Articles tagged "Cinda Williams Chima"

Teen Talk Tuesday (10/18/16 Edition)

Hey hey, YA librarians! We’ve got a bunch of new teen and YA-OK adult books for you this month. Check ’em out then share your favorites during today’s Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya).

WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore
Ages 12 to 18
Longlisted for the 2016 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature and three starred reviews! From Morris Award finalist Anna-Marie McLemore comes a second stunning novel tinged with magic, about a girl with roses that grow from her wrist who happens to be hiding the truth, a boy with past secrets who paints moons and hangs them in trees, and four sisters rumored to be witches, who could ruin them both. “With luminous prose infused with Latino folklore and magical realism, this mixes fairy-tale ingredients with the elegance of a love story, with all of it rooted in a deeply real sense of humanity. Lovely, necessary, and true.” — Booklist, starred review

MOON CHOSEN by P.C. Cast
Ages 12 to 18
#1 New York Times bestselling author, P.C. Cast, returns with a new epic fantasy. Mari is an Earth Walker, heir to the unique healing powers of her Clan; but she has cast her duties aside, until she is chosen by a special animal ally, altering her destiny forever. When a deadly attack tears her world apart, Mari reveals the strength of her powers and the forbidden secret of her dual nature as she embarks on a mission to save her people. “While many fantasy series style themselves as epic, this one may actually be worthy of the description. Fantasy lovers who are fans of Cinda Williams Chima’s ‘Seven Realms’ novels will fall in love with Mari and Nik.”
School Library Journal

HOW TO KEEP A BOY FROM KISSING YOU by Tara Eglington
Ages 12 to 18
Aurora Skye is sweet sixteen and never been kissed—and that’s the way she wants it to be. But when she’s cast in her high school’s production of Much Ado About Nothing, she must avoid having her first kiss with Hayden Paris, her co-star, next door neighbor, and the bane of her existence. OR IS HE? “Eglington celebrates female friendship and loyalty, too, and Aurora’s sunny outlook will satisfy readers looking for a romantic comedy with a dash of Shakespeare.”
Publishers Weekly

MIDNIGHT HOUR by C.C. Hunter (Shadow Falls series)
Ages 12 to 18
In the conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shadow Falls saga, Miranda Kane is preparing to graduate when a near-death experience threatens to ruin it all.

ROLLING BLACKOUTS: Dispatches from Turkey, Syria, and Iraq by Sarah Glidden
In this graphic novel, cartoonist Glidden details her two-month long journey through Turkey, Iraq, and Syria as she accompanies two reporters while they research stories on the Iraq War’s effect on the Middle East and, specifically, the war’s refugees. “Glidden’s understated, face-focused illustration style gets under your skin—by removing her own personality from the writing, the author sucks readers in so deeply that you really feel present, seeing her journey through her eyes.”
Library Journal, starred review

SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY”: The Authorized Graphic Adaptation by Miles Hyman
Available simultaneously in trade paperback
Two starred reviews! Published in time for Jackson’s centennial, this graphic adaptation masterfully reimagines her iconic story with a striking visual narrative created by her grandson, Miles Hyman. “A stunning graphic adaptation of a chilling classic.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Come one, come all to Books for Teens 2017!

BFT2017forweb
Lucky for you, we’ve created not one, but TWO posters of our favorite teen reads for 2017! Download and print your copies (11×17 tabloid size) of BFT poster 1 & BFT poster 2.

Then, make sure that you’re pre-approved on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys, including many of the titles mentioned below. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens 2017 titles here.

Now on to the books!

 

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Available January 30, 2018
Ages 12 to 19

Two starred reviews! Welcome to The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating, contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic, collection of fairy tales to save her mother… “A ferocious young woman is drawn into her grandmother’s sinister fairy-tale realm in this pitch-black fantasy debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

 

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
Ages 14 to 19

Ava and Gen are two best friends heading off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two document every moment in a series of texts and emails to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

 

 

 

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Ages 13 to 18

A 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee!

“[A] magnificent debut novel… Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  

 

 

 

FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
Ages 12 to 18

“This fun paranormal romance, wrapped up in a circus-tent setting, is recommended where the genre and the author’s books are popular. Hand to fans of Twilight and MTV’s Teen Wolf.” — School Library Journal

 

THE RADIUS OF US by Marie Marquardt
Ages 13 to 19

“While the teens’ relationship is tested when details from Phoenix’s past coincide with Gretchen’s case, a host of diverse characters lend a hand and offer varying perspectives. [An] …eye-opening story. ” — Kirkus Reviews

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18

Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

 

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam
Ages 12 to 18

Two starred reviews and a 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG meets THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER in this novel about a bullied teenager and an old man in a retirement home who bond over their mutual love of jazz music. “Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi
Ages 13 to 18

In this second beautiful, lush fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Chokshi, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, must team up with her enemy kingdom’s prince Vikram to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. “Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.” — School Library Journal, starred review

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

DREAM FOREVER by Kit Alloway (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Ages 13 to 18

As the veil to the Dream becomes dangerously thin, Josh must stop it from tearing to save the world, in the conclusion to The Dream Walker Trilogy.

DREAMWORLD: Two Books in One: DREAMFIRE & DREAMFEVER by Kit Alloway (ages 13-18) is now available in trade paperback.

GIVE ME A K-I-L-L by R.L. Stine (Fear Street series #6)
Ages 14 to 18
Heather Wyatt just transferred from her old school, where she was a cheerleading star, and is eager to join the squad at Shadyside High. There’s only one other girl who stands in her way—rich, spoiled Devra Dalby, who is also trying out for the one open slot. The competition is anything but friendly—and it ends in murder.

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLERS: NIGHTMARES by R.L. Stine (ages 12-18) is now available in trade paperback.

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

css.php