Articles tagged "coming-of-age"

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/19/19)

Memory, menopause, money, and manhood–all explored in today’s nonfiction round-up!

A PRIMER FOR FORGETTING: Getting Past the Past by Lewis Hyde

2 starred reviews!

“An eclectic and insightful miscellany of playful, spirited, provocative reflections.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Rather, in the way of Zen Buddhism, it’s an invitation to forget our very selves so that we might finally see the universe clearly. And alongside all of the bright-burning erudition, there is a very moving personal angle: his mother’s progressive dementia and the prospect of his own.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (6/18/19)

An apocalyptic satire and an exploration of black women’s relationships to their hair are today’s #bookbirthday celebrants!

FKA USA by Reed King

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick!

“Readers who like their apocalyptic fiction with a hearty serving of weird will want to jump on board for this wild ride.”–Booklist, starred review

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019!

“Flowers’s vibrant and immersive coming-of-age tales are set in a world that may often be cruel, but is never without communion (and some funny moments)—even if she’s got to endure a few chemical burns along the way.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

It’s #PubDay! (5/21/19)

Fantasy, coming-of-age, and a PW Best Book of the Summer–pick your poison!

AN ILLUSION OF THIEVES by Cate Glass

“A combination of political intrigue, deceit, and forbidden talents imbues this adventurous series-starter that ends with hints of another caper to come with a Mission Impossible vibe.”–Booklist, starred review

THE SCENT KEEPER by Erica Bauermeister

Watch Nancy Pearl interview the author!

“A young girl with a unique talent for identifying scents embarks on a journey of self-discovery when she’s ripped from her intensely isolated childhood home… An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Nancy Pearl Interviews Erica Bauermeister

The library world’s very own super hero, Nancy Pearl, sat down with THE SCENT KEEPER author Erica Bauermeister to discuss the inspiration behind her new novel!

Watch the full interview here!

THE SCENT KEEPER

A June 2019 Indie Next Pick!

Emmeline lives an enchanted childhood on a remote island with her father, who teaches her about the natural world through her senses. What he won’t explain are the mysterious scents stored in the drawers that line the walls of their cabin, or the origin of the machine that creates them. As Emmeline grows, however, so too does her curiosity, until one day the unforeseen happens, and Emmeline is vaulted out into the real world–a place of love, betrayal, ambition, and revenge. To understand her past, Emmeline must unlock the clues to her identity, a quest that challenges the limits of her heart and imagination.

Lyrical and immersive, THE SCENT KEEPER explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home.

“An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

Happy #PubDay! (2/4/19)

Today’s #pubday brings us historical + literary fiction, fantasy, and comedic coming-of-age novels!

THE PEACOCK FEAST by Lisa Gornick
“Spanning a century, two coasts, and two continents, this well-researched historical novel is moving and profound, laying bare the corrosive nature of secrets and regrets and the sadness of not living one’s life to the fullest.”–Library Journal

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib
A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick!
A February 2019 Indie Next selection!
“In her powerful debut, Zgheib masterfully chronicles the pain of an anorexic’s distorted thinking and intense fear of food in a riveting diarylike structure… This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Kristin Hannah’s THE GREAT ALONE is a LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites 2018!

You read it, you loved it, you voted for it, and now Kristin Hannah‘s THE GREAT ALONE is a LibraryReads Favorite of Favorites 2018! YAY!  

The “Favorite of Favorites” list takes the place of the traditional December list, with the top nominations for titles due to be published in December 2018 and January 2019 appearing together on the January 2019 list.
Not that you asked, but here are our recs for your January voting pleasure…

Maximum Shelf: THE NIGHT TIGER

Today’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee, is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo: THE NIGHT TIGER.

In this utterly transporting story set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, an apprentice dressmaker named Ji Lin moonlights as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s Mahjong debts. Across town, 11-year-old houseboy Ren races to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: find the man’s severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

As the days tick by, a series of unexplained deaths wreak havoc on the town, along with whispers of men who turn into tigers. Ji Lin and Ren are pulled together in ways they couldn’t have imagined, as their increasingly dangerous paths lead them from lush plantations, to hospital storage rooms, to a ghostly dreamscape.

THE NIGHT TIGER is many things: a fine example of historical fiction, a work of magical realism, a ghost story, a mystery, a romance, a coming-of-age tale. Each of these is impressive, but most impressive is Choo’s ability to weave them all together in a way that feels authentic, and to use that intricate process to tell a story of colonialism and self-determination, love and death, family and tradition.” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Yangsze Choo on Shelf-Awareness.com. And enter to win an ARC! readmoreremove

Booklist’s Top SF/Fantasy/Horror of 2018

Booklist’s Top 10 SF/Fantasy/Horror reading lists of 2018* include these outstanding Macmillan titles:
Top 10 SF/Fantasy: 2018 (full list)

BALL LIGHTNING by Cixin Liu, translated by Joel Martinsen
While devoting himself to studying the atmospheric occurrence called ball lightning—which struck and killed his parents—Chen meets the beautiful but ruthless Lin Yun, an army major whose devotion to creating strange new weapons matches his own obsessive quest.

BINTI: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor
After the destruction of her home and presumed death of her family, Binti, with her friend Mwinyi, must find a path to peace between the Khosh and the Meduse in the satisfying ending to Okorafor’s Binti trilogy.

STARLESS by Jacqueline Carey
In a starless world, a young man and a princess—born at the exact same time—journey through killer vegetation, across an ocean, and into a volcano with a diverse corps of individuals, including intelligent giant sea wyrms.

WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk
The magnetically handsome Tristan brings a dying man to Dr. Miles Singer’s doorstep, aware of Miles’ secret identity as a witch, in a debut with nest-doll-like layers, a will-he-or-won’t-he romance, mages, wizards, political intrigue, and the atmosphere of a historical mystery.

Top 10 Horror: 2018 (full list)

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – UNSTOPPABLE MOSES

Hello, YA librarians! 

Welcome to the 20th edition of Day’s YA!! (20?! Holy guacamole!) If you’d like to go back and read past reviews (like THE HAZEL WOOD, SKY IN THE DEEP, HOW I RESIST, or LEGENDARY), check out the archives here or at the bottom of this post. Otherwise, let’s get right to it!

UNSTOPPABLE MOSES by Tyler James Smith
9781250138545
Available September 11, 2018 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 to 18

Moses Hill is a high school junior living in the Midwest with his cousin / best friend, Charlie. Moses and Charlie grew up together and are notorious for pulling mostly-harmless pranks. One night their prank goes horribly awry and burns down a building. Moses is blamed and as punishment ends up spending a week as a camp counselor. He can either use the time to “prove [he’s] a responsible member of society” or lose his shot at Duke. But, when Moses is assigned as a “buddy” to younger camper, Lump (yes, Lump), he begins to truly learn who he is and how to heal from his own trauma.

I love when a book grabs me from the get-go. The first sentence, “Charlie Baltimore murdered me when we were eight years old,” was just the hook I needed! As the story progresses, it becomes a beautiful (and, at times, hilarious) coming-of-age story about dealing with the effects of trauma and putting the broken pieces of your life back together. In the vein of John Green and Stephen Chbosky, this debut novel is one that will grab onto you with all its might. readmoreremove

css.php