Articles tagged "crime fiction"

Booklist’s “Falling for Mystery” Webinar (10/30/18)

We hope you tuned in to today’s Booklist’s “Falling for Mystery” webinar, but if not, here is the title list.  

The archived webinar is available here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

 

LJ Mystery Spotlight Cover Girl: Zoje Stage

We’re thrilled to see Zoje Stage gracing the cover of the April 15, 2018 issue of Library Journal!

The BABY TEETH author did an extensive Q&A with LJ (shout-out to Talia “the terror” Sherer‘s PLA book buzz to a crowd of 1,000 librarians, which made BABY TEETH the most requested giveaway ARC in our booth!), and it was included with seven other Macmillan mysteries in a genre spotlight:

Hector DeJean, associate publicity director of St. Martin’s Minotaur Books imprint, says, “Thrillers focusing on family, marriage, and other domestic relationships have proven wildly popular, and in forthcoming books by Jennifer Hillier and Sandie Jones these intimate connections of family and friendship—beyond married couples—turn deadly.” In JAR OF HEARTS (Jun.), Hillier delves into the story of a woman who survived a relationship with a dangerous boyfriend and kept secrets about her best friend’s murder, while Jones, in her debut, THE OTHER WOMAN (Aug.), focuses on a woman facing an increasingly manipulative mother-in-law.

Anxieties about motherhood and the parent-child relationship are driving other domestic thrillers. Coming in July from St. Martin’s is Zoje Stage’s chilling debut, BABY TEETH, in which silent and emotionally detached seven-year-old Hanna conspires to kill her mother. St. Martin’s executive editor Jennifer Weis devoured the book in one sitting. “I couldn’t look away as it exposed family truths, a child’s threat to her parents’ relationship, and a continuous feeling of impending doom with dire consequences. WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN—it hits all the right notes.” readmoreremove

RSVP Now: “Crime Fiction for Mystery Month” Booklist Webinar

Booklist’s eighth annual Mystery Month starts with a bang in May—prepare your alibi by attending this killer webinar of forthcoming mysteries, thrillers, and espionage novels for adult readers on Thursday, April 26 at 1pm Central!

Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth will be sharing the best new mysteries from Macmillan and we hear that Booklist moderator Annie Bostrom, Adult Books Associate Editor, will provide getaway maps and legal advice (wink wink).

Click here to RSVP.

Thriller Thursday (3/15/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to chilling debuts and returning sleuths:

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney
Also available in audio
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Bustle’s “2018 Debuts You Need in Your TBR Pile!” My name is Amber Reynolds. There are three things you should know about me: 1. I’m in a coma. 2. My husband doesn’t love me anymore. 3. Sometimes I lie. So opens this brilliant psychological thriller by former BBC news producer, Alice Feeney. “…a serpentine tale of betrayal, madness, and murder. Feeney is definitely a writer to watch.” — Publishers Weekly

THIS IS HOW IT ENDS by Eva Dolan
There’s plenty of intrigue, sex, and drugs in this fast-paced mystery, set against a backdrop of gentrifying London, from the writer of the Zigic and Ferreira crime series. “In this stand-alone, her ability to write a complex and nuanced psychological thriller is clearly manifest. Recommend to fans of social realism in crime fiction, from Georges Simenon straight on through to Dennis Lehane.” — Booklist, starred review

FADE TO BLACK by David Rosenfelt
Also available in audio
In the thrilling sequel to BLACKOUT from David Rosenfelt, policeman Doug Brock helps a fellow victim of amnesia untangle a murder case and discovers he may not be as distant as he thinks. “…[T]he tingly, sinister mood gives readers plenty to enjoy.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (6/8/17 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! First, big congrats to our nominees on the 2017 CWA Dagger longlists:

The CWA Gold Dagger
THE DRY by Jane Harper

The Ian Fleming Steel Dagger
MOSKVA by Jack Grimwood
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart

The John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger
WHAT YOU DON’T KNOW by JoAnn Chaney
GOOD ME BAD ME by Ali Land

The Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction
ARTHUR AND SHERLOCK: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims

The CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger
BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price

Now on to this week’s new books!

HE SAID/SHE SAID by Erin Kelly
Two starred reviews! On the eve of a solar eclipse, a couple forced into hiding discovers that they can no longer run from their past in this taut psychological suspense novel. “HE SAID/SHE SAID is a thriller to savor, and should be one of the highlights of the summer.” — Associated Press

WOLF ON A STRING by Benjamin Black
Bestselling author Black turns his eye to sixteenth century Prague and a story of murder, magic and the dark art of wielding extraordinary power. “Black displays his mastery of yet another mystery subgenre in this brooding, atmospheric whodunit set in 16th-century Prague. Superior prose complements the intricate plot.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

YOU BELONG TO ME by Colin Harrison
An elite immigration attorney and obsessive collector of antique New York City maps is drawn into a swiftly escalating series of murders in Harrison’s latest whodunit. “In his latest New York-centered crime thriller, Harrison spins a tightly wound tale of obsession and betrayal. The narrative is as impressively constructed as the maps in Paul’s collection: each section laid out in seamless order to allow for a satisfyingly neat conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” Booklist Webinar

BooklistMysteryWebinar-April2017With Booklist’s annual Mystery Month just around the corner in May, it’s time to investigate the best in forthcoming crime fiction at the “Spring the Trap: Mysteries That Won’t Let Go” webinar on Tuesday, April 25th at 1pm Central.

