Articles tagged "CASTLE OF WATER"

Happy #BookBday (4/4/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to five new works of fiction waiting to be snapped up by your patrons:

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
An April 2017 Indie Next pick, a Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts with FOUR starred reviews! An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

A LITTLE MORE HUMAN by Fiona Maazel
An April 2017 Indie Next pick! Meet Phil Snyder: new father, nursing assistant at a cutting-edge biotech facility on Staten Island, and all-around decent guy. Phil also has a special talent he doesn’t want to publicize—he’s a mind reader and moonlights as Brainstorm, a costumed superhero. But when Phil wakes up from a blackout drunk and is confronted with photos that seem to show him assaulting an unknown woman, even superpowers won’t help him. “Maazel takes a dark, inventive look at the cost of pushing humans to their limits.” — Booklist

THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur
Perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf, a suspenseful novel in which a small-town murder forces two sisters to face the secrets and lies that have torn them apart. “Katchur weaves a suspenseful tale of family secrets and what it means to keep quiet. For readers who relish complex family mysteries.” — Library Journal

CASTLE OF WATER by Dane Huckelbridge
Castaway meets The Notebook in this beautifully written adventure/romance set on a deserted island from first-time novelist Dane Huckelbridge. “…a diverting if sentimental story with just enough detours from the obvious path to keep it from predictability.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

SMP Winter 2017 E-Samplers

Happy Labor Day weekend! We hope you’ve got a three day weekend ahead of you with plenty of reading time. May we suggest downloading two excellent free Winter 2017 chapter samplers from our friends at St. Martin’s Press?

Discover debut talent in the St. Martin’s First e-sampler and pay tribute to history’s greatest writers with the Tribute to Literary Legends e-sampler.

Both samplers are Read it Now! titles on NetGalley and have corresponding Edelweiss collections.

Winter 2017 St. Martin’s First Sampler (Edelweiss collection)

Titles include:

LILLIAN BOXFISH TAKES A WALK by Kathleen Rooney
THE STANDARD GRAND by Jay Baron Nicorvo
ALMOST MISSED YOU by Jessica Strawser
THE TYPEWRITER’S TALE by Michiel Heyns
I LIKED MY LIFE by Abby Fabiaschi
WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
CASTLE OF WATER by Dane Huckelbridge

SMP Winter 2017: A Tribute to Literary Legends Sampler (Edelweiss collection; also available as a PDF via Edelweiss)

Titles include:

MANDERLEY FOREVER: A Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay
THE TYPEWRITER’S TALE: A Novel of Henry James by Michiel Heyns
JACK AND NORMAN: A State-Raised Convict and the Legacy of Norman Mailer’s “The Executioner’s Song” by Jerome Loving
COMING OF AGE: The Sexual Awakening of Margaret Mead by Deborah Beatriz Blum
THE ADVENTURES OF JOHN CARSON IN SEVERAL QUARTERS OF THE WORLD: A Novel of Robert Louis Stevenson by Brian Doyle

Happy Reading!
css.php