Articles tagged "books about books"

SOURDOUGH + DEAR FAHRENHEIT 451 = September 2017 LibraryReads picks!

HUZZAH! Both SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan and DEAR FAHRENHEIT 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks by Annie Spence are September 2017 LibraryReads picks!

SOURDOUGH by Robin Sloan

“Having launched himself with MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE, a Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist in first fiction with best-book and Alex Award claims to fame, Sloan here keeps his San Francisco setting but makes his main subject bread. Lois Clary, a software engineer at an ambitious robotics company called General Dexterity, is bequeathed a sourdough starter by her favorite hole-in-the-wall restaurateurs when they leave town fast owing to visa problems. Soon she’s baking up a storm and confounding the jury that decides who can sell in Bay Area markets by dreaming up her own market blending food and technology.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

“This inventive novel, from the author of MR. PENUMBRA’S 24-HOUR BOOKSTORE (2012), is filled with crisp humor and weird but endearing characters…At once a parody of startup culture and a foodie romp, Sourdough is an airy delight, perfect for those who like a little magic with their meals, as in Laura
Esquivel’s Like Water for Chocolate (1992).”–Booklist, starred review

DEAR FAHRENHEIT 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks by Annie Spence

“Library lovers will dig the apropos subject headings she gives each letter; fellow bibliophiles will swoon at her well-articulated feelings about her favorites; all will find the breakup notes oddly cathartic (“I’m putting you in a Little Free Library”) and appreciate her book’s final, readers’-advisory-informed section of superb reading lists of all sorts…clever, heartfelt, and often-funny…Someday, somewhere, a book addressed in a loving letter might be one of hers: Dear Dear Fahrenheit 451, thanks for the lovely reminder of the ways we find ourselves in books.”—Booklist, starred review

“This book should appeal to readers who are looking for the next Texts from Jane Eyre, or those who enjoyed that concept but don’t especially like texting. It will also attract anyone who, upon walking into someone’s house, first side-eyes the bookshelves and instantly judges. VERDICT Highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

For Your Consideration: September 2017 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the September 2017* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2017 deadlines.

DEAD WOMAN WALKING by Sharon Bolton
In this supenseful standalone thriller from LibraryReads author Sharon Bolton, the sole survivor of a hot-air balloon crash witnesses a murder as the balloon is falling. But the killer’s also seen her, and he won’t rest until he’s eliminated the only witness to his crime.

To request a print ARC, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Dead Woman Walking” and your mailing address.*

SLEEP LIKE A BABY by Charlaine Harris
In the next installment of the #1 New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Charlaine Harris’s Aurora Teagarden series, Roe has a newborn to care for, a vulnerable new marriage to nurture, and a new puzzle—who is this mystery woman dead in their backyard, and what happened to their home nurse, Virginia?

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE ESSENCE OF MALICE by Ashley Weaver
“Don’t be surprised by the Eiffel Tower on the cover; sparkling British amateur sleuth Amory Ames has traveled with husband Milo to Paris in response to a disturbing letter from his childhood nanny. She works for celebrated parfumier Helios Belanger, whose new perfume is about to be released. And our sleuthing couple is quite sure it’s not the heady scent of the perfume that makes Belanger suddenly drop dead. Fourth installment in the Edgar-nominated, 1930s-set mystery series by librarian [and LibraryReads author] Weaver.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

SECRETS IN DEATH by J.D. Robb
“Gossip reporter Larinda Mars has been murdered at a way-too-cool Manhattan nightspot called Du Vin, and Lt. Eve Dallas is dismayed to learn that her dislikable victim kept her worse secrets from her column, instead using them for blackmail. Now Eve has a lot of dirty secrets to sort through, and she’ll discover things she’d really rather not know. The latest in Robb’s “In Death” series, optioned for TV; with a national laydown on September 5.” — Library Journal, pre-pub alert
readmoreremove

New Nonfiction – May 2017

Essays, books about books, and a librarian’s memoir are just some of the new nonfiction books available this week:

THE END OF EDDY by Édouard Louis
Two starred reviews! The most talked-about European novel since MY STRUGGLE—a sexually frank, brutally honest coming-of-age story that captures the violence and desperation of life in a French factory town. “Translated into 20 languages and a huge hit in France, author Louis’ unsparingly autobiographical novel is the story of a gay boy’s attempts to come to terms with himself. …a seamless, universal portrait of the experience of growing up gay and gradually coming to accept oneself.” — Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
Two starred reviews! The editor of The New York Times Book Review reveals her personal reading journal named BOB (a.k.a. her “Book of Books”) and the books that have shaped her life. “Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

HOW TO BUILD A TIME MACHINE by Darren Manley
A librarian’s heartfelt memoir about growing up with much older parents and coming to appreciate the bonds that cross generations. readmoreremove

Friday Reads All-Stars

Happy Friday, friends! Our #FridayReads have multiple starred reviews:

DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire — 3 starred reviews! 
Beautifully crafted and smartly written, this fairy-tale novella is everything that speculative fiction readers look for: fantastical worlds, diverse characters, and prose that hits home with its emotional truths.” Library Journal, starred review

“McGuire’s exquisitely written fairy tale is about the choices that can alter the course of a life forever, lost innocence, and what it is to love and be loved.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Exquisitely crafted, this is the rare companion novel that can stand alone.”Booklist, starred review

MY LIFE WITH BOB: Flawed Heroine Keeps Book of Books, Plot Ensues by Pamela Paul
“Titles about reading and books abound, but this memoir stands in a class by itself. Bibliophiles will treasure, but the addictive storytelling and high-quality writing will vastly increase its audience. Highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Readers will be drawn to this witty and authentic tribute to the extraordinary power of books.” Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Get Yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss!

