Articles tagged "April 2017 Indie Next pick"

Friday Reads: Science & Medicine

Today’s #FridayReads delve into the miracles of modern medicine and the Ebola epidemic:

MERCIES IN DISGUISE: A Story of Hope, a Family’s Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them by Gina Kolata
An April 2017 Indie Next pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017! In this work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, New York Times science reporter Kolata follows a family through genetic illness and one courageous daughter who decides her fate shall no longer be decided by a genetic flaw. “Kolata delivers an inspiring chronicle of a remarkable family, medical advances, and redefining destiny.” — Booklist

INFERNO: A Doctor’s Ebola Story by Steven Hatch, M.D.
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2017 with three starred reviews! “Hatch, a physician and assistant professor of medicine at the University of Massachusetts Medical School, rivetingly recounts his work in an Ebola treatment unit in Liberia at the height of the deadly West African outbreak in 2014–2015. Hatch’s chronicle is a compassionate, clear-eyed, and courageous account of how compassionate medical care proves a formidable force against the ravages of Ebola.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Share your #FridayReads with us @MacmillanLib. Happy weekend!

FOUR STARS for MARLENA!

With FOUR phenomenal starred reviews and tons of acclaim, Julie Buntin’s MARLENA is the electric debut novel of 2017 you’ve been looking for!
A Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick
One of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts
An April 2017 Indie Next pick

“In Buntin’s vivid debut, Cath, now a New York City public librarian in her thirties, tells the story of the friendship that changed her forever. Though Cath tells her story in flashbacks, Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

“In her impressive debut novel, Buntin displays a remarkable control of tone and narrative arc. Buntin is particularly sensitive to the misery of adolescent angst, and Cat’s growing happiness in Marlena’s friendship runs like an electric wire through the narrative. The novel is poignant and unforgettable, a sustained eulogy for Marlena’s ‘glow… that lives in lost things, that sets apart the gone forever.’” Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Sensitive and smart and arrestingly beautiful, debut novelist Buntin’s tale of the friendship between two girls in the woods of Northern Michigan makes coming-of-age stories feel both urgent and new. Devastating; as unforgettable as it is gorgeous.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Buntin perfectly captures a burning and essential friendship with lasting consequences and that terrible moment when we make a wrong turn and can’t go back. An exceptional portrait, disturbing and precisely observed; highly recommended.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

css.php