Articles tagged "#BookBday"

Happy #BookBday (5/15/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two new novels starring women who overcome adversity:

HOW TO WALK AWAY by Katherine Center
A May 2018 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! Margaret Jacobson has a bright future ahead of her, with a fiancé and a promising career, until an accident on what should be one of the happiest days of her life takes it all away. “A story about survival that is heartbreakingly honest and wryly funny, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Elizabeth Berg.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SO LUCKY by Nicola Griffith
The “affecting autobiographical novel”* of a confident woman forced to confront an unnerving new reality when in the space of a single week her wife leaves her and she is diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. “Anyone who’s ever struggled with medical adversity will be inspired.” — *Publishers Weekly

Happy #BookBday (5/8/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two perfect, beach-ready reads!

MY EX-LIFE by Stephen McCauley
Also available in audio
A May 2018 Indie Next pick! When midlife woes descend, a long-divorced couple find their paths merging again in this breakout book for fans of Tom Perrotta, Maria Semple, and Cynthia D’Aprix Sweeney. “McCauley’s effervescent prose is full of wit and wisdom on every topic—college application essays, Airbnb operation, weed addiction, live porn websites, and, most of all, people…. A gin and tonic for the soul.” — Kirkus Reviews

THE HIGH TIDE CLUB by Mary Kay Andrews
Also available in audio
99-year-old heiress Josephine Bettendorf Warrick hires single-mom lawyer Brooke Trapnell to protect her 20,000-acre barrier island home from developers and to bring together the descendants of her best friends, a spirited bunch who dubbed themselves the High Tide Club. “[A] compelling novel about the people and places that shape a life and the secrets that create ripples for generations. With a unique setting, mysterious flashbacks, romance, and a surprising twist, this book will not disappoint readers looking for juicy escape.” — Booklist

Happy #BookBday (5/1/18 Edition)

Look at these outstanding new releases, perfect for every patron:

MOTHERHOOD by Sheila Heti
A May 2018 Indie Next pick and one of PW’s Spring 2018 Literary Fiction picks with two starred reviews! “The subject of the new novel from Heti is neither birth nor child-rearing, but the question of whether to want a child, which the unnamed narrator calls ‘the greatest secret I keep from myself’…. This lively, exhilaratingly smart, and deliberately, appropriately frustrating affair asks difficult questions about women’s responsibilities and desires, and society’s expectations.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

SONG OF BLOOD & STONE: Earthsinger Chronicles, Book One by L. Penelope
A Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ Pick with two starred reviews! The incredible first book in the Earthsinger series—a treacherous, thrilling, epic historical fantasy drawing on Native American and African mythologies about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers. “This debut…shines a bright light into epic fantasy. Battle-scarred lands and peoples, ancient powers at war, star-crossed loves and hints of racial and refugee themes give this a solid place on library shelves.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (4/10/2018 Edition)

Oh what a lovely day for a #BookBday!

AFTER ANNA by Lisa Scottoline
An April 2018 Indie Next Pick!
“In this nail-biting domestic thriller from Scottoline, prominent Pennsylvania pediatric allergist Noah Alderman, a widower, finds love again with Maggie Ippolitti. She adores his son, and they have a happy life. But everything changes when Maggie gets a call from her daughter, Anna, whom she lost custody of when the girl was six months old . . . Filled with plenty of twists and complex characters, this entertaining story builds to a satisfying conclusion. —Publishers Weekly

HOTEL ON SHADOW LAKE by Daniela Tully
Tully’s first novel, an intricate read-it-in-one-sitting mystery-cum-family saga, spans a hundred years, two continents, and two world wars . . . Told from the point of view of three central characters—and including its own fairy tale—this is a story about murder, greed, love (won then lost), and, above all, intrigue.Publishers Weekly, starred review

Friday Reads: #BookBday Debuts

TGIF! Our #FridayReads are two starry debut novels celebrating their #BookBday this week!

GIRLS BURN BRIGHTER by Shobha Rao
A March 2018 LibraryReads pick, a Library Journal Spring 2018 Editors’ pick, and a “Most Anticipated Book of 2018” with THREE starred reviews! A searing, electrifying debut novel set in India and America, about a once-in-a-lifetime friendship between two girls who are driven apart but never stop trying to find one another again. “Incredible storytelling… Highly recommended for book discussion groups, this tale of sacrifice, exploitation, and reclamation is not to be missed.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE COINCIDENCE MAKERS by Yoav Blum
What if the drink you just spilled, the train you just missed, or the lottery ticket you just found was not just a random occurrence? Meet the Coincidence Makers—Guy, Emily, and Eric—three seemingly ordinary people who work for a secret organization devoted to creating and carrying out carefully orchestrated events designed to spark significant changes in the lives of their targets. “Artfully blending elements of thriller, romance, and fantasy in beautiful prose, Blum’s novel is a flight of imagination that will echo in readers’ minds long after the last pages have been turned.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (2/13/18 Edition)

#BookBday stars all around!

