Articles tagged "BN Discover Great New Writers"

B&N Summer 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Summer 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes five Macmillan titles!

ONE DAY WE’LL ALL BE DEAD AND NONE OF THIS WILL MATTER by Scaachi Koul
One of Buzzfeed’s “Most Exciting Books Coming In 2017!” For readers of Mindy Kaling, Luvvie Ajayi, and Rupi Kaur comes a debut collection of fierce and funny essays about growing up the daughter of Indian immigrants, addressing sexism, cultural stereotypes and the universal miseries of life by rising star Scaachi Koul. “Simultaneously uproarious and affecting….” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
A Library Journal Debut Novels pick and one of Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer!”  A vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011 shown through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground. “Cofounder of the Palestine Festival of Literature, Hamilton turns in a relentlessly readable work that both informs and humbles.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE MIGHTY FRANKS: A Memoir by Michael Frank
A psychologically acute memoir about an unusual and eccentric Hollywood family. “Complex and fascinating… Readers will be enthralled by the affecting portraits of the two central figures: the aunt whose drive and charming idiosyncrasies concealed an impulsive cruelty, and the child struggling to make sense of the complex, damaged woman trying to control him.” — Publishers Weekly

HAPPINESS: The Crooked Little Road to Semi-Ever After by Heather Harpham
“An award-winning writer, performer, and teacher of physical theater/improvisation, Harpham tells a heartrending story of young love, getting pregnant, her partner’s lack of interest in having children, returning home alone, then discovering hours after giving birth that something was dangerously wrong with her baby. There are terrible choices to make and a crooked little road to follow toward some kind of radiant happiness.” Library Journal, pre-pub alert readmoreremove

B&N Spring 2017 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Spring 2017 Discover Great New Writers program includes four Macmillan titles!

A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming
An extraordinary portrait of Doaa Zamel, a Syrian refugee who managed to survive the horrendous September 2014 Mediterranean shipwreck that claimed almost 500 lives, from the Head of Communications and Chief Spokesperson for the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR).

INSOMNIAC CITY by Bill Hayes
A moving celebration of what Hayes calls “the evanescent, the eavesdropped, the unexpected” of life in New York City, and an intimate glimpse of his relationship with the late Oliver Sacks.

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

B&N Fall 2016 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Fall 2016 Discover Great New Writers program includes two Macmillan titles!

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
An ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection! “[A] mind-blowing debut collection of stealthily speculative stories… Weinstein’s brilliantly original, witty, and provocative tales explore the malleability of memory and self, the fragility of intimacy and nature, forging a ravishingly powerful, cautionary vision.” Booklist, starred review

THE ART OF WAITING: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood by Belle Boggs
A September 2016 Indie Next pick! “So much more than a memoir about trying to conceive. In her reporting, researching, and sharing, Boggs has performed a public service for those in a similar position—and for anyone interested in the implications of parenthood or in a story well-told and deeply felt.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

B&N Fall 2015 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Fall 2015 Discover Great New Writers program features 4 Macmillan titles!

BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz Panel Selection! Memoir at its finest: beautifully composed, firmly anchored to a larger world, engaging, accessible, and profound. “Tweedy, an African American psychiatrist at Duke University, expertly weaves together statistics, personal anecdotes, and patient stories to explain why ‘being black can be bad for your health.’ In all, a smart, thought-provoking, frontline look at race and medicine.” — Booklist, starred review

HOME IS BURNING by Dan Marshall
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz Panel Selection! This hilarious, profane, and heartbreaking story of a madcap family’s struggles with catastrophic illness had us laughing out loud and quietly crying on all kinds of public transportation. “Horrible. Hysterical. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Just like life.” — Jenny Lawson, #1 bestselling author of Let’s Pretend This Never Happened (and the forthcoming FURIOUSLY HAPPY) readmoreremove

LJ’s Famously Firsts

Library Journal shared their “Famously Firsts”—recently published or forthcoming debut novels that they are most excited about. Check out their Macmillan picks!
KEY FALL CHILLS

NIGHT OF THE JAGUAR by Joe Gannon
A freelance journalist in Nicaragua during the Sandinista Revolution, the setting of this book, Gannon introduces police captain Ajax Montoya, a revolutionary hero who served in state security but has been forced into homicide investigations. At least he recognizes the execution style of an old enemy at the latest crime scene. “Readers will eagerly await Gannon’s next book” (PW).

NINE DAYS by Minerva Koenig
Living in the witness protection program in Azula, TX, Julia Kalas is surprised to discover that the buildings near the bar where she works are mostly owned by a shell company; she ends up investigating the sheriff’s murder. “Atmospheric and entertaining”; an LJ Mystery Debut of the Month by an architect who once worked as a librarian. (LJ 9/1/14)

readmoreremove

css.php