Articles tagged "Carola Dunn"

Thriller Thursday (7/5/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to these great new mysteries on shelves this week:

STAY HIDDEN by Paul Doiron
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! A supposed hunting accident becomes a dangerously complicated murder investigation in this intricately-plotted new thriller featuring Maine Game Warden Mike Bowditch. “The plot is complex, and the action intense, made all the more so by forbidding terrain. The extraordinary sense of place makes this Doiron’s strongest novel yet.” — Booklist, starred review

BOUND FOR GOLD by William Martin
Martin’s sixth Peter Fallon novel centers on a stolen Gold Rush journal believed to reveal the location of an actual river, which could set off a modern gold rush in San Francisco. “Fascinating and surprisingly fast-paced, this adrenaline-packed adventure is sprinkled with love, betrayal, and violent death: old-fashioned storytelling at its best, in the style of Peter Carey’s TRUE HISTORY OF THE KELLY GANG and Wilbur Smith’s Courtney novels.” — Booklist, starred review

PANDORA’S BOY by Lindsey Davis
A suspicious death that leads to a murder sends Flavia Albia down a twisted path to expose corruption, betrayal, and gang activity in ancient Rome. “The reader will be repeatedly astonished by the tricks Flavia has up her sleeve… For fans of crime fiction set in the ancient world, this one is not to be missed.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (12/15/16 Edition)

Three new adventures in continuing mystery series are our #ThrillerThursday picks:

THE REEK OF RED HERRINGS by Catriona McPherson
Perfect for fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers, and Agatha Christie, this next book in the Dandy Gilver series is set in a seaside fishing town. “This is a grand mystery, full of fishy motives, events that don’t pass the smell test, and, of course, plenty of metaphorical red herrings, all leading to a well-thought-out and clever ending.” — Booklist

BURIED IN THE COUNTRY by Carola Dunn
Intrigue and murder invade a quiet Cornish village when it becomes the unexpected site of a secret Commonwealth conference. “The rewards of this entertaining cozy include characters with depth, an interesting bit of history, and an exciting chase through the moors.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Holiday e-Books Sale For Libraries

‘Tis the season for saving, so enjoy our holiday e-Books sale! Running now through Thursday, 12/31, nearly 100 backlist adult and children’s titles will be discounted 25% off (with our regular lending terms). Add these goodies to your digital shelf:

Holiday titles:
VISIONS OF SUGAR PLUMS by Janet Evanovich
MISTLETOE AND MURDER by Carola Dunn
THE NIGHTINGALE BEFORE CHRISTMAS by Donna Andrews
ALL I WANT FOR CHRISTMAS by Sherrilyn Kenyon, Lori Foster, Dee Holmes & Eileen Wilks
CHRISTMAS EVE AT FRIDAY HARBOR by Lisa Kleypas

General titles:
THE GOOD HOUSE by Ann Leary
SIXTH GRAVE ON THE EDGE by Darynda Jones
THE DEAD WILL TELL by Linda Castillo
ROGUE WITH A BROGUE by Suzanne Enoch
INVISIBLE CITY by Julia Dahl

Click here to download the spreadsheet of all available titles with exact price changes.

Thriller Thursday + 2015 CWA Dagger Shortlist

We’ve got three new mysteries starring P.I.s for you this #ThrillerThursday, but first awards news! The 2015 CWA Dagger shortlist was revealed earlier this week and we have two nominees in the Non Fiction category:

A KIM JONG-IL PRODUCTION: The Extraordinary True Story of a Kidnapped Filmmaker, His Star Actress, and a Young Dictator’s Rise to Power by Paul Fischer

ONE OF US: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway by Asne Seierstad

Plus, Ann Cleeves and Peter James made the shortlist for the 2015 CWA Dagger in the Library Award!

Winners will be announced at the CWA Annual Awards dinner on June 30.

Now on to the books!

SUPERFLUOUS WOMEN by Carola Dunn
Daisy Dalrymple returns for her 22nd cozy mystery where a body found behind a locked door leaves her three friends as main suspects. “Now here’s a proper British mystery. A thoroughly cozy atmosphere combines with a solid mystery. More Daisy, please.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (3/6/14 Edition)

Today we've got a super-sized #ThrillerThursday with mysteries to satisfy every reader, from cozies to psychological suspense and more! 

