Articles tagged "BEA 2015 Shout ‘N Share selection"

Thriller Thursday (10/1/15 Edition)

Check out these #ThrillerThursday goodies from a rookie and a vet:

IN BITTER CHILL by Sarah Ward
libraryreads logo squareAn October 2015 LibraryReads pick and a BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A story of loss, family secrets, and how the darkest truths are often hidden nearest to you, this page-turning debut is perfect for fans of Sharon Bolton and Louise Penny. “Ward skillfully weaves a compelling plot in this police procedural with a genealogical bent. An accomplished debut by a writer to watch.” — Booklist

THE COMPANY SHE KEPT by Archer Mayor
In his 26th(!) case, Vermont Bureau of Investigation field force commander Joe Gunther investigate the murder of a politician who had several secrets to hide. “This is another fine entry in a series that has been engaging crime devotees for more than a quarter century.” — Booklist

What’s tingling your spine this #ThrillerThursday?

Thriller Thursday (9/23/15 Edition)

Serial killers, a bolt gun (hello NO COUNTRY FOR OLD MEN!) and a horse race, all play important parts in today’s #ThrillerThursday mysteries:

THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection, an Entertainment Weekly Fall Books pick, and FOUR STARRED pre-pub reviews for this “raw and utterly readable” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review) thriller about a traveling pair of serial killers, the 10-year-old witness who survived, and the detective obsessed with solving the murders. “Shockingly good writing… It’s impossible not to be swept away by its propulsive momentum. By shifting the narrative point of view, Black allows us to peer into the depths of his many richly developed characters, from the surprisingly complex killers and their dedicated hunters to the supporting players who pop up only to be ruthlessly disposed of.” — New York Times Book Review

THE SLAUGHTER MAN by Tony Parsons
London detective Max Wolfe knows he has a daughter and dog waiting for him at home. What he doesn’t know is that someone else is there too. “Haunting and moving aren’t words usually used to describe blood-soaked tales of madness and murder. Especially when the death weapon is a bolt gun of the kind slaughterhouses use to blast metal nubs into animals’ brains. But those words apply here because Parsons’ novel has startling emotional power, the result of brooding poetry gliding across a propulsive narrative. A remarkable novel on multiple levels.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

A FURIOUSLY HAPPY BookBday!

Today we send Texas-sized #BookBday wishes to Jenny “The Bloggess” Lawson and FURIOUSLY HAPPY!

It’s a September 2015 LibraryReads pick, an October 2015 Indie Next pick, an ALA 2015 “Read ‘n Rave” pick, and a BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection…and that was all the stuff before the book went on sale. The media is crazy for Jenny’s book like Rory is crazy about being on the cover:

“In her second memoir, bestseller Lawson embraces the odd, writing in hilarious, poignant detail about her lifelong struggle with anxiety and depression.” People Magazine, a Best Books of Fall pick

The Bloggess proves again to be a Texas treasure. For every tough moment there are three (or five or eight) times you will laugh, or if you’re a big old grump, smile, and wish the Lawsons would move in next to you.” — The Houston Chronicle

“Lawson can be rather direct and, like many weapons-grade humorists, the more raw she is, the funnier she gets.” — Austin American Statesmen

A Kirkus Reviews 10 Funny and Fast Reads pick (“Kudos to Lawson for being a flagrant and witty spokesperson for this dark subject matter.”)

The Washington Post Q&A: “Jenny Lawson on FURIOUSLY HAPPY and when it is okay to call her ‘crazy.’”

Bustle: “5 Ways To Be As Furiously Happy As Jenny Lawson, The Bloggess”

Much more to come, including NPR’s “Here and Now,” Elle, Health, Cosmopolitan, Glamour, and Texas Monthly, to name a few.

Did we mention you’re invited to Jenny’s virtual book party happening tonight at 7pm EST? You should come. It’s gonna be a blast!

Furiously Happy Book Party Invite

Sneak Peek: October 2015 Indie Next List

indie nextThe October 2015 Indie Next list includes two Macmillan titles!

GOD’S KINGDOM by Howard Frank Mosher
A young man comes of age—and uncovers his family’s deepest secret in the little known mountains of northern Vermont by the Canadian border. “No Catcher in the Rye angst here. Instead you’ll find a welcome dose of nostalgic realism laced with hard-edged wisdom.” — Kirkus Reviews

FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson
A September 2015 LibraryReads pick, an ALA Annual “Read ‘n Rave” selection, and a BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson (“The Bloggess”) examines her own experience with severe depression and a host of other conditions, and explains how it has led her to live life in the fullest in this hilarious memoir. “Kudos to Lawson for being a flagrant and witty spokesperson for this dark subject matter.” — Kirkus Reviews

Happy #BookBday (9/8/15 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to these new books on shelves now!

BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection, an ALA Annual 2015 “Read ‘n Rave” selection, a September 2015 Indie Next pick AND a Barnes & Noble Fall 2015 Discover Great New Writers pick! “Tweedy, an African American psychiatrist at Duke University, expertly weaves together statistics, personal anecdotes, and patient stories to explain why ‘being black can be bad for your health.’ In all, a smart, thought-provoking, frontline look at race and medicine.” — Booklist, starred review

FEAR OF DYING by Erica Jong
The iconic, bestselling author delivers the sequel to her groundbreaking novel, FEAR OF FLYING. “Flashy, flip, and hilarious as well as smart and wise… Jong has created such an extraordinary direct and intimate narrative voice, one almost forgets that this bravura performance is a work of fiction. Jong is a beacon for several generations of readers, and her first novel in more than a decade will garner much excitement.”Booklist, starred review

THE PERFECT COMEBACK OF CAROLINE JACOBS by Matthew Dicks
When Caroline Jacobs decides to finally assert herself—by aiming a four-letter word at the PTO president—she realizes that the root of her outburst could be traced back to a public betrayal by her best friend, Emily, during high school. Together with her daughter, Caroline decides to go back to her home town and tell off her childhood friend…some twenty-five years later. “Dicks’s fourth novel is for anyone who has wished they’d stood up for themselves or delivered that perfect comeback at just the right time.” — Library Journal
readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: September 2015 Indie Next List

sept indie nextThe September 2015 Indie Next list includes 5 Macmillan titles!

SWEET CARESS by William Boyd
From the internationally bestselling author of Restless and Any Human Heart comes a novel of one photographer’s extraordinary career—a tale of love and war in the twentieth century. “In addition to the psychologically rich characterization, a wealth of atmospheric details—what the characters wear, the brands of cigarettes they smoke, and the whisky they knock back—add depth, immediacy, and authenticity to an engrossing, moving story of Amory’s turns of fortune.”
Publishers Weekly

EVERYBODY RISE by Stephanie Clifford
An August 2015 LibraryReads pick! Lying your way to the top of the social strata has devastating consequences for Evelyn Beegan, a 26-year-old desperate for a “better life” even if it’s a lie in this debut novel of class, ambition and ultimately spectacular ruin. “A compulsive, up-close-and-personal read about the first cracks in the greed-and-bleed U.S. economy that went flying off the rails so spectacularly a short time later.” — Library Journal, starred review

JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A stunning, lyrical debut mystery in which an exiled librarian traveling through the 18th-century Chinese/Tibetan borderlands must learn the truth about a Jesuit priest’s death before the Emperor arrives. “Hart’s sure command of historical complexities, conflicts between cultures, and plot twists leads to a satisfying conclusion.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: September 2015 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles now for the September 2015* LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due July 20! Click here for the full list of 2015 deadlines.

BLACK MAN IN A WHITE COAT by Damon Tweedy
A BEA 2015 Editor’s Buzz & “Shout ‘n Share” selection!An arresting memoir that personalizes the enduring racial divide in contemporary American medicine. In this unsparingly honest chronicle, Tweedy cohesively illuminates the experiences of black doctors and black patients and reiterates the need for improved understanding of racial differences within global medical communities.” — Kirkus Reviews

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

JADE DRAGON MOUNTAIN by Elsa Hart
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! A stunning, lyrical debut mystery in which an exiled librarian traveling through the 18th-century Chinese/Tibetan borderlands must learn the truth about a Jesuit priest’s death before the Emperor arrives.

download review copy edelweissDownload a copy from Edelweiss

FURIOUSLY HAPPY by Jenny Lawson
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson (“The Bloggess”) examines her own experience with severe depression and a host of other conditions, and explains how it has led her to live life in the fullest in this hilarious memoir. “Kudos to Lawson for being a flagrant and witty spokesperson for this dark subject matter.” — Kirkus Reviews

Galleys are available at ALA Annual 2015 in San Francisco (Macmillan Adult booth #1009).

THE KILLING LESSONS by Saul Black
A BEA 2015 “Shout ‘n Share” selection! In this extraordinary, pulse-pounding debut, Saul Black takes us deep into the mind of a psychopath, and into the troubled heart of the woman determined to stop him.

Download a copdownload review copy edelweissy from Edelweiss readmoreremove

css.php