Articles tagged "Carter Ross series"

Thriller Thursday (7/9/15 Edition)

Families in peril and vigilantes on vendettas are just a few of today’s #ThrillerThursday picks:

SIGNAL by Patrick Lee
A Publishers Weekly Best of Summer 2015 pick! THREE stars for Lee’s second techno-thriller starring ex-Special Forces agent Sam Dryden. “Lee’s thriller featuring a loner hero compares to Lee Child’s ‘Jack Reacher’ series but with the added kick of technology. Readers will wait with bated breath for the next Dryden adventure.” — Library Journal, starred review

THOSE GIRLS by Chevy Stevens
libraryreads logo squareA July 2015 LibraryReads pick! The Campbell sisters do all they can to avoid their abusive father, but they’re eventually forced to run, and an even worse nightmare awaits. “Highly recommended for fans of the genre who relish nail-biting suspense as well as stories about the endurance of family and the human spirit.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE WAY OR ANOTHER by Elizabeth Adler
In a clear attempt at murder, a woman is thrown from a luxury yacht. As she’s fighting to survive the deadly waters, she’s also plotting her revenge. “Brilliantly executed and constantly surprising, this romantic thriller from bestseller Adler…may well be her best book yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php