Articles tagged "collection development"

SLJ’s Best Adult Books 4 Teens 2018

School Library Journal recently published their annual list of Best Adult Books 4 Teens and four Macmillan titles made the cut!

THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
In her follow-up to THE NIGHTINGALE, Hannah highlights, with vivid description, the natural dangers of 1974 Alaska juxtaposed with incongruous domestic violence.

CITY OF LIES by Sam Hawke
When Salasta’s Chancellor is murdered by an unidentified poison, two young men get caught up in a maelstrom involving power-hungry Council members. This epic fantasy debut weaves political, class, and belief systems into a deftly drawn world.

BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
This stand-alone volume in McGuire’s highly popular novella series centers on a magical boarding school that reintroduces children who had embarked on otherworldly adventures into reality. Elegant prose strengthens this inviting portal fantasy.

WHEN THEY CALL YOU A TERRORIST: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Patrisse Khan-Cullors and asha bandele
The Black Lives Matter movement cofounder discusses how witnessing police brutality spurred her to action in this bracing memoir and deft exposé of the United States’ broken criminal justice system. readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: Booklist Webinar “Falling for Mystery” 10/30, 1:00 pm Central


When the wind howls through tree branches and masked youngsters pound on your door demanding loot, it’s time to escape to the pages of a book! Get lost in these thrilling and mysterious reads from Macmillan!

Tuesday, October 30, 2018 1:00 pm
Central Daylight Time (Chicago, GMT-05:00)

Register for this SPOOK-tacular webinar here.

 

September 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for September 2018:

Bestsellers:
LEVERAGE IN DEATH: An Eve Dallas Novel by J.D. Robb
SADIE by Courtney Summers
DEAR FOUNDER: Letters of Advice for Anyone Who Leads, Manages, or Wants to Start a Business by Maynard Webb

Recent Releases:
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE by Carol Anderson — longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award in Nonfiction!
SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore — selected by Sarah Jessica Parker for ALA’s Book Club Central!
HEART: A History by Sandeep Jauhar
THE PIRANHAS: The Boy Bosses of Naples by Roberto Saviano readmoreremove

August 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for August 2018:

Bestsellers & Recent Releases:
FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
BALL LIGHTNING by Cixin Liu, translated by Joel Martinsen
A FUTURE OF FAITH: The Path of Change in Politics and Society by Pope Francis (Jorge Mario Bergoglio) & Dominique Wolton

Indie Next Picks:
MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson (also a LibraryReads pick)
THE MIDDLEMAN by Olen Steinhauer
THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

July 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for July 2018:

Bestsellers:
I SEE LIFE THROUGH ROSÉ COLORED GLASSES: True Stories and Confessions by Lisa Scottoline & Francesca Serritella
A GATHERING OF SECRETS by Linda Castillo
STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron

Recent Releases:
RESCUED by David Rosenfelt
THE POISONED CITY: Flint’s Water and the American Urban Tragedy by Anna Clark
CITY OF DEVILS: The Two Men Who Ruled the Underworld of Old Shanghai by Paul French
WANNA BET?: A Degenerate Gambler’s Guide to Living on the Edge by Artie Lange

Indie Next Picks:
BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage (also a July LibraryReads pick!)
THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

ALA Annual 2018 — Monday Events

It’s the last day of ALA Annual! Start at the “Bookalicious Breakfast,” then stop by the Macmillan Adult (Flatiron Books YA & Wednesday Books) booth #3420 to grab the last of our books!

LibraryReads “Bookalicious Breakfast” with Somaiya Daud
8:30-10:00am
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Room 275-277
Add to your schedule

Join LibraryReads for the ALA Annual Bookalicious Breakfast featuring a panel of authors including Somaiya Daud (MIRAGE). A book signing will follow the program.

Booklist’s “Read ‘n Rave”
10:30-11:30am
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center | Room 281-282
Add to your schedule

Join Susan Maguire, Booklist’s Senior Editor, Collection Management and Library Outreach, and a panel of collection development librarians as they rave about their favorite titles gathered from the exhibit floor. readmoreremove

May 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for May 2018:

Bestsellers:
THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
MISS SUBWAYS by David Duchovny
HOW I RESIST: Activism and Hope for a New Generation, edited by Maureen Johnson

Recent Releases:
CHOSEN COUNTRY: A Rebellion in the West by James Pogue
CHOOSE WONDER OVER WORRY by Amber Rae
ROBIN by Dave Itzkoff
SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith

May Indie Next Picks:
HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley readmoreremove

April 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development! Here are some of the top titles for April 2018:

Bestsellers:
AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline
A HIGHER LOYALTY: Truth, Lies, and Leadership by James Comey
FACTFULNESS: Ten Reasons We’re Wrong About the World—and Why Things Are Better Than You Think by Hans Rosling with Ola Rosling and Anna Rosling Rönnlund

Recent Releases:
HEAD ON by John Scalzi
LOOK ALIVE OUT THERE by Sloane Crosley
SKY IN THE DEEP by Adrienne Young
WADE IN THE WATER: Poems by Tracy K. Smith

Pulitzer Prize Winners:
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser (Biography)
HALF-LIGHT: Collected Poems 1965-2016 by Frank Bidart (Poetry)
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman, Jr. (Nonfiction) readmoreremove

March 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Our sales team created an Edelweiss collection of our month’s bestsellers and recently released titles — what a perfect collection development tool for you! Here are some of the top titles for March 2018:

Recent Releases:
THE SUN DOES SHINE: How I Found Life and Freedom on Death Row by Anthony Ray Hinton, with a foreword by Bryan Stevenson

THE BISHOP’S PAWN by Steve Berry

THE ITALIAN PARTY by Christina Lynch

SOMETIMES I LIE by Alice Feeney

THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Daniel Mallory Ortberg

WHERE THERE’S HOPE: Healing, Moving Forward, and Never Giving Up by Elizabeth Smart

Recent Award Winners:
PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser (NBCC winner, Biography)

WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier (NBCC & PEN Award winners, Poetry)

THE BUTCHERING ART: Joseph Lister’s Quest to Transform the Grisly World of Victorian Medicine by Lindsey Fitzharris (PEN Award winner)

THE SHAPE OF WATER by Guillermo del Toro & Daniel Kraus (Oscar winner)

This Edelweiss collection will be updated on a monthly basis so check back often!

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

css.php