Articles tagged "Anthony Awards"

2017 Anthony Award Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday! First, congrats to our 2017 Anthony Award nominees:

Best Novel

Best First Novel
DESIGN FOR DYING by Renee Patrick

The winners will be announced at Bouchercon on October 15. Now on to this week’s new mysteries:

PERISH THE DAY by John Farrow
The “excellent”* final volume in Farrow’s Storm Murders trilogy has retired Montreal detective Émile Cinq-Mars investigating a series of murders during a fierce rainstorm at a New Hampshire college campus. “John Verdon fans will be pleased by Farrow’s pitting of his well-rounded lead against a puzzle worthy of the detective’s acuity.” — *Publishers Weekly, starred review

Also available in trade paperback
The sixth book in Runcie’s much-loved series, which has been adapted for ITV’s Grantchester starring James Norton, sees full-time priest, part-time detective Sidney Chambers plunged back into sleuthing when he discovers a body in a bluebell wood. “Superior… Fans of the earlier volumes and the successful TV adaptations will relish the latest chapters in the lives of a richly drawn and diverse cast of characters—and shed some tears along the way.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday – Anthony Award & CWA Dagger in the Library Nominees

Happy #ThrillerThursday! We’ve got several terrific mysteries, but first here’s the scoop on Anthony Award and CWA Dagger in the Library nominees:

The 2015 Anthony Award nominees were announced and they include:

Best Novel
THE LONG WAY HOME by Louise Penny
TRUTH BE TOLD by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First Novel

Winners will be named during Bouchercon in Raleigh, North Carolina, October 8-11. See the full list of nominees here.

Ann Cleeves and Peter James are two of eleven authors who have been longlisted for the 2015 CWA Dagger in the Library Award! The award honors an author’s whole body of work to date, rather than a single title. The shortlist will be revealed on June 8 and the winner will be announced at the CWA Annual Awards dinner on June 30.

Now on to the books! readmoreremove

2014 Anthony Award nominees

Nominees for the 2014 Anthony Awards have been posted and we've got several spine-tingling mysteries on the list! 

Best Novel
THE WRONG GIRL by Hank Phillippi Ryan
THROUGH THE EVIL DAYS by Julia Spencer-Fleming (also a LibraryReads pick!)

Best First Novel

Best Critical or Nonfiction Work
THE HOUR OF PERIL: The Secret Plot To Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower

Winners will be announced at the annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention. Congrats to all nominees! 

Thriller Thursday (9/19/13 Edition)

Today marks the start of Bouchercon, the world’s leading convention for crime fiction writers and their adoring fans. Our own Steve Hamilton is the Toastmaster Guest of Honor and we've got three great books nominated for Anthony Awards:

Anthony Award nominees
Best Novel
THE OTHER WOMAN by Hank Phillippi Ryan

Best First Novel
DON'T EVER GET OLD by Daniel Friedman

Congratulations to the nominees!

UPDATE: a HUGE congratulations to Louise Penny who won the Anthony Award for Best Novel at Bouchercon 2013, this past Saturday, 9/21.  This is Louise Penny’s 4th consecutive and 5th overall Anthony Award!

Now on to our #ThrillerThursday picks:

Once Again Louise Penny Wins the Anthony Award for Best Novel!

This past weekend at Bouchercon, Louise Penny was awarded the Anthony Award for Best Novel for the third year in a row with another exquisite Chief Inspector Gamache novel, A TRICK OF THE LIGHT! In 2011 she won for BURY YOUR DEAD and in 2010 she won for THE BRUTAL TELLING

If you haven't joined the Penny party, it's about time! Robin Nesbitt of the Columbus Metropolitan Library admitted on the library's blog that she only just picked up the first book in the series and very much enjoyed it!

"This is a great read for fans of Agatha Christie.  Great characters, great writing, and good plot - if you haven't read this series yet, give it a try."

A word to new readers: the character and relationship development in these books is beautifully done, but they are all stand-alone mysteries so start with which ever book you can get your hands on!

See the rest of the Anthony Award winners here.


Monday Fun Day! (9/19/2011 Edition)

Welcome to a new week, book lovers!

We have more exciting award news for you straight out of St. Louie. Last week we talked about our enthusiasm with the Barry Award winners and now we have even more to celebrate because both the Macavity Awards and the Anthony Awards were announced!

The 2011 Macmillan Macavity Award winners:
Best Novel: BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny
Best First Novel: ROGUE ISLAND by Bruce DeSilva
Sue Feder Historical Mystery: CITY OF DRAGONS by Kelli Stanley

The 2011 Macmillan Anthony Awards winners (the Best Novel may sound familiar):
Best Novel: BURY YOUR DEAD by Louise Penny
Best First Novel: THE DAMAGE DONE by Hilary Davidson
Best Paperback Original: EXPIRATION DATE by Duane Swierczynski

You can see the full list of 2011 Macavity Award winners and 2011 Anthony Award winners at Lesa's Book Critiques.

Banned Books Week BannerBanned Books Week is just around the corner which means it's time to pull your favorite banned book off the shelf and remember what exactly makes that book important and unbannable to you. We also highly recommend you get involved with ALA's Virtual Read-Out on YouTube.

The Virtual Read-Out information page offers suggestions for the types of videos you can upload to their stream:

1) You can submit a video no more than two minutes long of a reading from a banned or challenged book.

2) A video of an eyewitness account of local challenges can be submitted. This video should be no longer than three minutes long.

Finally, we have to feature a few of these brilliant miniature paper sculptures that are mysteriously appearing in libraries across Edinburgh. Enjoy!

Paper Sculpture readmoreremove

2011 Anthony Award Nominees

Nominees for the 2011 Anthony Awards have been posted and there are some fantastic novels on their list! Look at all these chilling/thrilling/gut-spilling Macmillan titles:

Best Novel
BURY YOUR DEAD, Louise Penny
THE LOCK ARTIST, Steve Hamilton

Best First Novel
DAMAGE DONE, Hilary Davidson

Best Paperback Original
EXPIRATION DATE, Duane Swierczynski

Winners will be announced at the annual Bouchercon World Mystery Convention.