Unless you hate having everything you ever wanted to read months ahead of publication at your fingertips… Get yourself Whitelisted on Edelweiss for Macmillan E-Galleys!

1. Register for Edelweiss with your library-issued e-mail address.

2. Send Talia a note that includes the e-mail address you registered with, your full name, and your current library (subject: Edelweiss).

Please note: Whitelisting is only available to adult and teen librarians currently employed in the U.S.  Macmillan e-galleys on Edelweiss are NOT formatted for the Kindle and we apologize for any inconvenience that may cause.

For those of you already Whitelisted we have a few recommendations listed below. And for those of you on the fence maybe one of these upcoming titles will entice you into signing up!

If you read something you love, then make sure to nominate it for LibraryReads! LibraryReads is a new program which harnesses the value of “library staff picks” into a single nation-wide discovery tool, a monthly list of ten newly released must- reads.  Any public library staff member can nominate books. For more information about how to participate in LibraryReads, read our FAQ.

Get started with our recommendations!
(updated December 31, 2014)

FEBRUARY 2015

Coming-of-Age Debuts:

MAKING NICE by Matt Sumell

DISGRUNTLED by Asali Solomon

Debut Novels with a Hint of Fantasy:

FINN FANCY NECROMANCY by Randy Henderson

Mysteries:

A MURDER OF MAGPIES by Judith Flanders (aka Talia’s favorite book jacket award winner)

DREAMLESS by Jørgen Brekke

From the dude who wrote THE BOY IN THE STRIPED PYJAMAS: A HISTORY OF LONELINESS by John Boyne

From the dude who wrote CLOCKERS and LUSH LIFE: THE WHITES by Harry Brandt AKA RICHARD PRICE aka the most incredible writer of realistic NYC-based cop novels

MARCH 2015

From the sassy gal who wrote WHAT DO YOU DO ALL DAY?  A FIREPROOF HOME FOR THE BRIDE by Amy Scheibe

Trying to find yourself… in the wilderness?  READ: HAPPINESS FOR BEGINNERS by Katherine Center

Debut Novels with a WWII Backdrop:

THE SCENT OF TRIUMPH by Jan Moran

THE LAST FLIGHT OF POXL WEST by Daniel Torday

Debut Novel:

GWENDOLEN by Diana Souhami

Fantasy:

VOYAGE OF THE BASILISK: A MEMOIR BY LADY TRENT by Marie Brennan

Romance:

MAD, BAD, AND DANGEROUS IN PLAID by Suzanne Enoch (OMG HIGHLANDERS!!!)

Mysteries:

ASYLUM by Jeannette de Beauvoir

THE FRIENDSHIP OF CRIMINALS by Robert Glinski

FRACTURED by Kate Watterson

readmoreremove

We Love Books About Books

Who can resist books about books and libraries? We can't! Here's just a few of the latest titles we're into (Caution: some books may include kittens):

WHY I READ: The Serious Pleasure of Books by Wendy Lesser
Founder of the Threepenny Review, Lesser's "delectably sophisticated inquiry into why reading is a constant source of pleasure and provocation" (Booklist) is as much a memoir as it is about the craft of literature. Written in "erudite, beautiful passages," WHY I READ "will speak to booklovers of all types." – Publishers Weekly, starred review. If you're attending ALA Midwinter, make sure to meet Wendy Lesser in booth #622!

WHAT MAKE THIS BOOK SO GREAT by Jo Walton
This collection of Tor.com blog posts from Hugo and Nebula Award–winning author Walton about her favorites works of sci-fi and fantasy is "...akin to a genre version of Nancy Pearl's BOOK LUST." (Library Journal, starred review) "For readers unschooled in the history of SF/F, this book is a treasure trove; for those who recognize every title, Walton evokes the joy of returning to a well-worn favorite." – Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE SHELF: From LEQ to LES: Adventures in Extreme Reading by Phyllis Rose
No, this isn't reading while rappelling down a mountain like we hoped, but it is still an extreme library sport: to read through an entire shelf of library books. In Rose's case, her randomly chosen shelf of fiction from LEQ to LES contained a classic she has not read, a remarkable variety of authors, and a range of literary styles from mystery to humor. Perhaps it'll inspire similar challenges in your library!

Now that we're thinking about cats, here are 21 cats who are secretly excellent readers!

readmoreremove

css.php