Articles tagged "Daisy Dalrymple"

Thriller Thursday (2/11/16 Edition)

Detectives are on the case in today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

INTO OBLIVION by Arnaldur Indridason
“Set in Iceland in 1979, several years after the events of 2015’s REYKJAVIK NIGHTS, Indridason’s elegantly crafted procedural traces two parallel cases: recently divorced Erlendur Sveinsson’s private investigation of the disappearance of a school girl named Dagbjört a quarter-century earlier; and his professional probe, with his enigmatic mentor Marion Briem, of the mysterious death of Kristvin, an Icelandic mechanic who worked at Naval Air Station Keflavík, a large American military installation with an active black market between base personnel and locals. ” Publishers Weekly, starred review

MURDER ON A SUMMER’S DAY by Frances Brody
When the India Office seek help in finding Maharajah Narayan, last seen hunting on the Bolton Abbey estate, they call upon the expertise of renowned amateur detective Kate Shackleton to investigate. “Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Daisy Dalrymple will enjoy the authentic period detail.” — Publishers Weekly

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday? Share your reads with us @MacmillanLib.

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php