Articles tagged "Deborah E. Kennedy"

#fridayreads (07/07/17)

Today’s #fridayreads are all debuts!

South Pole Station by Ashley Shelby

A July Indie Next List Selection!

“Shelby’s first novel, based on a short story that won the Third Coast Fiction Prize, skillfully weaves science, climate change, politics, sociology, and art. Competing ideas about the origins of the universe are wrapped in the vagaries of human nature and the dangers of climate extremes. Her characters are a quirky subset of humanity. VERDICT All readers of fiction, particularly those interested in life in extreme climates, will find this appealing.”–Library Journal (starred review)

“Readers will find characters to love, suspect, and identify with among Cooper’s fellow Polies and won’t forget them easily. A good match for readers whose interest in Antarctica was sparked by Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette? (2014), those who enjoy stories about quirky individuals and made families, and extreme armchair travelers.”–Booklist

“This is a fascinating novel, loaded with interesting history of Antarctic exploration, current scientific operations, and the living and working conditions of those folks brave enough to endure six months of darkness and six months of daylight.”–Publishers Weekly

Tornado Weather by Deborah E. Kennedy

“Kennedy’s moving debut novel, about people living in small-town Indiana, reads like interconnected short stories as each chapter is told from a different character’s perspective…Kennedy has painted a distinctive picture of a Midwestern blue-collar town that will remind readers of Richard Russo’s work. Fans of Did You Ever Have a Family (2015), by Bill Clegg, will also find much to admire.”–Booklist

“Kennedy’s heartbreaking debut novel captures the warped and isolated landscape of today’s American Midwest… Though this story is hung on a child gone missing and a tornado on the horizon, the focus is the flawed folks who people it. The author is a fine mimic, inhabiting her characters in such a way that we know them from the inside out. The denouement, coming as it does from a surreal, bird’s-eye view, is very strange indeed. Kennedy’s superb chorus leaves an indelible impression.”–Publishers Weekly

We Shall Not Sleep by Estep Nagy

“An unusual and compelling debut…a surprising delight. Nagy mixes narrative modes and tones (and generations) nimbly; it’s rare to see suspense and literary lyricism woven together so well.”–Kirkus Reviews

“Nagy neatly juggles his many characters, allowing suspense to develop naturally and working in thought-provoking variations on the themes of betrayal and survival.”–Booklist

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes five Macmillan titles!

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!”  A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MIGHTY FRANKS: A Memoir by Michael Frank
A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family. “Complex and fascinating… Readers will be enthralled by the affecting portraits of the two central figures: the aunt whose drive and charming idiosyncrasies concealed an impulsive cruelty, and the child struggling to make sense of the complex, damaged woman trying to control him.” — Publishers Weekly

HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham
“An award-winning writer, performer, and teacher of physical theater/improvisation, Harpham tells a heartrending story of young love, getting pregnant, her partner’s lack of interest in having children, returning home alone, then discovering hours after giving birth that something was dangerously wrong with her baby. There are terrible choices to make and a crooked little road to follow toward some kind of radiant happiness.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: July 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the July 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due May 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

THE BREAKDOWN by B.A. Paris
A Library Journal Spring 2017 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! A woman who believes she was a witness to a crime obsesses over whether she could have prevented a death, while fearing for her sanity. “This psychological thriller is even harder to put down than Paris’ 2016 best-seller debut [and LibraryReads pick] BEHIND CLOSED DOORS; schedule reading time accordingly. With two in a row, Paris moves directly to the thriller A-list.” — Booklist, starred review

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Breakdown.”*

DOWN A DARK ROAD by Linda Castillo
In the electrifying ninth thriller in the New York Times bestselling series (AMONG THE WICKED was a July 2016 LibraryReads pick), a convicted murderer is on the run and Chief of Police Kate Burkholder must catch him before he strikes again. “Castillo works in fine details and insight into Amish life, but this is no gentle read—there is plenty of tension and some good red herrings that will keep any mystery reader satisfied.” — Booklist

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

PARADISE VALLEY by C.J. Box
When ND investigator Cassie Dewell’s latest plan to catch a serial killer called the Lizard King backfires, she finds herself jobless. When a troubled boy disappears, his grandmother urges Cassie to find him. With nothing else to do, she agrees, all while planning a new trap for the Lizard King. “Box’s many fans will devour this dark thriller, which is sure to be another hit for the author.” — Library Journal

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE DARK DARK by Samantha Hunt
“These short stories are works of dark, dark magic that skitter between worlds both recognizable and wholly new. Fans of Hunt’s work (MR. SPLITFOOT, 2016, etc.) will revel in her first story collection, which marries her signature flare for the fantastic with keen observation and sharp prose. Grab your comforter and a flashlight for this tour de force collection from one of our most inventive storytellers.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review
readmoreremove

css.php