Articles tagged "BEA Shout n Share"

Librarians “Shout ‘n Share” Their Favorite BEA 2015 Picks!

Last Friday we rounded out a terrific BEA 2015 with the annual Shout ‘n Share panel. Here’s what your librarian pals found on the show floor to rave about:

Columbus Metropolitan Library’s Robin Nesbitt kicked it off with some genre love, highlighting THE TRAITOR BARU CORMORANT by Seth Dickinson (“It’s like THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS meets GUNS, GERMS, AND STEEL!”) and Sarah Ward’s debut mystery, IN BITTER CHILL, which she said is perfect for fans of Louise Penny, Sharon Bolton, and Elizabeth George.

New York Public Library/Bookops’s Charlene Rue was captivated by Damon Tweedy’s medical memoir, BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT, which was also a BEA Editor’s Buzz pick.

Massachusetts Library System’s Kristi Chadwick loved Elsa Hart’s historical mystery debut about an exiled librarian, JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN. “The language, the prose is so beautiful it takes you into the story and keeps you going page after page.” She also gave two enthusiastic thumbs up for Jenny Lawson’s humorous memoir of mental illness, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, saying, “she knows how to hit the heart and make sure you know you’re not alone if you’re struggling with this.”

Baltimore County Public Library’s Jamie Watson tweeted that if she had more time she would have called out Maggie Mitchell’s PRETTY IS.

Library Journal‘s Wilda Williams shared that reading THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black “will make you want to lock all the doors in your house,” and she revealed that Saul Black is a pseudonym for bestselling author Glen Duncan, who wrote THE LAST WEREWOLF. She also recommended THE MARK AND THE VOID by Paul Murray, noting that “it has the same humor, warmth and pathos as SKIPPY DIES.”

From the floor, Michael Santangelo of Brooklyn Public Library gave a shout out to THE BURGLAR’S GUIDE TO THE CITY by Geoff Manaugh.

Curious about other buzzworthy books? Check out Publishers Weekly‘s recap of the AAP Librarian’s Book Buzz, Part 2 which includes a photo of Anne and our other library marketing pals!

BEA 2015 – Friday Events

BEA_Librarian_LogoIt’s the final day of BookExpo America and we’ve got all the buzz on books. Don’t miss these final events and get yer paws on the last hot Macmillan galleys in our booth (#3056-3057).

The AAP’s Annual Librarians Book Buzz, Part II
2:00-3:30pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Come hear Anne Spieth highlight her favorite forthcoming Macmillan titles at this very popular annual Publishers Book Buzz!

The 7th Annual Librarian Shout ‘n Share
3:30-5:00pm
Javits Convention Center | Room 1E14

Join librarians as they sound off on their favorite exhibit floor reads, and other upcoming works they are looking forward to sharing with their patrons. Wilda Williams, Fiction Editor, Library Journal moderates this year’s Shout N Sharers: Kristi Chadwick, Advisor, Small Libraries Massachusetts Library System; Charlene Rue, Acting Director of BookOps, New York & Brooklyn Public Libraries; Jamie Watson, Collection Development Coordinator, Baltimore County Public Library; Jennifer Dayton, Collection Development Manager, Darien Library; and Robin Nesbitt, Collection Development, Columbus Public Library.

Macmillan Galley Giveaways and Author Signings – Friday (Booth #3056-3057):
9:00am Galley Giveaway: WILBERFORCE by H.S. Cross (FSG)
9:30am Giveaway: Macmillan Audio Beach Reads tote bags
10:00am Galley and Advance Listening Copy Giveaway: EVERYBODY RISE by Stephanie Clifford (SMP/Macmillan Audio)
10:30am Galley Giveaway: TENACITY by James Law (Holt)
11:30am In-Booth Signing: Rainbow Rowell (FANGIRL, Special Edition, Griffin)
11:30am Galley Giveaway: DREAM THINGS TRUE by Marie Marquardt (Griffin)
1:30pm In-Booth Signing: Helen Phillips (THE BEAUTIFUL BUREAUCRAT, Holt)
2:00pm Galley Giveaway: FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson (Flatiron)

readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (10/7/14 Edition)

BdayCat

Books + Birthdays + Cake + Kitties = Happy #BookBday (and happy Talia & Anne)!
Today we celebrate:

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author Robinson has created a “tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy. It’s a National Book Award nominee, an October Indie Next pick, and has two starred reviews and a major media line-up.

