Articles tagged "Beyonce"

Red-Hot Fall 2019 Drop-In Alert: JAY-Z: Made in America by Michael Eric Dyson

From the New York Times bestselling author of TEARS WE CANNOT STOP and WHAT TRUTH SOUNDS LIKE comes JAY-Z: Made in America, a powerful examination of JAY-Z as a cultural icon, published for his 50th birthday.

JAY-Z is America at its scrappy, brash, irreverent, soulful, ingenious best: as transcendent a cultural icon as Frank Sinatra, as adventurous a self-made billionaire as Mark Zuckerberg, as gifted a poet as Walt Whitman. As he reaches the half-century mark, logs thirty years as a recording artist, becomes the genre’s first billionaire, reigns as an elder statesman in a field teeming with artists half his age, and continues to make relevant rap records that chart—and that chart an artistic and political response to revived racism and renewed hostility to blackness—it is an auspicious time to examine JAY-Z’s ideas, gifts and impact, to take measure of his stride as a cultural colossus. And there is no one better suited to the task than Michael Eric Dyson, who has investigated and championed hip hop, and the work of JAY-Z, as a critical American art form, for decades.

JAY-Z: Made in America goes on sale November 26, 2019 from St. Martin’s Press.

Also available in audio.

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove
css.php