Talia “the terror” Sherer is dying to share all the killer Macmillan books with you, so click here to RSVP.

LJ’s Great First Acts — Debut Novels

LJ S17 debutsFrom astute coming-of-age titles to high-profile pop fiction to books heard ’round the world, these seven Macmillan titles will be some of the most talked-about debuts of the spring 2017 season, according to Library Journal:

HOW TO BE HUMAN by Paula Cocozza
Out: May 9
Out of love and on leave from work, Mary finds comfort in the presence of a gorgeous red fox that has taken to visiting the back garden of her home in the London suburbs. But the neighbors are disturbed. “A compelling, unsettling, and wholly original debut.” (LJ 3/1/17)

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
Out: June 13
Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton takes us to Cairo as his idealistic protagonist joins the battle in Tahrir Square, then lands in disillusioned exile in New York. Forceful, astonishing writing and a piercing insider’s look at Egypt’s failed revolution.

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
Out: April 4
Relating the story of 15-year-old Cat, new in town and drawn to daring, desperate Marlena, Buntin captures a destructive yet essential relationship with ongoing consequences. A Discover Great New Writers pick; “an exceptional portrait, disturbing and precisely observed.” (Xpress Reviews 3/10/17) readmoreremove

Listen & Yearn – LJ Audio Spotlight

According to Library Journal‘s recent audio spotlight, audiobooks are continuing their meteoric rise, increasing more than 20% in the last two consecutive years thanks to increasing awareness of the format and the popularity of digital downloads. The number of available titles expanded as well, so it’s no surprise that the tail end of 2016 and the first part of 2017 offer a dizzying array of options from new talent and established masters. Check out just a few of the gems coming soon from our friends at Macmillan Audio:

HISTORICAL MURDER AND MAYHEM

Listeners who enjoy nonfiction crime narratives set in the past will have plenty of new releases to keep them busy well into the new year. In Tom Clavin’s DODGE CITY: Wyatt Earp, Bat Masterson, and the Wickedest Town in the American West (Macmillan Audio, Feb.), two men who both lost lawmen brothers to violence team up against a rogue’s gallery of gunfighters and desperadoes to tame Dodge City and establish the rule of justice in “the wickedest place in the United States.”

WOMEN TO BE RECKONED WITH

Audiobook listeners won’t lack for inspiring, tough, or complicated women in central roles. Coretta Scott King’s MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY (Macmillan Audio, May) tells her story from her education at Antioch College and her marriage to Martin Luther King Jr., to her role at the center of the civil rights struggle, the founding of the King Center for Nonviolent Social Change, lobbying to establish the national holiday in honor of her husband, and serving as a United Nations ambassador. readmoreremove

Genre Stars!

We’re seeing many stars for these great genre reads:

BY GASLIGHT by Steven Price
“With its intricate cat-and-mouse game, array of idiosyncratic characters, and brooding atmosphere, BY GASLIGHT has much to please fans of both classic suspense and Victorian fiction.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The author’s blend of quest, grief, betrayal, and the mysteries of identity will appeal to readers of literary crime fiction.” — Library Journal, starred review

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
“Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (APPLE TREE YARD), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Doughty takes a page from John le Carré, crafting a riveting, psychological, morally ambiguous tale. Harper’s backstory is richly detailed, and his budding relationship with Rita is convincing. Finally, the role of mercenaries in world affairs adds a new perspective to the spy novel genre.” Library Journal, starred review

DESOLATION FLATS by Andrew Hunt
“Set in 1938, Hunt’s outstanding third mystery featuring Mormon policeman Art Oveson (after A KILLING IN ZION) combines a moving portrayal of a man attempting to deal with his wife’s depression with a clever whodunit story line. The richness of the characters, including secondary ones, and the imaginative plot make this the best yet in the series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[A] knockout of a novel… so powerful it can be taken as a stand-alone. The real magic here, though, is the author’s ability to make this ordinary man so fascinating. Credit Hunt’s writing. Like his hero, it’s only plain on the surface.” Booklist, starred review
readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Crime Fiction to Quicken the Blood” Booklist Webinar

booklistmysterywebinar_101816

Just in time for Halloween, tune in to Booklist‘s “Crime Fiction to Quicken the Blood” webinar on Tuesday, October 25, 2016 at 1pm Central.

Anne “sweet teeth [from too much Halloween candy]” Spieth will be sharing the best new mysteries from Macmillan that will have you reading late into the night (and possibly keeping the lights on after you finish!).

Click here to RSVP. See you there—it’s going to be killer!

css.php