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. “A story of redemption, paranoia, and the power of shared bonds, THE SILENT SISTER is a powerful and thrilling novel. This tautly paced and emotionally driven novel will engross Chamberlain’s many fans as well as those who read Sandra Brown and Carla Buckley.” — Booklist

NIGHT BLINDNESS by Susan Strecker
Another October Indie Next pick and a BEA Shout ‘n Share selection is Strecker’s debut novel about a woman who returns home to take care of her ill father but is haunted by a horrible accident from her past. “Debut novelist Strecker presents an impressive story filled with moving characters and the raw emotions they go through.” — Library Journal

 

Sneak Peek: Oct. 2014 Indie Next list

The October 2014 Indie Next list was recently announced and it includes some of our favorite Macmillan titles!

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy. It’s been nominated for the 2014 National Book Award in fiction, has two starred reviews, and is one of Kirkus Reviews‘ Most Anticipated Fall Novels!

WOLF IN WHITE VAN by John Darnielle
Another 2014 National Book Award fiction nominee is indie rocker John Darnielle’s debut novel WOLF IN WHITE VAN, in which a disfigured teen gamer is pulled back through time as he tries to help others. “Beautifully written psychological fiction for sophisticated readers, with not much else like it out there.”
Library Journal
readmoreremove

B&N Fall 2014 Discover Picks

Barnes & Noble recently announced their Fall 2014 selections for the Discover Great New Writers program and several Macmillan titles made the cut!

FIVES AND TWENTY FIVES by Michael Pitre
We can’t stop talking about former marine Pitre’s deeply affecting debut novel about three men from a road repair platoon in Iraq and the struggles they face in the war and at home. In addition to the Discover pick, it’s a Library Journal Best Summer Debut, was selected for the “Summer/Fall Indies Introduce Promotion” at BEA, and was a featured Maximum Shelf Awareness title. “A war novel with a voice all its own, this will stand as one of the definitive renderings of the Iraq experience.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE PLOUGHMEN by Kim Zupan
Library Journal‘s Douglas “Books for Dudes” Lord was really excited at BEA’s “Shout ‘n Share” about this gritty Western mystery in which a young sheriff and a hardened killer form an uneasy and complicated bond. “A fascinating first novel that examines the complexities of two men, opposites in every way, whose lives nevertheless intertwine. With such a strong debut, Zupan’s literary future looks exceptionally promising.” — Library Journal

CATARACT CITY by Craig Davidson
Childhood friends pursue lives on opposite sides of the law in this sweeping literary crime novel from Davidson (RUST AND BONE). “…the characters, audacious sweep of the story, and propulsive noir writing make this novel a standout.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE DOG: Stories by Jack Livings
Livings’ debut collection of stories set in the shifting landscape of contemporary China explores the country’s cultural and social fault lines, revealing a nation accustomed to rations, bitter struggle, and the stranglehold of communism as it confronts a generation rife with the promise of unforeseen prosperity. “Though Livings works as a journalist, his fiction shows a whole lot more than moonlighting potential.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October LibraryReads titles

Download, read, and nominate our favorite titles now for the October 2014* LibraryReads list!
*Nominations are due September 1

LILA by Marilynne Robinson
Pulitzer Prize-winning author “Robinson has created a tour de force” (Booklist, starred review) with the final volume in her Gilead trilogy, LILA. It’s already received two starred reviews and has a major media line-up.

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

FULL MEASURE by T. Jefferson Parker
Parker, a three-time Edgar Award winner, delivers an exceptional, insightful, and contemporary stand-alone literary novel. Fans of the author’s crime novels and Tim O’Brien’s war novels will enjoy this story, which highlights the impact of war on a community. In addition, Steinbeck fans will appreciate the description of the setting and intricate plot.” Library Journal, starred review

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

MURDER AT THE BRIGHTWELL by Ashley Weaver
We love this Golden Age–style debut from librarian Weaver featuring a spunky heiress, an eccentric group of British aristocrats on holiday at an exquisite seaside resort, and a MURDER. Bryant Library’s Janet Schneider loved it too: “Great beach reading. Sort of a Dorothy L Sayers/Downton Abbey combo.”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS by Keith Donohue
If you were at Library Journal‘s Day of Dialog you heard Picador’s publisher Stephen Morrison talk about this creepy horror novel about a young boy whose drawings of monsters take on a life of their own. Dominique Jenkins of Penguin Library Marketing is OBSESSED: “Have you guys read THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS? Holy WOW!”

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

 

THE SILENT SISTER by Diane Chamberlain
A longtime best-selling author who got even wider attention with last year’s NECESSARY LIES, Chamberlain returns with the story of a sister’s shocking discovery. Riley McPherson had always been told that her sister committed suicide, but when she cleans out her deceased father’s house, she discovers that Lisa is alive and hiding under an assumed identity. What dark events led to Riley’s having ‘a silent sister’?” Library Journal, pre-pub alert

download review copy edelweiss

  Download a copy from Edelweiss

readmoreremove

css.php