Articles tagged "#BookBirthday"

Happy #Pubday to Sally Hepworth’s THE MOTHER-IN-LAW!

Join us in wishing Sally Hepworth’s LibraryReads pick, THE MOTHER-IN-LAW, a very happy book birthday!

From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and properly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice who helped female refugees assimilate to their new country. Diana was happily married to Tom, and lived in wedded bliss for decades. Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was five years ago.

readmoreremove

#PubDay (4/16/19)

On this #pubday, we celebrate time travel–to a 19th century French vineyard, to breaking codes in Asia post-WII, to the beginnings of American Libertarianism or through objects themselves…

THOMAS AND BEAL IN THE MIDI by Christopher Tilghman

“Lovely literary fiction for not only fans of Tilghman’s previous work but for anyone interested in that age-old question, What is true love?”–Library Journal

CREDO: The Rose Wilder Lane Story by Peter Bagge

“The idiosyncratic, independent life and work of Rose Wilder Lane—Laura Ingalls Wilder’s conservative daughter—gets its due in this spiky graphic biography by Bagge… This loopy, frantic, and personality-packed tribute is fitting for one of America’s lesser-known gonzo feminist writers.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

#PubDay (4/9/19)

Today’s #pubday celebration features an Indie Next Pick, a beach read, a coming-of-age, and a sci fi adventure!

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi

An April Indie Next Pick!
The New York Times interviews author Susan Choi
Three starred reviews!

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“‘That whole thing about fiction not being the truth is a lie,’ one character admonishes another in Choi’s fifth, and finest, novel…. Literary deception rarely reads this well.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (4/2/19)

Two LibraryReads picks and a New Yorker cartoonist celebrate their #bookbirthday today!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April LibraryReads and Indie Next Pick!

“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

#PubDay (3/26/19)

Romance meets Sci Fi meets a young Parisian chef in today’s #pubday celebration!

A MEMORY CALLED EMPIRE by Arkady Martine
A Library Journal Winter/Spring 2019 Best Debut!
Three Starred Reviews!

“This is both an epic and a human story, successful in the mode of Ann Leckie and Yoon Ha Lee. A confident beginning with the promise of future installments that can’t come quickly enough.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Politics and personalities blend with an immersive setting and beautiful prose in a debut that weaves threads of identity, assimilation, technology, and culture to offer an exceedingly well-done sf political thriller.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

#PubDay (3/19/19)

A kick-butt female vigilante, a speculative SF novella collection, and a debut love letter to Chicago and its people join us to celebrate #pubday!

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk

Two starred reviews!

“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Happy #PubDay! (11/13/18)

Today’s #pubday brings you a re-examining of the Constitution, food, the environment, India under British rule, aaaand a novel from Israel!

WE THE PEOPLE: A Progressive Reading of the Constitution for the Twenty-First Century by Erwin Chemerinsky 

From gun control to reproductive health, a conservative court will reshape the lives of all Americans for decades to come. University of California Berkeley Dean and respected legal scholar Erwin Chemerinsky expertly exposes how conservatives are using the Constitution to advance their own agenda that favors business over consumers and employees, and government power over individual rights.

“Chemerinsky’s rock-solid arguments are rooted in history, in a profound progressive philosophy.”Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE EATING INSTINCT: Food Culture, Body Image, and Guilt in America by Virginia Sole-Smith 

An exploration, both personal and deeply reported, of how we learn to eat in today’s toxic food culture.

“Picky eaters, foodies, food historians, parents of preemies, and readers who rarely even think about food will all find the statistics Sole-Smith uncovers to be interesting and surprising.”Booklist readmoreremove

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

css.php