Articles tagged "Belle Boggs"

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

Summer 2017 Indie Next Picks for Book Clubs

S17IndieBookClubThe Summer 2017 Indie Next List for Reading Groups includes seven Macmillan titles!

Top Ten
SLEEPING ON JUPITER by Anuradha Roy
ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY by Charlie Jane Anders

Small Bites
100 ESSAYS I DON’T HAVE TIME TO WRITE by Sarah Ruhl
WHEREAS by Layli Long Soldier readmoreremove

2017 PEN Literary Awards Finalists

pen awards

UPDATE 3/28/17: Congratulations to our PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography winner: BLACK ELK: The Life of an American Visionary by Joe Jackson!
The PEN American Center announced the finalists for the 2017 PEN Literary Awards and they include 7 Macmillan titles:

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
HURT PEOPLE by Cote Smith

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay
THE ART OF WAITING: On Fertility, Medicine and Motherhood by Belle Boggs

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction
DREAMLAND: The True Tale of America’s Opiate Epidemic by Sam Quinones

PEN Open Book Award (For an exceptional book-length work of literature by an author of color published in 2016)
THE BOOK OF MEMORY by Petina Gappah
LOOK by Solmaz Sharif
BLACKACRE by Monica Youn

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography
BLACK ELK: The Life of an American Visionary by Joe Jackson

The winners will be announced on February 22 (except for debut fiction and essay, which will be announced live at the 2017 PEN America Literary Awards Ceremony on March 27).
readmoreremove

2017 PEN Literary Awards Longlist

The PEN American Center announced the longlists for the 2017 PEN Literary Awards and they include 12 Macmillan titles:

PEN/John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction
DREAMLAND: The True Tale of America’s Opiate Epidemic by Sam Quinones

PEN Translation Prize
THE FOX WAS EVER THE HUNTER by Herta Muller
MOONSTONE: The Boy Who Never Was by Sjón

PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for the Art of the Essay
THE ART OF WAITING: On Fertility, Medicine and Motherhood by Belle Boggs

PEN/Jacqueline Bograd Weld Award for Biography
BLACK ELK: The Life of an American Visionary by Joe Jackson

PEN Open Book Award (For an exceptional book-length work of literature by an author of color published in 2016)
BLACKASS by A. Igoni Barrett
THE BOOK OF MEMORY by Petina Gappah
LOOK by Solmaz Sharif
BLACKACRE by Monica Youn

PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction
HIDE by Matthew Griffin
HURT PEOPLE by Cote Smith

PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award
WHAT A FISH KNOWS: The Inner Lives of Our Underwater Cousins by Jonathan Balcombe readmoreremove

Kirkus Best Books of 2016 – Nonfiction

Kirkus Reviews announced their Best of 2016 Nonfiction lists which include 11 Macmillan titles:

Best Nonfiction of 2016
BULLIES: A FRIENDSHIP by Alex Abramovich
THE ART OF WAITING: ON FERTILITY, MEDICINE, AND MOTHERHOOD by Belle Boggs
CONSEQUENCE: A MEMOIR by Eric Fair
IN THE DARKROOM by Susan Faludi (winner of the 2016 Kirkus Prize for Best Nonfiction!)
THE BITTER TASTE OF VICTORY: IN THE RUINS OF THE REICH by Lara Feigel
BEING A BEAST: ADVENTURES ACROSS THE SPECIES DIVIDE by Charles Foster
THANK YOU FOR BEING LATE: AN OPTIMIST’S GUIDE TO THRIVING IN THE AGE OF ACCELERATIONS by Thomas L. Friedman
MAD ENCHANTMENT: CLAUDE MONET AND THE PAINTING OF THE WATER LILIES by Ross King
RIVERINE: A MEMOIR FROM ANYWHERE BUT HERE by Angela Palm
AMERICAN RHAPSODY: WRITERS, MUSICIANS, MOVIE STARS, AND ONE GREAT BUILDING by Claudia Roth Pierpont
CITY OF THORNS: NINE LIVES IN THE WORLD’S LARGEST REFUGEE CAMP by Ben Rawlence

Best History Books of 2016
THE BITTER TASTE OF VICTORY: IN THE RUINS OF THE REICH by Lara Feigel

Best Books of 2016 to Explain Current Politics
THANK YOU FOR BEING LATE: AN OPTIMIST’S GUIDE TO THRIVING IN THE AGE OF ACCELERATIONS by Thomas L. Friedman
CONSEQUENCE: A MEMOIR by Eric Fair

Best Memoirs of 2016
THE ART OF WAITING: ON FERTILITY, MEDICINE, AND MOTHERHOOD by Belle Boggs
CONSEQUENCE: A MEMOIR by Eric Fair
IN THE DARKROOM by Susan Faludi
RIVERINE: A MEMOIR FROM ANYWHERE BUT HERE by Angela Palm
BULLIES: A FRIENDSHIP by Alex Abramovich

Best Books of 2016 for Lovers of the Literary Arts
MAD ENCHANTMENT: CLAUDE MONET AND THE PAINTING OF THE WATER LILIES by Ross King
AMERICAN RHAPSODY: WRITERS, MUSICIANS, MOVIE STARS, AND ONE GREAT BUILDING by Claudia Roth Pierpont

Best Books of 2016 About Shocking Tales of Injustice
CITY OF THORNS: NINE LIVES IN THE WORLD’S LARGEST REFUGEE CAMP by Ben Rawlence

Best Heartrending Nonfiction of 2016
CITY OF THORNS: NINE LIVES IN THE WORLD’S LARGEST REFUGEE CAMP by Ben Rawlence readmoreremove

