Articles tagged "Chris McCormick"

Our 2017 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2017 Alex Awards (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences):
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire
THE INVISIBLE LIFE OF IVAN ISAENKO by Scott Stambach
IN THE COUNTRY WE LOVE by Diane Guerrero

See the full Alex Award list here.

2017 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults
YOU KNOW ME WELL by Nina LaCour & David Levithan
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore
SUMMER DAYS AND SUMMER NIGHTS: Twelve Love Stories, edited by Stephanie Perkins
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
AMERICAN GIRLS by Alison Umminger

See the full BFYA list here.

2017 YALSA Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers
IN REAL LIFE by Jessica Love
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo (a Top 10 pick)

See the full Quick Picks list here.

2017 YALSA Popular Paperbacks for Young Adults Reading List
THIS IS NOT A TEST by Courtney Summers (Horror: Better Dead than Unread)
COMPLICIT by Stephanie Kuehn (Mental Health: Invisible Wounds)

See the full PPYA list here.

2017 YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens
MOONCOP by Tom Gauld
SHIRLEY JACKSON’S “THE LOTTERY” by Miles Hyman

See the full GGNT list here.

2017 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List (best feminist books)
WE BELIEVE YOU: Survivors of Campus Sexual Assault Speak Out by Annie E. Clark & Andrea L. Pino (a Top 10 pick)
STEP ASIDE, POPS: A Hark! A Vagrant Collection by Kate Beaton
AMERICAN GIRLS by Alison Umminger

See the full Amelia Bloomer list and the top 10 list here.

Stonewall Book Awards 
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo (Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award)
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore (Mike Morgan and Larry Romans Children’s and Young Adult Literature Award honor book)
DESERT BOYS by Chris McCormick (Barbara Gittings Literature Award)
HIDE by Matthew Griffin (Barbara Gittings Literature Award honor book)

See the full Stonewall Book Award list here.

2017 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questioning content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)
YOU KNOW ME WELL by Nina LaCour & David Levithan
EVERY HEART A DOORWAY by Seanan McGuire (a Top 10 pick)
WHEN THE MOON WAS OURS by Anna-Marie McLemore (a Top 10 pick)
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo

See the full Rainbow list here.

The ALA’s Reference and User Services Division (RUSA) has announced their 2017 Notable Books, Reading, and Listening Lists:

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (5/3/16 Edition)

Nothing brightens a dreary day like a brand-new book! Happy #BookBday to:

THE SPORT OF KINGS by C.E. Morgan
A May 2016 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! This epic novel steeped in American history charts the course of a Kentucky horse breeder, his daughter, and a black man fresh from prison working in the stables, as they try to mold a fiery thoroughbred filly named Hellsmouth into a Triple Crown champion. “Vaultingly ambitious, thrillingly well-written, charged with moral fervor and rueful compassion. How will this dazzling writer astonish us next time?” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES by Kate Tempest
A Buzzfeed’s 19 Incredible New Spring Books pick! “Rapper, performance artist, and poet Tempest has taken the main plot lines contained in her critically acclaimed hip-hop album Everyone Down and expanded them into this spectacularly moving debut novel. Fans of Margo Lanagan and Adam Rapp will be entranced by Tempest’s brutally modern prose and her tender understanding of young people coming of age in an unforgiving world.” — School Library Journal, starred review

DESERT BOYS by Chris McCormick
In the tradition of WE, THE ANIMALS by Justin Torres, DESERT BOYS follows the life of Daley Kushner, growing up, coming out, and grappling with the remnants of his childhood in California’s Mojave Desert. “[The stories are] told in a simple, clean, and polished style a reader can easily settle into. When we leave Antelope Valley we immediately want to go back, so achingly good are these beautifully conceived stories.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: May 2016 LibraryReads Titles

May16LRcollageDownload, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the May 2016* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due March 20! Click here for the full list of 2016 deadlines.

REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart
In New York Times bestselling author Hart’s highly anticipated Southern gothic thriller, a troubled detective must confront her past in the aftermath of a brutal shooting. Meanwhile, a former cop walks free after 13 years in prison—is he responsible for what happened at the abandoned church deep in the forest? “[Calling it a] thriller doesn’t do full justice to the book at all. Great for literary and thriller lovers alike.” — Kellie Currie, Delphi Public Library, Delphi IN

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss


CITY OF THE LOST
by Kelley Armstrong

Casey Duncan is a homicide detective with a secret: when she was in college, she killed a man. She was never caught, but he was the grandson of a mobster and she knows this crime will catch up to her. On the run now, Casey finds refuge in an off-the-grid town harboring those wishing to disappear, but the town has its own dark secrets. “At heart this is a blood-soaked, locked-room mystery on steroids; readers should prepare for an all-nighter to finish it.” — Booklist

NetGalleyLogoAvailable on NetGalley or request a print galley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “City of the Lost.”*

THE CHILDREN by Ann Leary
From New York Times bestselling author Leary comes the captivating story of a wealthy, but unconventional New England family, told from the perspective of a reclusive 29-year-old who has a secret (and famous) life on the Internet.

download review copy edelweissDownload the e-galley from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

css.php