Articles tagged "African American history"

September 2018 Stars!

We’re seeing stars for these forthcoming new books:

EVENING IN PARADISE: More Stories by Lucia Berlin
“Wonderful… Berlin’s writing achieves a dreamy, delightful effect as it provides a look back through time. This collection should further bolster Berlin’s reputation as one of the strongest short story writers of the 20th century.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Blessedly, a second volume with 22 more stories is in no way second rate but rather features more seductive, sparkling autofiction with narrators whose names echo the author’s in settings and situations that come from her roller-coaster biography (which is summarized in an appendix). No dead author is more alive on the page than Berlin: funny, dark, and so in love with the world.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

INVISIBLE: The Forgotten Story of the Black Woman Lawyer Who Took Down America’s Most Powerful Mobster by Stephen L. Carter
Also available in audio
“In the same vein as best sellers such as Liza Mundy’s CODE GIRLS and Margot Lee Shetterly’s HIDDEN FIGURES, this new work from Carter presents the untold story of his grandmother Eunice Hunton Carter, the black female lawyer who prosecuted notorious mobster Lucky Luciano. With artful storytelling and a narrative-like delivery, Carter tells Eunice’s story in the best way possible, offering a compelling, unputdownable read with as much value in social history as legal appeal. Not to be missed.” — Library Journal, starred review readmoreremove

For Your Consideration: October 2018 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and nominate your favorite titles for the October 2018 LibraryReads list!

*Nominations are due August 20! Click here for the full list of 2018 deadlines.

THE RAIN WATCHER by Tatiana de Rosnay
Also available in audio
The bestselling author of SARAH’S KEY delivers a powerful family drama set in Paris as the Malegarde family gathers to celebrate the father’s 70th birthday. Their hidden fears and secrets are slowly unraveled as the City of Light undergoes a stunning natural disaster. “Triumphant…with raw and powerful reminisces and gorgeous descriptions. This is an emotional tour de force and a thoughtful, deliberate examination of personal tragedy and the possibility of redemption.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

INVISIBLE: The Forgotten Story of the Black Woman Lawyer Who Took Down America’s Most Powerful Mobster by Stephen L. Carter
Also available in audio
A BookExpo “Shout n’ Share” & ALA Annual “Read n’ Rave” librarian pick! Carter tells the incredible true story of his grandmother, Eunice Hunton Carter, a granddaughter of slaves who became one of the most famous African American women by the 1940s for her work as a lawyer that brought down organized crime in New York City. “A vivid portrait of a remarkable woman.” — Kirkus Reviews

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “Invisible.”*

A WELL BEHAVED WOMAN by Therese Anne Fowler
Also available in audio
Two starred reviews! From New York Times bestselling author Fowler comes a riveting novel of iron-willed Alva Vanderbilt and her illustrious family as they rule Gilded-Age New York. “Expect high demand from fans of the author’s Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald and those who enjoy stories of the rich and famous.” — Library Journal

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife
Also available in audio
Skaife shares the behind-the-scenes account of life with the legendary ravens at the world’s eeriest monument, the Tower of London. “This is an utterly fascinating book about one of those subjects you never thought you’d be interested in until, well, you were. A splendid and constantly surprising book.” — Booklist, starred review

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE DREAM DAUGHTER by Diane Chamberlain
Also available in audio
THE LOVELY BONES meets THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE in LibraryReads author Chamberlain‘s new novel about a mother who must take a mind-bending leap of faith in order to save her unborn baby girl who has a heart defect. “The story is well-paced and the ending satisfyingly sweet….” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss

THE LITTLE SHOP OF FOUND THINGS by Paula Brackston
The New York Times bestselling author of THE WITCH’S DAUGHTER begins a new series about a young woman whose connection to antiques takes her on a magical adventure. “Fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander collection will delight in Brackston’s new series and eagerly await its second installment. A bewitching tale of love across centuries.” — Kirkus Reviews

Download the e-galley from Edelweiss readmoreremove

Come one, come all to Books for Teens 2017!

BFT2017forweb
Lucky for you, we’ve created not one, but TWO posters of our favorite teen reads for 2017! Download and print your copies (11×17 tabloid size) of BFT poster 1 & BFT poster 2.

Then, make sure that you’re pre-approved on Edelweiss to download all of our available e-galleys, including many of the titles mentioned below. Click here to find out how to be whitelisted.

You can also view our Edelweiss collection of Books for Teens 2017 titles here.

Now on to the books!

