Articles tagged "C.L. Polk"

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2018

The first of the year-end round-ups has arrived, and we are happy to share Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of 2018!

Fiction
KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
SHE WOULD BE KING by Wayétu Moore

Mystery/Thriller
CITY OF INK by Elsa Hart
NINE PERFECT STRANGERS by Liane Moriarty

SF/Fantasy/Horror
THE CALCULATING STARS by Mary Robinette Kowal
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Daniel Mallory Ortberg
WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk

Comics
BAD FRIENDS by Ancco

Religion
SEVEN TYPES OF ATHEISM by John Gray

Lifestyle
HYPE: A Doctor’s Guide to Medical Myths, Exaggerated Claims and Bad Advice—How to Tell What’s Real and What’s Not by Nina Shapiro, with Kristin Loberg

YA
SADIE by Courtney Summers

Booklist’s Top SF/Fantasy/Horror of 2018

Booklist’s Top 10 SF/Fantasy/Horror reading lists of 2018* include these outstanding Macmillan titles:
Top 10 SF/Fantasy: 2018 (full list)

BALL LIGHTNING by Cixin Liu, translated by Joel Martinsen
While devoting himself to studying the atmospheric occurrence called ball lightning—which struck and killed his parents—Chen meets the beautiful but ruthless Lin Yun, an army major whose devotion to creating strange new weapons matches his own obsessive quest.

BINTI: The Night Masquerade by Nnedi Okorafor
After the destruction of her home and presumed death of her family, Binti, with her friend Mwinyi, must find a path to peace between the Khosh and the Meduse in the satisfying ending to Okorafor’s Binti trilogy.

STARLESS by Jacqueline Carey
In a starless world, a young man and a princess—born at the exact same time—journey through killer vegetation, across an ocean, and into a volcano with a diverse corps of individuals, including intelligent giant sea wyrms.

WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk
The magnetically handsome Tristan brings a dying man to Dr. Miles Singer’s doorstep, aware of Miles’ secret identity as a witch, in a debut with nest-doll-like layers, a will-he-or-won’t-he romance, mages, wizards, political intrigue, and the atmosphere of a historical mystery.

Top 10 Horror: 2018 (full list)

readmoreremove

June 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Here’s our updated Edelweiss collection of this month’s bestsellers and recently released titles, perfect for collection development!  Here are some of the top titles for June 2018:

Bestsellers:
WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE by Michael Eric Dyson
THE SUN DOES SHINE by Anthony Ray Hinton – Oprah Book Club Edition

Recent Releases:
BLACK KLANSMAN by Ron Stallworth
INVITATION TO A BONFIRE by Adrienne Celt
NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li
RENDEZVOUS WITH OBLIVION by Thomas Frank
WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: July 2018 Indie Next List

Four Macmillan titles made the July 2018 Indie Next List!

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
Also available in audio
A June 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! The new thriller from the bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS about a woman who vanished and may have reappeared to haunt her old lover. “[An] outstanding Hitchcockian thriller… Paris plays fair with the reader as she builds to a satisfying resolution. Fans of intelligent psychological suspense will be richly rewarded.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li
An exuberant and wise multigenerational debut novel about the complicated lives and loves of people working in everyone’s favorite Chinese restaurant. “Li vividly depicts the lives of her characters and gives the narrative a few satisfying turns, resulting in a memorable debut. ” — Publishers Weekly

IF YOU SEE ME, DON’T SAY HI by Neel Patel
A bravura debut story collection in the vein of Aziz Ansari and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about love, family, success, and the experience of being brown in America today. “A melancholic pleasure with a sense of humor.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

April 2018 All-Stars

These books are swimming in stars—make sure to add them to your shelves ASAP!

WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk

“Polk’s stellar debut, set in an alternate early 20th century in an England-like land recovering from a WWI-like war, blends taut mystery, exciting political intrigue, and inventive fantasy . . . The final revelations are impossible to see coming and prove that Polk is a writer to watch for fans of clever, surprising period fantasy.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Polk has created an amazing new world with hints of Edwardian glamour, sizzling secrets, and forbidden love that crescendos to a cinematic finish. WITCHMARK is a can’t-miss debut that will enchant readers.” —Booklist, starred review

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope

“Penelope delivers an engrossing story with delightful characters in this fantastic opening to a promising series . . . The tale is infused with optimism but never cloying, and it culminates in a well-earned and satisfying ending, leaving readers impatient for the next installment of the series.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

This debut . . . shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.”Library Journal, starred review

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti

A May Indie Next Pick! 

“This lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations.”Publishers Weekly, starred review

“As her character seeks and ultimately chooses, as she must, the aspects of life and art she’ll lay claim to, Heti writes with courage, curiosity, and uncommon truth: ‘To go along with what nature demands and to resist it—both are really beautiful—impressive and difficult in their own ways.'” Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: June 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the June 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due April 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

BRING ME BACK by B.A. Paris
Also available in audio
The new thriller from the LibraryReads author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. “Paris once again proves her suspense chops with this can’t-put-down psychological thriller.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW HARD CAN IT BE? by Allison Pearson
Also available in audio
THREE starred reviews! Hilarious and poignant, the new adventures of Kate Reddy, the beleaguered heroine of Allison Pearson’s groundbreaking New York Times bestseller I DON’T KNOW HOW SHE DOES IT. “Tackling sexism, growing older, and understanding one’s needs when catering to those of so many others, Pearson writes realism with all the fun of escapism.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk
Two starred reviews! A “stellar” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) fantasy debut that combines intrigue, magic, betrayal, and romance in an original world with a historical WWI tone. “Many disparate elements are expertly woven together to make this debut a crackler, with layers like a nesting doll and just as delightful to discover.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

JAR OF HEARTS by Jennifer Hillier
Also available in audio
What if you went to jail for something terrible your boyfriend did to your best friend? Then 5 years later, you’re free but your life is in ruins, and your boyfriend is back at it (killing, that is), and maybe he’s coming for you? “…this psychological thriller is unlike any other. Enthralled readers will be rooting for Geo in the end.” — Library Journal, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

KUDOS by Rachel Cusk
One of Publishers Weekly’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with three starred reviews! The critically acclaimed author of OUTLINE and TRANSIT, completes her “stunning” (Publishers Weekly, starred review) trilogy with a finale that examines the relationship between pain and honor, and investigates the moral nature of success as a precept of both art and living. “Brilliantly accomplished and uncompromisingly dark.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

BLACK KLANSMAN: Race, Hate, and the Undercover Investigation of a Lifetime by Ron Stallworth
Also available in audio
The extraordinary true story of the African American police officer who goes undercover to investigate the KKK, the basis for the forthcoming major motion picture written and directed by Spike Lee, and produced by Oscar winner Jordan Peele.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

PW’s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2018

Publishers Weekly‘s “Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2018” include these 8 Macmillan titles:
Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

THE MERRY SPINSTER by Mallory Ortberg
Ortberg’s twisted variations on popular fairy tales and children’s books are daring and skillful, and this outstanding collection of them brims with satirical horror.

WITCHMARK by C.L. Polk
This stellar debut, set in an alternate early 20th century, is an innovative mix of class struggle, magic, and war that marks Polk as a writer to watch.

Poetry

WADE IN THE WATER by Tracy K. Smith
The current U.S. poet laureate challenges the nature of citizenship, motherhood, and what it means to be an artist in a culture mediated by wealth, men, and violence.

Comics/Graphic Novels

BLAME THIS ON THE BOOGIE by Rina Ayuyang
Ayuyang chronicles the real-life adventures of a Filipino-American girl born in the decade of disco who escapes life’s hardships and mundanity through the genre’s feel-good song-and-dance numbers.

Memoir

EAT THE APPLE by Matt Young
This bold memoir explores “how war transformed [Young] from a confused teenager into a dangerous and damaged man.”

A HIGHER LOYALTY: Truth, Lies, and Leadership by James Comey
The former FBI director shares for the first time the details of his career in government during the past two decades. readmoreremove

css.php