PRECIOUS THING by Colette McBeth
A March 2014 Library Reads pick! "Debut author McBeth’s GONE GIRL-style psychological thriller will be a widespread hit for fans of dark drama with questionable narrators, including S. J. Watson’s BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP (2011), Sabine Durrant’s UNDER YOUR SKIN (2013), and Karen Perry’s THE INNOCENT SLEEP (2013)." Booklist, starred review

THE BLACK-EYED BLONDE by Benjamin Black
Black's "pitch-perfect recreation" of Raymond Chandler's incomparable private eye Philip Marlowe goes "beyond mere thoughtful homage" (Publishers Weekly, starred review) when a seductive young heiress asks Marlowe to find her former lover. "Great fun for Chandlerians." — Booklist 

CITY OF DARKNESS AND LIGHT by Rhys Bowen
In the 13th entry of Bowen's New York Times bestselling historical series, Molly Murphy and her infant son are in Paris where she unexpectedly gets entangled in the murder of an Impressionist artist. "Molly is a smart, feisty heroine who admirably defends her investigation to a very skeptical Sûreté. Though placed a decade or so earlier, this breezy historical mystery will appeal to fans of Carola Dunn’s Daisy Dalrymple and Jacqueline Winspear’s Maisie Dobbs." — Booklist  

THE PLAYER by Brad Parks
In the latest book in Parks' award-winning series, Carter Ross investigates a suspicious disease, but it takes him down a path that leads directly into the arms of the local mob boss. "Parks, a gifted storyteller (with shades of Mark Twain, or maybe Dave Barry), shows his mastery of the comic absurd behind serious journalism in his fifth outing." — Library Journal, starred review  

WRECKED by Tricia Fields
"Fields’ third Josie Gray outing is emotionally taut, building to a breathtaking climax and portraying, in the process, the danger inherent in a Texas border town and presenting Josie, previously wary of commitment, with new challenges. More fine southwestern crime fiction by an author who clearly loves the locale." Booklist, starred review  

PROVIDENCE RAG by Bruce DeSilva
“Edgar-winner DeSilva melds moral dilemmas with a suspenseful plot in his third novel featuring Providence, R.I.–based reporter Liam Mulligan, his best yet.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review
“Mulligan’s character, played off the vicissitudes of his job, is skillfully layered and engaging. DeSilva, who worked for decades at the AP, won an Edgar for Best First Novel for ROGUE ISLAND (2010). He knows of what he writes.” Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

It’s a COZY Thursday (12/19/13)

Thursdays are usually reserved for hearty and heaping dishes of thrillers...  And our policy has always been, the bloodier the better! But we’re feeling festive and just generally smiley—or in Anne the “Sweet Teeth” Spieth’s case, coated in flour and sugar thanks to her baking adventures—so, we’ve decided to swap our gruesome reads for a few picks from Macmillan’s cozier shelves: 

HEIRS OF THE BODY by Carola Dunn
In this next book in the Daisy Dalrymple series, one of four potential claimants to the title of Lord Dalrymple dies a sudden, nasty death. Was it murder? It's up to Daisy to find out.

MURDER AND MOONSHINE by Carol Miller
This debut mystery set in the heart of moonshine country brims with Southern charm courtesy of our young heroine, Daisy. Working as a diner waitress, Daisy overhears lots of secrets, but not one as dangerous as the one old man Dickerson spills before he drops dead in the diner.

ROSEMARY AND CRIME by Gail Oust
Recently divorced, Piper Prescott has got a new lease on life. She's moved down to Georgia from the north and fulfilled a life long dream by opening a spice shop. But Piper’s grand opening goes awry when the local chef who’s agreed to do a cooking demo is found stabbed and Piper is suspect #1.

MURDER AS A SECOND LANGUAGE by Joan Hess
In the next Claire Malloy mystery, Claire now finds herself a married woman with free time on her hands. Attempts at volunteering and cooking don't do well, but when her husband Deputy Chief Peter Rosen asks for her help in a murder investigation, Claire finds she's right back where she belongs. 

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib

readmoreremove

css.php