Articles tagged "Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney"

Happy #BookBday (5/8/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two perfect, beach-ready reads!

MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley
Also available in audio
A May 2018 Indie Next pick! When midlife woes descend, a long-divorced couple find their paths merging again in this breakout book for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. “McCauley’s effervescent prose is full of wit and wisdom on every topic—college application essays, Airbnb operation, weed addiction, live porn websites, and, most of all, people…. A gin and tonic for the soul.” — Kirkus Reviews

THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
Also available in audio
99-year-old heiress Josephine Bettendorf Warrick hires single-mom lawyer Brooke Trapnell to protect her 20,000-acre barrier island home from developers and to bring together the descendants of her best friends, a spirited bunch who dubbed themselves the High Tide Club. “[A] compelling novel about the people and places that shape a life and the secrets that create ripples for generations. With a unique setting, mysterious flashbacks, romance, and a surprising twist, this book will not disappoint readers looking for juicy escape.” — Booklist

For Your Consideration: May 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

SHELTER IN PLACE by Nora Roberts
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks!Roberts’ latest polished novel delivers all the literary touchstones her fans have come to expect, including high-stakes suspense, a generous dollop of romance, a thoughtful exploration of the strong bonds of family and friendship that women create for themselves, and, of course, some HGTV fixer-upper moments. As a significant bonus, the book’s chilling, brutal opening scenes should be required reading for any politician waffling on the issue of gun control.” Booklist

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

DEATH DOESN’T BARGAIN by Sherrilyn Kenyon
“It’s back to the ‘Deadmen’s Cross’ series as the perennial No. 1 New York Times best-selling Kenyon continues an epic new fantasy adventure. When demons punch their way out of supposedly eternal imprisonment, Hellchaser Cameron Jack must rescue Kalder Dupree from vengeful demon Vine, never mind that Kalder is not exactly Mr. Nice Guy.”Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks and a most anticipated book of 2018, Heti’s daring new novel explores whether or not to have children. “…this lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Motherhood.”*

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “The tale is infused with optimism but never cloying, and it culminates in a well-earned and satisfying ending, leaving readers impatient for the next installment of the series. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
Two starred reviews! “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php