THE CHATEAU by Paul Goldberg
The acclaimed author of THE YID takes us behind the scenes of a Florida condo board election, delivering a wild spin on Miami Beach, petty crime, Jewish identity, and life in Trump’s America. “A master of dark, cutting humor, restless and allusive… Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction’s liveliest new voices, walking in the shoes of such deadpan provocateurs as Mordecai Richler and Stanley Elkin.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

SOME HELL by Patrick Nathan
One of Esquire’s “Most Anticipated Books of 2018!” A wrenching and layered debut novel about a gay teen’s coming-of-age in the aftermath of his father’s suicide. “Nathan’s first novel is beautifully done and promises to linger in the reader’s memory.” — Booklist, starred review

Happy #BookBday (1/9/18 Edition)

New Year, New Books! Happy #BookBday to:

BENEATH THE SUGAR SKY by Seanan McGuire
A January 2018 LibraryReads and Indie Next pick! The third contemporary fantasy in the Wayward Children series (after LibraryReads picks EVERY HEART A DOORWAY and DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES), follows Rini, who lands with a literal splash in the pond behind Eleanor West’s Home for Wayward Children only to find that her mother, Sumi, died years before Rini was even conceived. “McGuire suggests entire universes in a few spare sentences, and the delightfully diverse cast of characters is similarly conjured. We’re told some doors open only once, but readers will beg McGuire to keep the door open to these worlds in perpetuity. Phenomenal.” — Booklist, starred review

KING ZENO by Nathaniel Rich
New Orleans, 1918. The birth of jazz, the Spanish flu, an ax murderer on the loose. The lives of a traumatized cop, a conflicted Mafia matriarch, and a brilliant trumpeter converge—and the Crescent City gets the rich, dark, sweeping novel it so deserves. “Rich uses music, race, and historical details in ways that will likely spark comparisons to E.L. Doctorow’s multifaceted Ragtime. It’s a nicely paced detective thriller, clever on corporate corruption and police procedure.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (12/5/17 Edition)

It’s a winter #BookBday wonderland!

YEAR ONE: Chronicles of the One by Nora Roberts
December 2017 Indie Next pick with two starred reviews! In the stunning beginning to an epic hardcover trilogy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts weaves an enthralling saga of suspense, survival, and the journey that will unite a desperate group of people to fight the battle of their lives. “Roberts’ new direction is electric and ground-breaking. A fast-paced, mesmerizing, and thought-provoking novel that will no doubt add to Roberts’ legions of fans.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THREE DAUGHTERS OF EVE by Elif Shafak
December 2017 Indie Next pickPeri, a married, wealthy, beautiful Turkish woman, is on her way to a dinner party at a seaside mansion in Istanbul when a beggar snatches her handbag. As she wrests it back, a photograph falls to the ground: an old polaroid of three young women and their university professor. This relic from a past unearths a love that Peri has tried desperately to forget and the scandal that tore the three women apart. “Shafak’s…portrait of a woman in existential crisis feels universal, shining clarifying light on Islam—and religious spirituality in general—within the frame of today’s world.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Happy Belated #BookBday (11/28/17 Edition)

We’re late to wish these two a happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

POISON by Galt Niederhoffer
“A married mother of three young children enjoys a state of domestic bliss until she begins to suspect her husband is trying to poison her in Niederhoffer’s latest. The novel is ominous from Page 1, and with its slow-burn peril—both psychological and physical—building nicely, the suspense is sustained until the very end.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (11/14/17 Edition)

SMILE! It’s your #BookBday!

PROMISE ME, DAD: A Year of Hope, Hardship, and Purpose by Joe Biden
The vice president pens a deeply moving memoir about the most challenging professional and personal year in which he lost his son to brain cancer. “The book is a backstage drama, honest, raw and rich in detail. People who have lost someone will genuinely take comfort from what he has to say….” — New York Times

AFTER THE END OF THE WORLD by Jonathan L. Howard
Howard’s “wonderful”* sequel to CARTER & LOVECRAFT, featuring bookseller Emily Lovecraft and detective Daniel Carter “reboots the heck out of the series” (*Booklist, starred review). “This is an entertaining and meticulously crafted mix of speculative history, suspense, sardonic humor, and cosmic horror.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

AMERICAN DRIFTER by Chad Michael Murray & Heather Graham
RWA Lifetime Achievement Award and ITW ThrillerMaster Award recipient Heather Graham teams up with celebrated actor and celebrity icon Chad Michael Murray to weave a tale of passion and danger as a young US Army veteran suffering from PTSD drifts around Brazil and falls in love with a gangster’s mistress. “A pretty, airy fairy tale for a modern time—though the end briefly acknowledges that perfection can only ever be an illusion.” — Kirkus Reviews

DEBRIEFING: Collected Stories by Susan Sontag, edited by Benjamin Taylor
A collection of one of our most powerful intellectual’s short fiction works. “Sontag’s stories are freshly provocative and incisive as well as remarkably prescient. The time for these tales is now.” — Booklist

BEASTS OF EXTRAORDINARY CIRCUMSTANCE by Ruth Emmie Lang
Through the story of Weylyn Grey, Lang weaves a mystical tale about life, love, and the ability each of us has to change our own story. “Original and imaginative, especially in its multifaceted exploration of one extraordinary person, Lang’s novel is a lovely and fascinating feat of magical realism. This bildungsroman will likely engage young fantasy fans who struggle to fit in.” — Booklist readmoreremove

css.php