Articles tagged "coming-of-age story"

Happy #BookBday (6/6/17 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday, especially when they’re great summer reads!

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
One of Entertainment Weekly‘s Summer’s Must-Read Books and PW‘s Best Books of Summer 2017 with two starred reviews! A bitingly funny, hugely entertaining novel in which a fractured family from the Chicago suburbs must gather in London for their eldest daughter’s marriage to an upper-crust Englishman. “Ginder takes family dysfunction to its hysterical limit in this joyously ribald, sharply cynical, and impossible-to-put-down examination of love and loyalty.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
One of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” with two starred reviews!Startling and stunning and compulsively strange, Lacey’s sophomore novel is a haunting investigation into the nature of love. With otherworldly precision and subtle wit, Lacey creates a gently surreal dreamscape that’s both intoxicating and profound. A singular novel; as unexpected as it is rich.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

GRIEF COTTAGE by Gail Godwin
One of Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer” with two starred reviews! The haunting tale of a desolate cottage, a tragic accident, and the hair-thin junction between this life and the next, from bestselling National Book Award finalist Godwin. “With intriguingly eccentric supporting characters and a dramatic setting, Godwin’s riveting and wise story of the slow coalescence of trust and love between a stoic artist and a grieving boy, and of nature’s glory and indifference, subtly and insightfully explores different forms of haunting and vulnerability, strength and survival. Word will spread quickly about Godwin’s tender and spellbinding supernatural novel.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove

css.php