PW Best Books of 2016

We’re barely into November, yet Publishers Weekly has already released their Best Books of 2016 list. Here are the Macmillan gems that made the cut:

Top 10 (full list)
WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
GUILTY THING: A Life of Thomas De Quincey by Frances Wilson

Fiction (full list)
WHAT BELONGS TO YOU by Garth Greenwell
HOT MILK by Deborah Levy

Mystery/Thriller (full list)
DON’T TURN OUT THE LIGHTS by Bernard Minier
A GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
REDEMPTION ROAD by John Hart

Poetry (full list)
LOOK by Solmaz Sharif

Comics (full list)
ROSALIE LIGHTNING by Tom Hart

Nonfiction (full list)
GUILTY THING: A Life of Thomas De Quincey by Frances Wilson
ENOUGH SAID: What’s Gone Wrong with the Language of Politics by Mark Thompson
GHETTO: The Invention of a Place, the History of an Idea by Mitchell Duneier
THE LONELY CITY: Adventures in the Art of Being Alone by Olivia Laing
LOVE FOR SALE: Pop Music in America by David Hajdu
A RAGE FOR ORDER: The Middle East in Turmoil, from Tahrir Square to ISIS by Robert F. Worth

Lifestyle (full list)
THE ART OF WAITING by Belle Boggs

Young Adult (full list)
IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo

Check out our Edelweiss collection of Macmillan’s Best Books of 2016 for collection development made easy. We’ll update it as more “Best of 2016” lists come in.

Friday Reads: Patience & Anxiety

Patience and anxiety are a big part of our two #FridayReads picks, but (SPOILER ALERT) both end in happiness:

THE ART OF WAITING: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood by Belle Boggs
A September 2016 Indie Next pick, a Fall 2016 Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers pick, and one of Buzzfeed’s “21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall!” “So much more than a memoir about trying to conceive. In her reporting, researching, and sharing, Boggs has performed a public service for those in a similar position—and for anyone interested in the implications of parenthood or in a story well-told and deeply felt.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

AMERICA THE ANXIOUS: How Our Pursuit of Happiness Is Creating a Nation of Nervous Wrecks by Ruth Whippman
British journalist and documentary filmmaker Whippman embarks on an uproarious pilgrimage to explore America’s obsession with the pursuit of happiness. “A hilarious narrative full of barbed observations, personal anecdotes, and comical stories. … A delightfully witty, enjoyable read.” ― Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Her witty, insightful observations are supported by convincing data, as she pulls back the curtain to reveal the seedy side of the business of happiness. Recommended to readers interested in the psychology of happiness or anxiety and especially those looking for an alternative to the multitude of ‘how-to’ books on the subject.” — Library Journal

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

Buzzfeed’s 21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall

Buzzfeed wants you to turn over a new (autumn) leaf with “21 Incredible New Books You Need To Read This Fall,” including these three Macmillan titles:

THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE by Anuk Arudpragasam
Anuk Arudpragasam’s immersive debut novel THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE is set two and a half decades into the Sri Lankan civil war, where Dinesh, a Tamil refugee, is approached by an old man with a proposal that could change his life: If he marries the man’s daughter Ganga, they would both have a better shot at safety and a less violent future. A portrait of life touched by war and despair, THE STORY OF A BRIEF MARRIAGE is the tale of two strangers suddenly thrust into a strange new relationship.

HERE I AM by Jonathan Safran Foer
HERE I AM, Jonathan Safran Foer’s first novel in 11 years, looks at one family in Washington, D.C., over the course of four weeks of crisis: As the Blochs’ marriage falls apart, so does the Middle East when a natural disaster has devastating consequences for Israel. HERE I AM explores religious identity, responsibility, faith, familial relationships, and what it means to be Jewish-American; an ambitious work. readmoreremove

B&N Fall 2016 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble’s Fall 2016 Discover Great New Writers program includes two Macmillan titles!

CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander Weinstein
An ABA Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce selection! “[A] mind-blowing debut collection of stealthily speculative stories… Weinstein’s brilliantly original, witty, and provocative tales explore the malleability of memory and self, the fragility of intimacy and nature, forging a ravishingly powerful, cautionary vision.” Booklist, starred review

THE ART OF WAITING: On Fertility, Medicine, and Motherhood by Belle Boggs
A September 2016 Indie Next pick! “So much more than a memoir about trying to conceive. In her reporting, researching, and sharing, Boggs has performed a public service for those in a similar position—and for anyone interested in the implications of parenthood or in a story well-told and deeply felt.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Sneak Peek: September 2016 Indie Next List

indie nextThe September 2016 Indie Next list includes three Macmillan titles!

LR iconA GREAT RECKONING by Louise Penny
The #1 August 2016 LibraryReads pick, and a BEA 2016 “Shout ‘n Share” selection with FOUR STARRED REVIEWS!
“The lyrical 12th entry in bestseller Penny’s remarkable series, which has won multiple Agatha awards, finds former Chief Insp. Armand Gamache coming out of retirement to clean up the corrupt Süreté Academy du Québec. This complex novel deals with universal themes of compassion, weakness in the face of temptation, forgiveness, and the danger of falling into despair and cynicism over apparently insurmountable evils.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

A WHOLE LIFE by Robert Seethaler
Shortlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize & a Summer/Fall 2016 Indies Introduce pick! Set in the mid-twentieth century and told with beauty and tenderness, this is a story of man’s relationship with an ancient landscape, of the value of solitude, of the arrival of the modern world, and above all, of the moments that make us who we are. “Poignant… Readers will discover in his contained prose a vehicle for keen insight and observation. ” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

css.php