Articles tagged "Books for Teens 2017 titles"

Teen Talk Tuesday (2/21/17 Edition)

It’s time for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya, starting now/4pm EST)! Before you tell us about your must-read YA books, we’ve got some news & resources for you:

Stephanie Garber’s CARAVAL is the #1 pick on the Spring 2017 Kids’ Indie Next List! Also on the list? A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi. School Library Journal also gave a sneak peek at their must-read titles for Spring 2017, including three of our books.

There’s still time to sign up for the following events:
Booklist‘s Spring 2017 YA Announcements webinar on Tuesday, February 28
AAP Children’s & YA Tri-State Book Buzz 
on Wednesday, March 1 in NYC
School Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog on Wednesday, May 31 in NYC
If you can’t attend any of those events, it’s OK—we’ll post the titles we discussed on the blog after they happen.

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18
Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man! readmoreremove

Back to School Books

Just in time for back-to-school season, here are several new and forthcoming books about schools and education:

LIT UP: One Reporter. Three Schools. Twenty-four Books That Can Change Lives. by David Denby
Available in trade paperback February 14, 2017
“Part literary meditation, part case study of exemplary teaching, LIT UP traces a diverse group of adolescents as they are drawn into the ‘character-forming experience of reading difficult books’ by their ardent and caring (and as duly noted, union) teachers. LIT UP is also a cri de coeur imploring a return to the kind of education that elevates the ‘unquantifiable’ humanities to foster ‘the spiritual value of literature and the moral instruction of teenagers.’” — Booklist, starred review

FAIL U.: The False Promise of Higher Education by Charles J. Sykes
The bestselling author of PROFSCAM and A NATION OF VICTIMS exposes the over-priced, under-performing, grievance-crazed, and student-indenturing American higher-education complex. “Laying out a bold agenda for reform, Sykes calls for a university system smaller and less dependent on government largesse, less politically correct, and more open to online instruction than the one now bankrupting many students and their families. Certain to stimulate a much-needed debate.”
Booklist, starred review

IT TAKES A SCHOOL: The Extraordinary Story of an American School in the World’s #1 Failed State by Jonathan Starr
A story of David and Goliath proportions, how an American hedge fund manager created a unique school in Somaliland whose students, against all odds, have come to achieve success beyond anyone’s wildest dreams.

THE POWER OF A PLANT: A Teacher’s Odyssey to Grow Healthy Minds and Schools by Stephen Ritz
Ritz’s inspiring story about how teaching kids to garden moved the graduation rate from 17% to 100% and improved attendance to 93% in his South Bronx high school.

LEARN BETTER: Six Strategies for Mastering the Skills for Success in Life, Business and School by Ulrich Boser
In this engrossing book, Boser maps out the new science of learning, showing how simple techniques like self-questioning can help people gain knowledge and expertise in dramatically better ways.

Check out our resources for the college-bound student:

OFFICIAL SAT STUDY GUIDE (2016 Edition)

CLEP OFFICIAL STUDY GUIDE 2017

COLLEGE HANDBOOK 2017

GETTING FINANCIAL AID 2017

SCHOLARSHIP HANDBOOK 2017

BOOK OF MAJORS 2017

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT HANDBOOK 2017

50 SUCCESSFUL HARVARD APPLICATION ESSAYS (4th Edition)
The 5th Edition will be available May 9, 2017

GRAMMAR GIRL’S 101 WORDS EVERY HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATE NEEDS TO KNOW by Mignon Fogarty readmoreremove

css.php