Articles tagged "CITY OF INK"

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2018

The first of the year-end round-ups has arrived, and we are happy to share Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2018!

Fiction
KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore

Mystery/Thriller
CITY OF INK by Elsa Hart
NINE PERFECT STRANGERS by Liane Moriarty

SF/Fantasy/Horror
THE CALCULATING STARS by Mary Robinette Kowal
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Daniel Mallory Ortberg
WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk

Comics
BAD FRIENDS by Ancco

Religion
SEVEN TYPES OF ATHEISM by John Gray

Lifestyle
HYPE: A Doctor’s Guide to Medical Myths, Exaggerated Claims and Bad Advice—How to Tell What’s Real and What’s Not by Nina Shapiro, with Kristin Loberg

YA
SADIE by Courtney Summers

Thriller Thursday (8/30/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday! Read Elsa Hart’s (CITY OF INK) Mystery Scene Magazine essay about her quest to replace a Chinese library book she lost before plunging into these three dark thrillers:

TRUST ME by Hank Phillippi Ryan
Also available in audio
An accused killer insists she’s innocent of a heinous murder. A grieving journalist surfaces from the wreckage of her shattered life. Their unlikely alliance leads to a dangerous cat-and-mouse game that will leave readers breathless. “This is the first stand-alone for Ryan, author of the Jane Ryland–Jake Brogan mystery series, and it’s a knockout. Truth is elusive here, as the plot twists, driven by guilt and desperation, and tension grows. First-rate psychological suspense.” — Booklist, starred review

BLACKOUT by Ragnar Jónasson
Also available in trade paperback
The third book in the Dark Iceland series from a spectacular new crime writer. “Jónasson’s exotic tundra setting, fascinating characters, and gifted storytelling make up for it. Recommended for fans of Chris Ould’s Faroes series and Camilla Läckberg’s Fjallbacka thrillers.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (8/23/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to a LibraryReads debut, two series favorites, and a naval adventure!

THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Also available in audio
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “Pammie is every young woman’s worst nightmare: a mean mother-in-law (on steroids) in this addictive debut thriller. Readers’ pulses will race as they anticipate how she might strike next and be completely knocked off balance by the shocking ending. ” — Library Journal, starred review

BONE ON BONE by Julia Keller
THREE starred reviews! In the next powerful mystery from Julia Keller, West Virginia prosecuting attorney Bell Elkins continues to unravel her town’s ties to crime and drug abuse. “Keller can spin a mystery plot with the best of them, but it’s her full-bodied characters and the regard they have for one another that really sets her crime fiction apart: a bride’s back-of-the-hand caress of her new husband’s cheek, and his response, is a moment that will linger in memory long after the crime is solved.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

July 2018 All-Stars

Whether it’s literary fiction, mystery, poetry, or graphic novels, these books all have the same thing in common: multiple starred reviews!

THE GOLDEN STATE by Lydia Kiesling
“Kiesling’s intimate, culturally perceptive debut portrays a frazzled mother and a fractious America, both verging on meltdown. But perhaps best of all is her thought-provoking portrait of a pioneer community in decline as anger and obsession fray bonds between neighbors, family, and fellow citizens.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“There’s so much to love about this novel… Strongly recommended for readers who enjoy contemporary literary fiction and can handle a few swear words.” Library Journal, starred review

BONE ON BONE by Julia Keller — 3 starred reviews!
“Keller can spin a mystery plot with the best of them, but it’s her full-bodied characters and the regard they have for one another that really sets her crime fiction apart: a bride’s back-of-the-hand caress of her new husband’s cheek, and his response, is a moment that will linger in memory long after the crime is solved.” Booklist, starred review

“Beautifully written… This thoughtful, painfully empathetic story will long linger in the reader’s memory.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“This haunting, thought-provoking story proves Keller is one of a kind. Readers of Julia Spencer-Fleming’s mysteries of communities torn apart by crime may also want to try.”Library Journal, starred review

CITY OF INK by Elsa Hart
“Rich in period detail, a sharply rendered exotic setting, and a web of well-crafted plots, Li Du’s third novel will appeal to fans of historical mysteries by Lisa See, Laura Joh Rowland, and Abir Mukherjee.” Booklist, starred review

“Superb… As always, Hart excels at making even walk-on characters fully realized and at combining a gripping whodunit plot with a vivid evocation of the period. This entry solidifies her status as a top-notch historical mystery author. ” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

css.php