Articles tagged "Caleb Carr"

Thriller Thursday (6/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got two riveting tales for you this #ThrillerThursday:

THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE by Paddy Hirsch
Also available in audio
Fans of Caleb Carr, Erik Larsen, and Gangs of New York will love this historical thriller debut set in 1799 New York City. “Journalist Hirsch makes his fiction debut with a superb historical whodunit. Fans of Lyndsay Faye’s Gods of Gotham books will welcome this engrossing look at New York a half-century before that series.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture (BlacKkKlansman) written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele. Fun fact: Lee won the Grand Prix award at the Cannes Film Festival for BlacKkKlansman
readmoreremove

LJ Mystery Spotlight Cover Girl: Zoje Stage

We’re thrilled to see Zoje Stage gracing the cover of the April 15, 2018 issue of Library Journal!

The BABY TEETH author did an extensive Q&A with LJ (shout-out to Talia “the terror” Sherer‘s PLA book buzz to a crowd of 1,000 librarians, which made BABY TEETH the most requested giveaway ARC in our booth!), and it was included with seven other Macmillan mysteries in a genre spotlight:

Hector DeJean, associate publicity director of St. Martin’s Minotaur Books imprint, says, “Thrillers focusing on family, marriage, and other domestic relationships have proven wildly popular, and in forthcoming books by Jennifer Hillier and Sandie Jones these intimate connections of family and friendship—beyond married couples—turn deadly.” In JAR OF HEARTS (Jun.), Hillier delves into the story of a woman who survived a relationship with a dangerous boyfriend and kept secrets about her best friend’s murder, while Jones, in her debut, THE OTHER WOMAN (Aug.), focuses on a woman facing an increasingly manipulative mother-in-law.

Anxieties about motherhood and the parent-child relationship are driving other domestic thrillers. Coming in July from St. Martin’s is Zoje Stage’s chilling debut, BABY TEETH, in which silent and emotionally detached seven-year-old Hanna conspires to kill her mother. St. Martin’s executive editor Jennifer Weis devoured the book in one sitting. “I couldn’t look away as it exposed family truths, a child’s threat to her parents’ relationship, and a continuous feeling of impending doom with dire consequences. WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN—it hits all the right notes.” readmoreremove

css.php