Articles tagged "August 2018 Indie Next pick"

Happy #BookBday (8/7/18 Edition)

We’ve got a BIG #BookBday today (so, extra cake, right??):

MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
An August 2018 LibraryReads & Indie Next pick and one of Library Journal’s Best Summer 2018 Debuts! For readers of THE GUERNSEY LITERARY AND POTATO PEEL PIE SOCIETY, an epistolary debut novel about a farmer’s wife who begins writing letters to a museum curator and, as he writes back, gradually allows herself to find happiness and love again. “This is the kind of book you clutch to your heart when you finish and sigh with contentment.” — Kelly Moore, Adult Services Librarian, Carrollton Public Library, TX

RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
An August 2018 LibraryReads pick with two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

THE THIRD HOTEL by Laura van den Berg
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! A magical, disconcerting novel set in Havana about a woman reckoning with the death of her husband. “Toying with horror tropes and conventions, and displaying shades of authors such as Julio Cortázar, van den Berg turns Clare’s journey into a dreamlike exploration of grief. This is a potent novel about life, death, and the afterlife.” — Publishers Weekly

ARAB OF THE FUTURE 3: The Circumcision Years: A Childhood in the Middle East, 1985-1987 by Riad Sattouf
Two starred reviews! “An excellent addition to a series that for years to come is sure to engage readers of history as seen through a child’s eyes. ” — Library Journal, starred review

SMOTHERED by Autumn Chiklis
Also available in trade paperback
A humorous debut novel about what happens when entering the “real world” means moving back in with your mother, inspired by actress and celebrity Autumn Chiklis’ real life. “Hilarious… Perfect for recent grads, mother–daughter duos, and those looking for a fun read this summer. All the heart eye emojis!” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

THE MIDDLEMAN Signed Giveaway

New York Times bestselling author Olen Steinhauer‘s newest standalone thriller, THE MIDDLEMAN, follows the people on all sides of a domestic terrorist group, from the group’s converts to the FBI agents investigating them.

THE MIDDLEMAN is an August 2018 Indie Next pick, has two starred reviews, and one lucky librarian has a chance to win a signed copy!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Middleman) by Sunday, September 2, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address (read on for the fine print).

UPDATE 9/4/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winner, Evelyn Hershkowitz, Readers’ Services Librarian, Syosset Public Library, Syosset NY!

“Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Steinhauer is a master at layering gray upon gray, motive upon motive…. Another must-read from a modern master.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (7/17/18 Edition)

Happy #ThrillerThursday to an outstanding new debut and two series favorites:

BABY TEETH by Zoje Stage
Also available in audio
A July 2018 LibraryReads pick, an August 2018 Indie Next Pick, an LJ Best Summer 2018 Debut, and one of PW’s Best Books of Summer 2018 / Most Anticipated Debuts with THREE starred reviews! “WE NEED TO TALK ABOUT KEVIN meets GONE GIRL meets THE OMEN. Interested? That might be the best way to describe Zoje Stage’s highly anticipated debut novel, BABY TEETHa twisty, delirious read that will constantly question your sympathies for the two characters as their bond continues to crumble.” Entertainment Weekly

DOUBLE BLIND by Iris Johansen & Roy Johansen
When a body bearing an envelope marked with her name is recovered near her home, Kendra Michaels is eager to investigate a crime that could have personal implications. “Satisfying… Magnetic characters and a twisty, suspenseful plot ensure that readers will eagerly anticipate the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (7/17/18 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to two terrific new novels:

THE FAMILY TABOR by Cherise Wolas
An August 2018 Indie Next pick! Wolas’s new novel is set over the course of a single weekend, as five members of a family confront the lies upon which their lives are built. “Wolas, whose much-acclaimed debut novel, THE RESURRECTION OF JOAN ASHBY, earned countless well-deserved accolades, once again writes with gorgeous intensity about the strata of loving relationships that entwine families in all their messy contradictions that often stubbornly resist transparency, the truth, and resolution. Savor this. ” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

Jones, Greenwood, and Youngson are August 2018 LibraryReads Picks!

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has THREE books on the August 2018 LibraryReads list!

Debuting at #6 is THE OTHER WOMAN by Sandie Jones
Emily chose Adam, but she didn’t choose his mother Pammie. There’s nothing a mother wouldn’t do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever. “Pammie is every young woman’s worst nightmare: a mean mother-in-law (on steroids) in this addictive debut thriller. Readers’ pulses will race as they anticipate how she might strike next and be completely knocked off balance by the shocking ending. ” — Library Journal, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio on August 21.

The #7 pick is RUST & STARDUST by T. Greenwood
Two starred reviews! Based on the experiences of real-life kidnapping victim Sally Horner and her captor, this heart-pounding novel by award-winning author T. Greenwood at last gives a voice to Sally herself. “This fictionalization of the 1948 kidnapping said to have inspired Nabokov’s LOLITA lures readers in with a disturbing hook: the dangers of innocence. This is a beautifully written, unnerving tragedy woven from equal measures of hope and menace.” — Booklist, starred review

Available from St. Martin’s Press on August 7. readmoreremove

css.php