Articles tagged "Before I Burn"

Happy #BookBday (1/7/14 Edition)

It's our first #BookBday of the new year! We couldn't be more proud of these new releases:

RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah
This lyrical, haunting novel about a village trying to reclaim peace after war is a January Indie Next pick and is getting tons of media attention from the Washington Post, the New York Times Book Review, USA Today, TIME magazine, People magazine, NPR's "Morning Edition," "The Colbert Report," Shelf Awareness, and much more. Don't miss your chance to hear Beah speak at ALA Midwinter 2014 in Philadelphia!

THE EXILES RETURN by Elisabeth de Waal
Set in the ashes of post-World War II Vienna, de Waal's stunning novel follows a number of exiles, each coming to terms with a city in painful recovery. "De Waal’s acid, eyewitness drama of malignant prejudice, innocence betrayed, the disintegration of the old order, and love transcendent has the same jolting immediacy as the novels of Iréne Némorisky as well as deeply archetypal dimensions. Another de Waal triumph of illumination." – Booklist

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
Heivoll's "thrilling and poetic novel" (Booklist, starred review) that "reads like a top-tier crime story" (Publishers Weekly, starred and boxed review) was inspired by a real-life arson spree that deeply affected him as he grew up in Norway. You'll see another rave review in the January issue of Harper's magazine, with more attention to come from the New York Times Book Review, the Wall Street Journal, the Boston Globe, the Chicago Tribune, the L.A. Times, and NPR's "Weekend All Things Considered."

DREAMS OF THE GOLDEN AGE by Carrie Vaughn
In this "worthy, rich and thoughtful sequel" (Booklist) to AFTER THE GOLDEN AGE, Celia West is now a mother and a powerful businesswoman who works hard to keep her city and her daughters Anna and Bethy safe. Meanwhile Anna and her friends are practicing to become a team of vigilante superheroes–something that comes to good use when Celia discovers a new archvillain, the Executive.

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: January LibraryReads titles

With the Thanksgiving holiday fast approaching, many of us are busy making lists. Grocery lists for the big meal, shopping lists for those Black Friday and Small Business Saturday sales, who's been naughty and who's been nice (OK, we didn't write that one)... Here's our list of new books we think are great, just in time for the January LibraryReads nomination deadline of December 1:

RADIANCE OF TOMORROW by Ishmael Beah
From the author of A LONG WAY GONE comes a “formidable and memorable novel” (Publishers Weekly) about a village trying to reclaim peace after war. “Beah, who broke our hearts with the haunting memoir of his life as a boy soldier, will render readers speechless with the radiance of his storytelling in this novel of grace, forgiveness, and a vision of a tomorrow without conflict." – Library Journal, starred review

THE LAST ENCHANTMENTS by Charles Finch
In this contemporary update of BRIDESHEAD REVISITED, William Baker is a recent graduate of Yale who embarks on a life-changing year at Oxford, complete with unexpected friendships and a romance with a beautiful and enigmatic woman. "In prose that glides effortlessly from scene to scene, Finch captures the fleeting time in people’s lives when their every decision, from career to lover, seems freighted with eternal consequence. Highly recommended for all collections." – Library Journal, starred review

THE ORPHAN CHOIR by Sophie Hannah
Sophie Hannah writes taut, psychological suspense novels and her latest takes domestic horror to a new level. Louise Beeston is haunted by choral music only she can hear. Hoping to find some peace, Louise convinces her husband, Stuart, to buy them a country house in an idyllic, sun-dappled community, but the new home brings her anything but that. Louise starts to suspect that this sinister choir is not only real, but a warning. But of what? “Absolutely haunting, in every sense of the word.” – Booklist

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
Heivoll's novel is inspired by a real-life arson spree that deeply affected him as he grew up in Norway. It's already received two starred reviews–Publishers Weekly called it, "A compulsively readable novel about identity and the increasingly blurred line between art and reality" and Booklist said, "Fans of IN COLD BLOOD and THE DEVIL IN THE WHITE CITY will appreciate the chilling true-crime angle, while Heivoll’s dazzling prose will quickly enchant those unfamiliar with this Scandinavian writer. An absorbing story of compulsion, obsession, and the power of desire."

For more January LibraryReads title suggestions, view our collection on Edelweiss. Happy reading and happy nominating!

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (11/7/13 Edition)

We've got a jam packed #ThrillerThursday for you today:

AN OLD BETRAYAL by Charles Finch
In the seventh book of Finch’s bestselling Victorian mystery series, a case of mistaken identity has Charles Lenox playing for his highest stakes yet: the safety of Queen Victoria herself. Booklist called it, “A fine addition to this impressive series.” 

THE RAVEN'S EYE by Barry Maitland
Maitland's latest in his DCI David Brock and DI Kathy Kolla of Scotland Yard series hit #8 on the November LibraryReads list! "Great recommendation for fans of Ruth Rendell, Elizabeth George, early Martha Grimes and Deborah Crombie.” —Janet Lockhart, Wake County Public Libraries, Cary NC

THE GOOD BOY by Theresa Schwegel
In Edgar Award–winner Schwegel's new "nail-biter" (Publishers Weekly), a young boy witnesses a shooting and goes on the run with the only friend he trusts—his dad's police dog.

A NASTY PIECE OF WORK by Robert Littell
Espionage writer Littell turns his talent to crime fiction in a novel that's "Brainy when it needs to be, arch at every conceivable opportunity and good-natured.” — Kirkus Reviews

BEFORE I BURN by Gaute Heivoll
Heivoll's novel is inspired by a real-life arson spree that deeply affected him as he grew up in Norway. In a starred, boxed review, Publishers Weekly called it, "A compulsively readable novel about identity and the increasingly blurred line between art and reality."

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib. readmoreremove
css.php