Articles tagged "brain surgeon"

For Your Consideration: October 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the October 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

FRESH COMPLAINT by Jeffrey Eugenides
“Pulitzer Prize winner Eugenides, whose novels have also been runners-up for the National Book Critics Circle Award, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, and France’s Prix Médicis, now comes up with a first collection of stories. Not surprisingly, the stories deal with identity crisis, sexual confusion, and adolescent angst, as when a poet who feels left out of the financial boom becomes an embezzler, a musician loses his dreams to the responsibilities of family, and a college freshman has an encounter on a train that redirects his future.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

13 MINUTES by Sarah Pinborough
I was dead for 13 minutes. Now I want to know why. In LibraryReads author Pinborough’s twisty YA suspense novel, Natasha doesn’t remember how she ended up in the icy water that night, but she does know this—that it wasn’t an accident, and that she wasn’t suicidal.

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

HOW THE FINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS by Donna Andrews
“Andrews’s laugh-inducing, multi-award-winning, New York Times best-selling mysteries feature a passel of Christmas treats, e.g., SIX GEESE A-SLAYING, and here’s another. Meg’s husband is turning his one-man show of Dickens’s A Christmas Carol into a big, splashy production, with a famed if fading actor brought in to play Scrooge. Alas, the man has enemies.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

To request an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “How the Finch Stole Christmas.”*

THE TROUBLE WITH TWELFTH GRAVE by Darynda Jones
“It’s bad enough that Grim Reaper Charley Davidson is busy protecting a newbie PI venture, handling the Vatican’s inquiries about her daughter, and covering up a murder. But now her beloved but now unrecognizable Reyes, the Son of Satan, is determined to destroy the world, and when someone starts attacking humans attuned to the supernatural world, Charley can’t help but suspect him. And you thought you were having a hard day. Twelfth (obviously) in the New York Times and USA Today best-selling series.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

To request an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “12th Grave.”*

THE STOLEN MARRIAGE by Diane Chamberlain
“Following PRETENDING TO DANCE, New York Times best-selling author Chamberlain waltzes us down to early 1940s Hickory, NC, where Tess finds herself stuck in an airless marriage to cool, distant Henry after impulsively breaking off her engagement to her longtime love. She finds purpose by working at the newly built polio hospital but knows that townsfolk regard her with suspicion and starts sensing that her life might be danger.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (6/2/15 Edition)

Tuesday brings a brand new (& belated) #BookBday for 3 debuts, a thriller featuring a female U.S. Navy helicopter pilot, and a brain surgeon’s memoir:

DO NO HARM by Henry Marsh
This gripping, brutally honest account from neurosurgeon Marsh has already received THREE starred reviews and is garnering raves from the New York Times (both the daily AND the Book Review), The Wall Street Journal, and more.

LETTERS TO THE LOST by Iona Grey
Grey’s engaging, poignant, and romantic debut treats readers to an absorbing story within a story. Her detailed narrative chronicles the lives of these intriguing characters while fluidly traveling from past to present. The author’s subtle depictions of social and moral intolerances of the past and the gentle hand of fate that guides this tale makes her novel an excellent choice for fans of Beatrice Williams, Jon Clinch, and Kristina McMorris.” — Library Journal

THE SUNLIT NIGHT by Rebecca Dinerstein
Dinerstein’s debut novel about two lives that intersect ninety-five miles above the Arctic Circle is one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2015. “With provocative insights about the cruelty of abandonment, the concept of home, and the limits of parental and filial love, Dinerstein’s novel is a rich reading experience.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE UNFORTUNATES by Sophie McManus
A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Spring 2015 Pick! “In her assured first novel, McManus dissects such headline topics as Wall Street corruption, income inequality, and the vagaries of class and power in contemporary America. To her great credit, McManus uncovers the humanity of a group that rarely receives our empathy even as she exposes the dark side of privilege and entitlement in a timely novel enriched with touches of Edith Wharton.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

css.php