Articles tagged "coming-of-age"

Winter 2019–2020 Indie Next List for Reading Groups Preview

Hey all you book club hosters, the Winter 2019–2020 Indie Next List for Reading Groups Preview includes 8 Macmillan titles!

Top 10

#1: SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore

Family & Coming of Age

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas

Backlisted But Not Forgotten

300 ARGUMENTS by Sarah Manguso
PYONGYANG: A Journey in North Korea by Guy Delisle

Nonfiction & Memoir

ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson

Relationships

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg

Thrills & Chills

MACHINE by Susan Steinberg

Thriller Thursday (10/10)

Witchcraft and murder at a boarding school + a WWII military thriller = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE NUGGET by P. T. Deutermann

“Deutermann, long a master of military thrillers, is at the top of his game here.”–Booklist

DOMINICANA Is the Inaugural GMA Book Club Pick

Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is the Good Morning America Cover to Cover Book Club’s inaugural pick!

The pick was announced this morning on GMA with a special appearance by the author and an audience giveaway. Next, tune in on October 29th, when Angie Cruz will be a guest on the show to discuss the novel with Robin Roberts and other GMA hosts. You can also follow along on the show’s new Instagram page or website.

More about DOMINICANA

In bright, musical prose that reflects the energy of New York City, Angie Cruz’s DOMINICANA is a vital portrait of the immigrant experience and the timeless coming-of-age story of a young woman finding her voice in the world.

A September Indie Next pick + a Kirkus Reviews Most Anticipated Book + a 2020 Carnegie Award longlister + 3 starred reviews!

“This stirring immigration story is Cruz’s breakout book.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

Three Stars for DOMINICANA

Angie Cruz’s immigration x coming-of-age breakout DOMINICANA has THREE starred reviews!

“This stirring immigration story is Cruz’s breakout book; it should be heralded alongside Julia Alvarez’s HOW THE GARCIA GIRLS LOST THEIR ACCENTS.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Cruz’s winning novel will linger in the reader’s mind long after the close of the story.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Cruz’s ability to create mood and atmosphere with her distinctive writing style make her a strong voice in Dominican American literature.”–Booklist, starred review

Nonfiction Round-Up (6/19/19)

Memory, menopause, money, and manhood–all explored in today’s nonfiction round-up!

A PRIMER FOR FORGETTING: Getting Past the Past by Lewis Hyde

2 starred reviews!

“An eclectic and insightful miscellany of playful, spirited, provocative reflections.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Rather, in the way of Zen Buddhism, it’s an invitation to forget our very selves so that we might finally see the universe clearly. And alongside all of the bright-burning erudition, there is a very moving personal angle: his mother’s progressive dementia and the prospect of his own.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (6/18/19)

An apocalyptic satire and an exploration of black women’s relationships to their hair are today’s #bookbirthday celebrants!

FKA USA by Reed King

A July 2019 Indie Next Pick!

“Readers who like their apocalyptic fiction with a hearty serving of weird will want to jump on board for this wild ride.”–Booklist, starred review

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

A Publishers Weekly Best Book of Summer 2019!

“Flowers’s vibrant and immersive coming-of-age tales are set in a world that may often be cruel, but is never without communion (and some funny moments)—even if she’s got to endure a few chemical burns along the way.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

It’s #PubDay! (5/21/19)

Fantasy, coming-of-age, and a PW Best Book of the Summer–pick your poison!

AN ILLUSION OF THIEVES by Cate Glass

“A combination of political intrigue, deceit, and forbidden talents imbues this adventurous series-starter that ends with hints of another caper to come with a Mission Impossible vibe.”–Booklist, starred review

THE SCENT KEEPER by Erica Bauermeister

Watch Nancy Pearl interview the author!

“A young girl with a unique talent for identifying scents embarks on a journey of self-discovery when she’s ripped from her intensely isolated childhood home… An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Nancy Pearl Interviews Erica Bauermeister

The library world’s very own super hero, Nancy Pearl, sat down with THE SCENT KEEPER author Erica Bauermeister to discuss the inspiration behind her new novel!

Watch the full interview here!

THE SCENT KEEPER

A June 2019 Indie Next Pick!

Emmeline lives an enchanted childhood on a remote island with her father, who teaches her about the natural world through her senses. What he won’t explain are the mysterious scents stored in the drawers that line the walls of their cabin, or the origin of the machine that creates them. As Emmeline grows, however, so too does her curiosity, until one day the unforeseen happens, and Emmeline is vaulted out into the real world–a place of love, betrayal, ambition, and revenge. To understand her past, Emmeline must unlock the clues to her identity, a quest that challenges the limits of her heart and imagination.

Lyrical and immersive, THE SCENT KEEPER explores the provocative beauty of scent, the way it can reveal hidden truths, lead us to the person we seek, and even help us find our way back home.

“An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

Happy #PubDay! (2/4/19)

Today’s #pubday brings us historical + literary fiction, fantasy, and comedic coming-of-age novels!

THE PEACOCK FEAST by Lisa Gornick
“Spanning a century, two coasts, and two continents, this well-researched historical novel is moving and profound, laying bare the corrosive nature of secrets and regrets and the sadness of not living one’s life to the fullest.”–Library Journal

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib
A February 2019 LibraryReads Pick!
A February 2019 Indie Next selection!
“In her powerful debut, Zgheib masterfully chronicles the pain of an anorexic’s distorted thinking and intense fear of food in a riveting diarylike structure… This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove
css.php