Articles tagged "Bill Clinton"

Teen Talk Tuesday (6/20/17 Edition)

ewgcya-june2017Happy #ewgcya day, YA librarians! Great news: CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber and WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam are nominated for YALSA’s 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults list!

Check out our latest & greatest teen titles out this month, then join us today at 4pm EST for Early Word YA Galley Chat (hashtag: #ewgcya) and tell us what you’ve been reading and loving.

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin
Ages 12 to 18
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell comes a “sensitive and big-hearted”* debut novel of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen’s decision to end an unwanted pregnancy. “Genesis’s conflicted relationships with her mother, grandparents, and friends are as engrossing as her breakup with Peter, and her story packs a big emotional punch.” — *Publishers Weekly

I AM A SECRET SERVICE AGENT by Dan Emmett
Ages 8 to 18
Adapted from WITHIN ARM’S LENGTH for a young adult audience, a rare inside look at the Secret Service from an agent who protected Presidents George H. W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and George W. Bush. “Readers will admire Emmett’s discipline, commitment, physical strength, and endurance, as well as his understatement and dry humor.” — Publishers Weekly

KITARO AND THE GREAT TANUKI WAR by Shigeru Mizuki
Ages 8 & up
Kitaro faces off against a swamp monster, a paper screen come to life, and an army of mythical raccoon dogs in this graphic novel. readmoreremove

Presidential Reads

Today is Inauguration Day! Make sure your library has these presidential books on its shelves:

A CONSEQUENTIAL PRESIDENT: The Legacy of Barack Obama by Michael D’Antonio
A bold assessment of the lasting successes and major achievements of President Obama. “Obama’s historic presidency during a time of great divisiveness in Washington and the country is an important time in American history, and D’Antonio offers a terrific summary.” — Booklist

THE MEANING OF MICHELLE: 16 Writers on the Iconic First Lady and How Her Journey Inspires Our Own by Veronica Chambers
A tribute to America’s beloved first lady, Michelle Obama, as she leaves the White House from 16 writers. “This is a glorious tribute to an incredible woman.” — Booklist, starred review

WE ARE THE CHANGE WE SEEK: The Speeches of Barack Obama by E.J. Dionne Jr. & Joy-Ann Reid
A collection of Barack Obama’s 26 greatest speeches selected and introduced by columnist E.J. Dionne and MSNBC host Joy-Ann Reid. These talks span his career—from his time in state government through to the end of his tenure as president—and the issues most important to our time: war, inequality, race relations, gun violence, and human rights.

BILL CLINTON: The American Presidents Series: The 42nd President, 1993-2001 by Michael Tomasky, edited by Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr. & Sean Wilentz
The next entry in the American Presidents Series covers Bill Clinton, a president of larger-than-life ambitions and appetites whose term defined America at the close of the twentieth century.

css.php