Articles tagged "Booklist"

Booklist’s 2019 Great Group Reads

Yara Zgheib’s THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET is among Booklist and the Women’s National Book Association’s favorite book club reads of the year!

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib

A February 2019 Indie Next pick + LibraryReads pick + Library Journal Best Debut!

A haunting portrait of a young woman’s struggle with anorexia on an intimate journey to reclaim her life.

“This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Thriller Thursday (10/10)

Witchcraft and murder at a boarding school + a WWII military thriller = this week’s Thriller Thursday.

THE FURIES by Katie Lowe

“Murder and witchcraft mix with a heady cocktail of drugs, booze, and revenge in this elegant, pitch-perfect coming-of-age story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE NUGGET by P. T. Deutermann

“Deutermann, long a master of military thrillers, is at the top of his game here.”–Booklist

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/09)

A memoir of growing up in and leaving the Westboro Baptist Church, inspiration from Habitat for Humanity’s CEO, a rescue dog that saves other beloved pets, the story of marriage equality from a civil rights activist, the history of rock structures around the world, and the unification of European countries and cities–all in today’s nonfiction round-up.

UNFOLLOW: A Memoir of Loving and Leaving the Westboro Baptist Church by Megan Phelps-Roper

A Publishers Weekly Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019

“For anyone interested in the power of rhetoric, belief, and family, Phelps-Roper’s powerful, empathetic memoir will be a must-read.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay (10/08)

A YA powerhouse makes her adult debut, a book lover in Paris, horror + feminism in a collection of short stories, falling in love with Ireland, alternate universes + stolen identities, and a dilapidated mansion in nineteenth-century Hyde Park. Find it all in today’s #PubDay.

NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo

An October LibraryReads pick, Indie Next pick, PW Most Anticipated Book of Fall 2019, Kirkus Most Anticipated Fall Fiction + 4 starred reviews!

“Fantasy readers, particularly those who love ghosts, will hungrily devour this novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“The worldbuilding is rock solid, the plot is propulsive, and readers will be clamoring for a sequel as soon as they read the last page.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Adults are just as enamored of Bardugo’s YA novels as teens are, and many have been anxiously and curiously awaiting this one.”–Booklist, starred review

“With an aura of both enchantment and authenticity, Bardugo’s compulsively readable novel leaves a portal ajar for equally dazzling sequels.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (10/02/19)

Forming habits…answered, the memoir of an immigrant family’s American Dream, learning the science of reading people’s faces, and a spooky addition to Augusten Burrough’s collection of memoirs. Check it all out in today’s #nonfiction round-up

GOOD HABITS, BAD HABITS: The Science of Making Positive Changes That Stick by Wendy Wood

“Wood’s research and perspective on the malleability of habits will bring hope to any reader looking to create long-term behavioral change.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

HERE WE ARE: American Dreams, American Nightmares by Aarti Namdev Shahani

“This thought-provoking and thoroughly engrossing memoir offers the story of Shahani’s experience, as well as those of other families who, though they did not find the American Dream, nevertheless found home.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay (10/01/19)

An American Midwest family drama + a new novel from the author of THE TATTOOIST OF AUSCHWITZ + the return of L. Penelope’s Earthsinger, all in this week’s #PubDay celebration.

THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner

“Autofiction at its smartest and most effective: self-interested, self-interrogating, but never self-involved.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CILKA’S JOURNEY by Heather Morris

“Morris’s propulsive tale shows the goodness that can be found even inside the gulag.”--Publishers Weekly

WHISPERS OF SHADOW & FLAME by L. Penelope

Two starred reviews!

“If you are looking for an epic fantasy to recommend to your patrons, this is the one to pick.”–Booklist, starred review

“This is a wonderful integration of high-stakes epic fantasy intrigue with intimate personal connections.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Adult Books for Teens

These titles may have been published for adults, but Booklist says they’re perfect for teens—and we agree!

DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
In the vein of ANOTHER BROOKLYN and AMERICANAH, DOMINICANA is a novel about a Dominican teenager’s arranged marriage and immigration to New York City, set in the 1960s and inspired by the author’s mother.

“YAs will be struck by the ways Ana’s coming-of-age is complicated by family needs and immigration realities.” —Booklist, YA Interest

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (9/26/19)

Joe Gunther returns + international terrorism + 19th century New York in shambles = today’s #ThrillerThursday.

BOMBER’S MOON: A Joe Gunther Novel by Archer Mayor

“[F]ans will appreciate the introduction of FARO into a mix of technological tools, which, together with Gunther’s crime-solving prowess, make for an absorbing read.”–Booklist, starred review

BLOOD IN THE WATER by Jack Flynn

“Dirty fighting, clever strategizing, and complicated romances drive this story at breakneck pace.”–Library Journal

HUDSON’S KILL: A Justice Flanagan Thriller by Paddy Hirsch

“Hirsch makes the most of his setting and has a rich vein of potential future plots to mine. Historical mystery fans will be enthralled.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Happy #PubDay (9/24/19)

It’s #PubDay, and we are celebrating with feminist time travel, a graphic novel exploration of life and marriage, and finding love and acceptance in the most unexpected places.

THE FUTURE OF ANOTHER TIMELINE by Annalee Newitz

4 starred reviews!

“This riot of a book will have readers delighting both in the thrilling battle over timelines in an intricate, alternative world and in the joys of inclusive feminist solidarity.”–Booklist, starred review

“An ambitious adventure that keeps the surprises coming.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Shrewd commentary and a host of sources highlight Newitz’s strength in prose.”–Library Journal, starred review

“Smart and profound on every level, this is a deeply satisfying novel.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE RIVER AT NIGHT by Kevin Huizenga

“[T]he vast spaciousness of this surreal night flight is all his own. Glenn’s reveries will pull readers into multiple deserved rereadings.”–Publisher’s Weekly

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (9/18/19)

A fresh look on climate change, a poet’s take on illness in contemporary America, an illustrated guide to American history, and the memoir of America’s most famous whistleblower… welcome to this week’s nonfiction round-up!

PERMANENT RECORD by Edward Snowden

“Snowden’s many admirers will find his saga both captivating and inspiring.”–Publishers Weekly

WE ARE THE WEATHER: Saving the Planet Begins at Breakfast by Jonathan Safran Foer

“In his desire to convince others to take action, Foer raises the philosophical bar, which is, perhaps, the most effective way of fomenting sincere and long-lasting commitment to this life-threatening crisis.”–Booklist

readmoreremove
css.php