Articles tagged "belated #BookBday"

Happy Belated #BookBday (11/28/17 Edition)

We’re late to wish these two a happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going!

POISON by Galt Niederhoffer
“A married mother of three young children enjoys a state of domestic bliss until she begins to suspect her husband is trying to poison her in Niederhoffer’s latest. The novel is ominous from Page 1, and with its slow-burn peril—both psychological and physical—building nicely, the suspense is sustained until the very end.” — Kirkus Reviews readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/6/16 Edition)

Happy belated #BookBday to these new titles on shelves now:

ABSALOM’S DAUGHTERS by Suzanne Feldman
Two half-sisters, one black and one white, embark on a risky road trip through the 1950s Jim Crow South in this spellbinding story of identity and race. “A searing and magical debut by a monumental new talent.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BIG SHEEP by Robert Kroese
Sherlock meets Blade Runner in this novel that explores society’s fascination with celebrity in a futuristic dystopic LA, with a genetically modified sheep in the center of it all. “Fans of Sherlock Holmes and Douglas Adams’s ‘Dirk Gently’ novels will find things to love in Kroese’s latest.” — Library Journal, starred review

THE LIFE OF THE WORLD TO COME by Dan Cluchey
A love story told slantwise featuring a heartbroken (and slightly neurotic) young lawyer, an ethereal soap actress, a prisoner on death row, and a dog named Rafael Uribe Uribe. “A good suggestion for readers looking for something a little bit different.” — Booklist

THE HOUSE BY THE LAKE: One House, Five Families, and a Hundred Years of German History by Thomas Harding
An intimate and revelatory history of Germany, told over a tumultuous century through the lives of the different families that lived in one house. “This personal saga centered on a family home will appeal to enthusiasts of German history, especially post-World War II division and reunification.” — Library Journal

Happy Belated #BookBday (2/17/16 Edition)

We’re a day late to wish these new releases a happy #BookBday, but it’s only to keep the party going:

HIDE by Matthew Griffin
A March 2016 Indie Next pick and an ABA Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2016 selection! Griffin’s forceful debut novel examines the lives of two men who meet and fall in love in North Carolina shortly after the end of World War II. “A bittersweet portrait of love in the shadows.” — Booklist, starred review

WE’VE ALREADY GONE THIS FAR by Patrick Dacey
An ABA Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2016 selection! “In this debut collection, Dacey offers 13 interlocking stories documenting the lives, loves, and trials of the citizens of Wequaquet, Massachusetts. Readers will find this set of mournful, biting, and resonant tales united not only by geography but also by Dacey’s deep humanity towards his flawed characters.” — Booklist

WHAT LIES BETWEEN US by Nayomi Munaweera
A BuzzFeed Books 2016 Pick! From the award-winning author of ISLAND OF A THOUSAND MIRRORS comes the confession of a woman, driven by the demons of her past to commit a single and possibly unforgivable crime. “Writing with the same tantalizing prose that captured readers in her debut novel, Munaweera explores the relationship of mothers and daughters, tradition, honor, and sacrifice, with beautiful and devastating results.” — Booklist, starred review

css.php