Articles tagged "Books for Teens 2018"

Day’s YA – HOW I RESIST

Happy New Year, YA friends!

Winter Storm Grayson is in full force over here in NYC, so we’re staying bundled up today. The temperatures outside might be arctic-like, but I have a book for you that’s sure to light a fire of resistance in the hearts of readers young and old.

HOW I RESIST by Tim Federle and Maureen Johnson
9781250168368
Available May 1, 2018 from Wednesday Books
Ages 13 to 18

Young people are rising up among the ranks of activists and it is absolutely vital that their voices are heard. This book will help to make sure that happens. HOW I RESIST is a compilation of essays, interviews, poems, and songs written for teens about activism, strength, and having hope in a time when the world looks bleak. Chapters include an essay about growing up queer and Hispanic in Texas, a guide to calling your representatives, a short story about being an activist while at college, and a list of books about resistance compiled by librarians, plus a number of other thoughtful and thought-provoking topics. The all-star cast of contributors includes Libba Bray, Javier Muñoz, Rosie O’Donnell, Jodi Picoult, Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, Jesse Tyler Ferguson and his husband Justin Mikita, Sabaa Tahir, and so many more.

While this collection is written specifically for young people, it will make readers of all ages pause and think about what they are doing–or what they could be doing–to make the world a better place, which ultimately has an impact on resistance, as Hebh Jamal points out: “Taking time to think deeply about one’s advocacy makes a more productive advocate. How I resist is therefore deeply affected by how much I am willing to think.” The message of hope within these pages is one that all readers can and should turn to for inspiration and encouragement. In the end, it’s about being true to who you are and believing that you have the power to make a change because, as Rebecca Roanhorse says in her chapter of the book, “Being you is the most powerful kind of resistance of all.” readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (12/19/2017 Edition)

Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lovestam and POPPIES OF IRAQ by Brigitte Findakly & Lewis Trondheim were both included in Kirkus Reviews’ list of Best Teen Books of 2017!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

TOTAL TEEN: Tracy Anderson’s Guide to Health, Happiness, and Ruling Your World by Tracy Anderson
9781623369323
Ages 11 to 14
A body-positive health and fitness guide made just for girls, from one of the most trusted and admired names in fitness. readmoreremove

Teen Talk Tuesday (11/21/2017 Edition)

Hello hello! It’s been a great month for YA lit! Melissa Albert’s THE HAZEL WOOD now has FOUR starred reviews and NOT NOW, NOT EVER by Lily Anderson is on the Winter 2017-2018 Kids’ Indie Next List!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

FRANKIE by Shivaun Plozza
9781250142993
Ages 12 and Up
A genre-hopping, darkly funny debut novel about searching for the truth, finding yourself, and falling in love, for fans of Melina Marchetta.
“A gritty and darkly witty debut.” —Kirkus Reviews
“A powerful debut about a girl learning to love despite the dangers.” —Booklist

NOT NOW, NOT EVER by Lily Anderson
9781250142108
Ages 12 to 18
A Winter 2017-2018 Kids’ Indie Next List pick! Jennifer E. Smith meets THE FANGIRL’S GUIDE TO THE GALAXY in this deliciously nerdy sequel to THE ONLY THING WORSE THAN ME IS YOU, inspired this time by THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING EARNEST.
“This is wonderful book that explores the desire to be loyal to family and to create a space that belongs solely to oneself. EVER’s is a fresh and welcome voice that unashamedly embraces her geekiness.” — School Library Journal

THE NOVEMBER GIRL by Lydia Kang
9781633758261
Ages 12 and Up
Hector is running away from violence; Anda has violence running in her veins. Together, they could save—or destroy—each other. Told from the POVs of the daughter of Lake Superior and a boy on the run from his tumultuous past, this haunting, atmospheric novel is perfect for fans of Laura Ruby’s BONE GAP or the Mara Dyer series by Michelle Hodkin. readmoreremove

css.php