, and a stunning exploration of the human condition…welcome to #pubday!

INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL: Stories by David Means
Three starred reviews!
“With his debut novel, HYSTOPIA (2016), Means proved he is a gifted long-form storyteller. But his follow-up, his fifth story collection since 1991, affirms his position as one the best story writers of his generation.”–Booklist, starred review

“Means spins intricate, highly textured yarns with great artistry, care, and an acute, empathetic eye. Treasures abound.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In this magnificent book, we find the stories of every one of us: absent and present, dislocated and connected, at the mercy of our history, our narratives.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Three Stars for RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE

Everyone is falling in love with debut M/M rom-com RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston! Just check out these THREE starred reviews:

“The much-loved royal romance genre gets a fun and refreshing update in McQuiston’s debut…. A clever, romantic, sexy love story.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The impossible relationship between Alex and Henry is portrayed with quick wit and clever plotting. The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In between sweet and steamy love scenes, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE allows readers to imagine a world where coming out involves no self-loathing; where fan fiction and activist Twitter do actual good; and a diverse, liberal White House wins elections. This Blue Wave fantasy could be the feel-good book of the summer.”
Booklist, starred review

Also don’t miss Booklist’s exclusive interview with the author.

For Your Consideration: May 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite May 2019 titles for the May 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due April 1!

LIGHT FROM OTHER STARS by Erika Swyler

Author of June 2015 LibraryReads pick THE BOOK OF SPECULATION
Three starred reviews!
A Library Journal Spring/Summer 2019 Top Pick

“Swyler’s beautiful story, told in eloquent prose, induces shivers of wonder. This meditation on time, loss, and the depth of human connection is both melancholy and astonishing.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Brings to mind the quintessential pioneering writer who used science to explore the human condition, Mary Shelley.”–Booklist, starred review

“Grand in scope and graceful in execution.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

2018 Bram Stoker Awards Final Ballot

The Horror Writers Association has announced the final ballot for the 2018 Bram Stoker Awards, and Macmillan has two titles in the running!

Superior Achievement in a Novel
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry

Superior Achievement in a First Novel
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage

Winners will be announced May 11, 2019.

Library Journal’s Best Winter/Spring 2019 Debut Novels

Library Journal rounded up the Winter/Spring Debuts you need on your shelves, and boy, do they have great taste! Here are the Macmillan titles you should keep an eye out for in the coming months:

Literary Fiction
MAKE ME A CITY by Jonathan Carr
CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek (2 starred reviews!)

Here From Afar
MIRACLE CREEK by Angie Kim (2 starred reviews!)

The World at Large
WHEN ALL IS SAID by Anne Griffin

Pop Fiction
MONTAUK by Nicola Harrison
THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib (February LibraryReads + Indie Next Picks!)

SF/Fantasy
MIRANDA IN MILAN by Katharine Duckett
THE RUIN OF KINGS by Jenn Lyons (4 starred reviews!)
A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine (3 starred reviews!)
YOUR FAVORITE BAND CANNOT SAVE YOU by Scotto Moore

Mystery/Thriller
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides (February LibraryReads + Indie Next Picks!)

Books to Anticipate
THE UNPASSING by Chia-Chia Lin
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow

css.php