Articles tagged "crime fiction"

Sign Up Now: “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” Booklist Webinar

BooklistMysteryWebinar-April2017With Booklist’s annual Mystery Month just around the corner in May, it’s time to investigate the best in forthcoming crime fiction at the “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” webinar on Tuesday, April 25th at 1pm Central.

Talia “the terror” Sherer is dying to share all the killer Macmillan books with you, so click here to RSVP.

LJ’s Great First Acts — Debut Novels

LJ S17 debutsFrom astute coming-of-age titles to high-profile pop fiction to books heard ’round the world, these seven Macmillan titles will be some of the most talked-about debuts of the spring 2017 season, according to Library Journal:

HOW TO BE HUMAN by Paula Cocozza
Out: May 9
Out of love and on leave from work, Mary finds comfort in the presence of a gorgeous red fox that has taken to visiting the back garden of her home in the London suburbs. But the neighbors are disturbed. “A compelling, unsettling, and wholly original debut.” (LJ 3/1/17)

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
Out: June 13
Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton takes us to Cairo as his idealistic protagonist joins the battle in Tahrir Square, then lands in disillusioned exile in New York. Forceful, astonishing writing and a piercing insider’s look at Egypt’s failed revolution.

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
Out: April 4
Relating the story of 15-year-old Cat, new in town and drawn to daring, desperate Marlena, Buntin captures a destructive yet essential relationship with ongoing consequences. A Discover Great New Writers pick; “an exceptional portrait, disturbing and precisely observed.” (Xpress Reviews 3/10/17) readmoreremove

Listen & Yearn – LJ Audio Spotlight

According to Library Journal‘s recent audio spotlight, audiobooks are continuing their meteoric rise, increasing more than 20% in the last two consecutive years thanks to increasing awareness of the format and the popularity of digital downloads. The number of available titles expanded as well, so it’s no surprise that the tail end of 2016 and the first part of 2017 offer a dizzying array of options from new talent and established masters. Check out just a few of the gems coming soon from our friends at Macmillan Audio:

HISTORICAL MURDER AND MAYHEM

Listeners who enjoy nonfiction crime narratives set in the past will have plenty of new releases to keep them busy well into the new year. In Tom Clavin’s DODGE CITY: Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the Wickedest Town in the American West (Macmillan Audio, Feb.), two men who both lost lawmen brothers to violence team up against a rogue’s gallery of gunfighters and desperadoes to tame Dodge City and establish the rule of justice in “the wickedest place in the United States.”

WOMEN TO BE RECKONED WITH

Audiobook listeners won’t lack for inspiring, tough, or complicated women in central roles. Coretta Scott King’s MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY (Macmillan Audio, May) tells her story from her education at Antioch College and her marriage to Martin Luther King Jr., to her role at the center of the civil rights struggle, the founding of the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, lobbying to establish the national holiday in honor of her husband, and serving as a United Nations ambassador. readmoreremove

Genre Stars!

We’re seeing many stars for these great genre reads:

BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price
“With its intricate cat-and-mouse game, array of idiosyncratic characters, and brooding atmosphere, BY GASLIGHT has much to please fans of both classic suspense and Victorian fiction.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The author’s blend of quest, grief, betrayal, and the mysteries of identity will appeal to readers of literary crime fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
“Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (APPLE TREE YARD), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” Library Journal, starred review

DESOLATION FLATS by Andrew Hunt
“Set in 1938, Hunt’s outstanding third mystery featuring Mormon policeman Art Oveson (after A KILLING IN ZION) combines a moving portrayal of a man attempting to deal with his wife’s depression with a clever whodunit story line. The richness of the characters, including secondary ones, and the imaginative plot make this the best yet in the series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[A] knockout of a novel… so powerful it can be taken as a stand-alone. The real magic here, though, is the author’s ability to make this ordinary man so fascinating. Credit Hunt’s writing. Like his hero, it’s only plain on the surface.” Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Crime Fiction to Quicken the Blood” Booklist Webinar

booklistmysterywebinar_101816

Just in time for Halloween, tune in to Booklist‘s “Crime Fiction to Quicken the Blood” webinar on Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 1pm Central.

Anne “sweet teeth [from too much Halloween candy]” Spieth will be sharing the best new mysteries from Macmillan that will have you reading late into the night (and possibly keeping the lights on after you finish!).

Click here to RSVP. See you there—it’s going to be killer!

Thriller Thursday (9/22/16 Edition)

Agatha Raisin and D.C. Superintendent Konrad Simonsen are back for more adventures and Sharon Bolton’s latest LibraryReads pick will keep you guessing until the very end:

DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
A September 2016 LibraryReads pick! A criminal defense attorney with a reputation for getting the wrongly convicted exonerated is drawn into the machinations of a serial killer who claims innocence. “No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton’s chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

PUSHING UP DAISIES by M.C. Beaton
Don’t miss Agatha Raisin’s adventures on the small screen!Agatha Raisin is in top form in bestseller Beaton’s 27th mystery featuring the exasperating, vulnerable, endearing owner of a thriving private detective agency in the Cotswolds village of Carsley. Agatha may be disappointed in love once again, but a twisty plot, a familiar cast of eccentric characters, and a charming English country setting mean that lovers of cozy mysteries will be satisfied indeed.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

css.php