Articles tagged "Apple"

Friday Reads: Business

We’re getting down to business (books) with our #FridayReads!

DEAR FOUNDER: Letters of Advice for Anyone Who Leads, Manages, or Wants to Start a Business by Maynard Webb & Carlye Adler, with contributions by Howard Schultz
Also available in audio
A collection of more than eighty thoughtful, wise, and wide-ranging letters from Webb to entrepreneurs on an array of business topics: how to hire your first employees, how to build and manage culture, how to raise money, how to set and reach goals, how to scale, and how to think about legacy. “Webb’s well-aimed advice will undoubtedly prove a valuable asset for many a future founder during the building and growth of a new organization.” — Publishers Weekly

CREATIVE SELECTION: Inside Apple’s Design Process During the Golden Age of Steve Jobs by Ken Kocienda
An insider’s tale of creativity and innovation at Apple during the golden years of Steve Jobs, CREATIVE SELECTION shows readers how a small group of people developed an evolutionary design model, and how they used this methodology to make groundbreaking and intuitive software which countless millions use every day. CREATIVE SELECTION is simply the best book I’ve read so far about Apple.” — Vector with Rene Ritchie Podcast
readmoreremove

Memorial Day Weekend 2017 Reading Roundup

Memorial Day weekend is here (hooray!) and we’re stacking our to-read piles with these major media-recommended books:
Entertainment Weekly — Summer’s Must-Read Books

BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki
Cartoonist Tamaki dazzles with her impressive range in this collection, marrying each short story to a different artistic style. Whether she’s writing and drawing about the pitfalls of technology or ruminating on nostalgia, her work is lush, vibrant, and packed with emotion.

LIFE IN CODE by Ellen Ullman
Ullman, a computer programmer since the ’70s, expands on the themes she covered in 1997’s CLOSE TO THE MACHINE with pieces about what it was like on the forefront of the tech revolution, being a woman in a male-donimated industry, and how the tech landscape has (and hasn’t) changed.

THE PEOPLE WE HATE AT THE WEDDING by Grant Ginder
In Ginder’s glitzy beach read, things spiral out of control in the days leading up to a wedding as a charmingly dysfunctional family—brimming with oddball stepsiblings—does everything it can to sabotage the nuptials.

The New York TimesSummer Reading Recommendations, From Novelists Who Own Bookstores

Jonathan Lethem, author of A GAMBLER’S ANATOMY & owner of Red Gap Books, a used and rare bookstore in Blue Hill, ME recommends BROKEN RIVER by J. Robert Lennon
“It’s a tense, surprising thriller, with perverse overtones of the Coen brothers variety, but containing an enigmatic narrative device, a kind of ‘haunting of the point-of-view’ – one which proves, as ever, that the novel can do things nothing but the novel can do. I’m almost ready to reread it.”

Jeff Kinney, author of the bestselling “Diary of a Wimpy Kid” series and owner of An Unlikely Story in Plainville, MA recommends RADICAL CANDOR by Kim Scott (“Scott’s experiences leading teams at Google and Apple led to this book, which espouses a workplace culture where leaders care deeply about their employees and challenge them to be their best selves.”) and BORNE by Jeff VanderMeer (“The cover alone had me hooked. Is the protagonist a plant? An animal? Something in between?”).

Louise Erdrich, author of LAROSE & owner of Birchbark Books in Minneapolis, MN recommends THE SONG POET by Kao Kalia Yang
“The exquisite story of Kao Kalia Yang’s father, village life, war life, refugee life, then a St. Paul housing project; America’s secret war in Laos; and a people’s history as sung by Bee Yang and remembered in fascinating and poetic detail by his daughter.”

Buzzfeed’s “Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer

IT’S ALWAYS THE HUSBAND by Michele Campbell
Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession. Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny were inseparable in college. 20 years later, one of them is found dead. How did it come to this? Alternating between their college years and the present day, readers slowly come to realize that their friendship was anything but perfect. But can feelings that strong really lead to murder, or will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband? Only one way for you to find out… readmoreremove

Graphic Novels Galore!

Bam! Pow! Zowie! Make room on your library’s shelves for these new and forthcoming graphic novels:

THE ABOMINABLE MR. SEABROOK by Joe Ollmann
Two starred reviews! “Comprising 10 years of painstaking research, this graphic biography details the life of obscure writer, occultist, traveler, and bondage fanatic William Seabrook… As both a narrative and a story in pictures, this is an early candidate for the year’s best graphic biography.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

TERMS AND CONDITIONS by R. Sikoryak
“This multilevel graphic novel takes the actual texts of the terms and conditions of iTunes and translates them into comics form in the styles of a who’s who of comics–here Peanuts, there The Sandman, Dilbert, Adventure Time, and a hundred more–all narrated by Steve Jobs. Sikoryak is an undeniably talented artist with a keen ability to capture different styles, as well as a sly conceptual satirist and prankster.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

GRIM DEATH AND BILL THE ELECTROCUTED CRIMINAL by Mike Mignola & Thomas E. Sniegoski
“In this eerie illustrated horror novel set in an unspecified American city during the early days of the Great Depression, author Sniegoski and author and artist Mignola combine words and black-and-white illustrations to creepy effect in the tale of a man who has been given a new life, with a twist. Mignola and Sniegoski have created a comic book–style character who rights wrongs in a sinister, hair-raisingly enjoyable way, with an open ending that leaves room for more episodes.” — Publishers Weekly

FIRE!! THE ZORA NEALE HURSTON STORY by Peter Bagge
A bold retelling of the life of Zora Neale Hurston, from the author of WOMAN REBEL: The Margaret Sanger Story. “Bagge depicts her life in his iconic spaghetti-limbed, cheery-colored cartoon style. It’s easy to see what attracted Bagge to the material: brilliant, outrageous, prone to visions and mysticism yet fiercely pragmatic, Hurston is an irresistible character…” — Publishers Weekly

NEIL GAIMAN’S MR. HERO COMPLETE COMICS VOL. 2 by James Vance, illustrated by Ted Slampyak
Also available in trade paperback. The Mr. Hero saga concludes as Jennifer Hale finally uncovers the mysterious past of the Newmatic Man!

css.php