Articles tagged "cozies"

Thriller Thursday (2/16/17 Edition)

Spies and detectives and murderers, oh my!

A DIVIDED SPY by Charles Cumming
Two starred reviews! A former MI6 officer, Thomas Kell devoted his life to the Service, but it has left him with nothing but grief and a simmering anger against the Kremlin. Then Kell is offered an unexpected chance at revenge. Taking the law into his own hands, he embarks on a mission to recruit a top Russian spy and finds himself in a high stakes game of cat and mouse in which it becomes increasingly difficult to know who is playing whom. “Bestseller Cumming’s nuanced, suspenseful third Thomas Kell novel… unfold[s] in a perfectly constructed plot that proves once again that Cumming is among today’s top spy thriller writers. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

AMONG THE RUINS by Ausma Zehanat Khan
In Khan’s third powerful mystery, Detective Esa Khattak is on leave in Iran when he’s asked to investigate the murder of Canadian-Iranian filmmaker Zahra Sobhani at Iran’s notorious Evin prison. Khattak quickly finds himself embroiled in Iran’s tumultuous politics and under surveillance by the regime, but when the trail leads to Zahra’s family in Canada, Khattak calls on his partner, Detective Rachel Getty, for help. “Deeply political without becoming pedantic, Khan’s crime novel offers a fictionalized yet very real look at a region that is steeped in both beauty and misery.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/1/16 Edition)

It’s December! That chill in the air might have something to do with these two new mysteries:

GLOW OF DEATH by Jane Cleland
When amateur sleuth and antiques expert Josie Prescott appraises a real Tiffany lamp she is thrilled—until the owner is murdered in the eleventh mystery in this cozy series set in New Hampshire from LibraryReads author Cleland. “Small-town, seacoast Rocky Point, New Hampshire, is lovingly described, and details about Tiffany lamps and other antiques and collectibles are woven throughout this satisfying cozy, which will appeal to readers of Barbara Allan’s Brandy Borne cozies and Lea Wait’s Maggie Summer mysteries.” — Booklist

STORM RISING by Douglas Schofield
Lucy Hendricks has tried to move on from her cop husband’s murder. But when her son Kevin’s behavior becomes increasingly erratic, making statements wise beyond his years and offering specific details about Jack’s murder he couldn’t possibly know, Lucy must figure out the mystery surrounding her husband’s death. “An intriguing domestic thriller with supernatural elements.” — Booklist readmoreremove

LJ Genre Spotlight: Mystery

Happy Monday, friends! Our pal and Library Journal Mover & Shaker Kristi Chadwick recently wrote a genre spotlight column on mysteries for LJ and we’re thrilled (pun intended) that it includes so many Macmillan titles:
Breaking the Color Barrier

SKIES OF ASH by Rachel Howzell Hall (Detective Elouise Norton series)
On sale May 19, 2015
The second novel starring Los Angeles homicide detective Elouise “Lou” Norton (after LAND OF SHADOWS) finds Lou and her partner search for an arsonist.

Diverse Voices For a Diverse World

DEAD SOON ENOUGH by Steph Cha (Juniper Song mysteries)
On sale August 11, 2015
Los Angeles-based P.I. Juniper Song is back in a thrillingly written, masterfully plotted story of how far a mother will go for her child.

More diverse Minotaur authors mentioned: Solomon Jones, Qiu Xialong, Ed Lin, Ian Vasquez, Laura Joh Rowland and Vikas Swarup.

Into the Genre Blender

MADE TO KILL by Adam Christopher
On sale November 3, 2015
A BEA 2015 galley giveaway title! Raymond Chandler’s detective fiction meets Lawrence Block’s Keller novels…with robots!

TIME OF DEPARTURE by Douglas Schoenfeld
On sale December 1, 2015
A debut mystery with a surprising twist, featuring a young state prosecutor investigating a series of murders dating back to the 1970s, and a mysterious ex cop who knows way too much about her. readmoreremove

Queens Library Mystery Book Buzz 2014

Today Anne presented all the latest and greatest Mystery titles at the Queens Library “Mystery in the Stacks” Book Buzz. We don’t want anyone to feel left out, so here are the books she talked about:

LibraryReads
MALICE by Keigo Higashino
MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
THE LIFE I LEFT BEHIND by Colette McBeth

Bestselling Authors
BETRAYED by Lisa Scottoline
ALL THE OLD KNIVES by Olen Steinhauer
THE PATRIOT THREAT by Steve Berry

Debuts
NINE DAYS by Minerva Koenig
THE MURDER MAN by Tony Parsons
FIVE by Ursula Archer
THE UNQUIET DEAD by Ausma Zehanat Khan

Cozies
THE BLOOD OF AN ENGLISHMAN by M.C. Beaton
A DEMON SUMMER by G.M. Malliet
KILL ‘EM WITH CAYENNE by Gail Oust

Historical Mysteries
THE COUNTERFEIT HEIRESS by Tasha Alexander
THE LAWS OF MURDER by Charles Finch

Detective/PI/Amateur Sleuth
BROADCHURCH by Erin Kelly
TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan
THE WHITES by Harry Brandt
A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders

Nonfiction
DEEP DOWN DARK by Héctor Tobar
BAD PAPER by Jake Halpern

Winter 2015 Treats
THE REVENANT by Michael Punke
A PLEASURE AND A CALLING by Phil Hogan
AMONG THIEVES by John Clarkson

Want a more adorable version to share with your colleagues? Click here to download the handout.

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php