 

THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert
Available January 30, 2018
Ages 12 to 19

Two starred reviews! Welcome to The Hazel Wood, Melissa Albert’s fierce, captivating, contemporary fantasy about a seventeen-year-old girl who must venture into the world behind a pitch-dark, cult-classic, collection of fairy tales to save her mother… “A ferocious young woman is drawn into her grandmother’s sinister fairy-tale realm in this pitch-black fantasy debut.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

 

I HATE EVERYONE BUT YOU by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
Ages 14 to 19

Ava and Gen are two best friends heading off to their first semesters of college on opposite sides of the country. From first loves to weird roommates, heartbreak, self-discovery, coming out and mental health, the two document every moment in a series of texts and emails to each other. But as each changes and grows into her new life, will their friendship be able to survive the distance?

 

 

 

CARAVAL by Stephanie Garber
Ages 13 to 18

A 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee!

“[A] magnificent debut novel… Intriguing characters, an imaginative setting, and evocative writing combine to create a spellbinding tale of love, loss, sacrifice, and hope.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review  

 

 

 

FREEKS by Amanda Hocking
Ages 12 to 18

“This fun paranormal romance, wrapped up in a circus-tent setting, is recommended where the genre and the author’s books are popular. Hand to fans of Twilight and MTV’s Teen Wolf.” — School Library Journal

 

THE RADIUS OF US by Marie Marquardt
Ages 13 to 19

“While the teens’ relationship is tested when details from Phoenix’s past coincide with Gretchen’s case, a host of diverse characters lend a hand and offer varying perspectives. [An] …eye-opening story. ” — Kirkus Reviews

WINTERSONG by S. Jae-Jones
Ages 12 to 18

Set at the turn of the 19th century, this richly imagined debut coming-of-age story spins a spellbinding tale perfect for fans of Labyrinth and THE DARKEST PART OF THE FOREST as a young woman searches for her sister who was kidnapped by the Goblin King. “There are plenty of nods to Labyrinth, but atmospherically, this first novel is most similar to another debut: Robin McKinley’s BEAUTY. …this is an exquisitely and lyrically crafted tale of longing, sibling loyalty, and the importance of women in a time when women were so often overlooked. Eerie, unsettling, and, above all, full of music.” — Booklist, starred review

 

WONDERFUL FEELS LIKE THIS by Sara Lövestam
Ages 12 to 18

Two starred reviews and a 2018 Best Fiction for Young Adults nominee! THE ELEGANCE OF THE HEDGEHOG meets THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER in this novel about a bullied teenager and an old man in a retirement home who bond over their mutual love of jazz music. “Sensitive and deeply moving: outstanding.” — Kirkus Reviews, starred review

 

A CROWN OF WISHES by Roshani Chokshi
Ages 13 to 18

In this second beautiful, lush fantasy from New York Times bestselling author Chokshi, Gauri, the princess of Bharata, must team up with her enemy kingdom’s prince Vikram to win the Tournament of Wishes—a competition held in a mythical city where the Lord of Wealth promises a wish to the victor. “Careful plotting, multiple viewpoints, high-stakes action, and a slow-burn relationship make this heady fantasy completely engrossing. A first pick for YA collections.” — School Library Journal, starred review

THE STAR-TOUCHED QUEEN by Roshani Chokshi (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

DREAM FOREVER by Kit Alloway (The Dream Walker Trilogy)
Ages 13 to 18

As the veil to the Dream becomes dangerously thin, Josh must stop it from tearing to save the world, in the conclusion to The Dream Walker Trilogy.

DREAMWORLD: Two Books in One: DREAMFIRE & DREAMFEVER by Kit Alloway (ages 13-18) is now available in trade paperback.

GIVE ME A K-I-L-L by R.L. Stine (Fear Street series #6)
Ages 14 to 18
Heather Wyatt just transferred from her old school, where she was a cheerleading star, and is eager to join the squad at Shadyside High. There’s only one other girl who stands in her way—rich, spoiled Devra Dalby, who is also trying out for the one open slot. The competition is anything but friendly—and it ends in murder.

FEAR STREET SUPER THRILLERS: NIGHTMARES by R.L. Stine (ages 12-18) is now available in trade paperback.

DEAR READER by Mary O’Connell
Ages 12 to 18
Gilmore Girls with magical realism! In this original, poignant modern-day take on Wuthering Heights, a high school senior searches for her teacher and meets a boy who may just be Heathcliff come to life. “The use of Wuthering Heights intensifies the impact of Flannery and Miss Sweeney’s corresponding journeys; even readers who haven’t read the classic will find significance in the parallels.” — Publishers Weekly

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell (ages 13-19) is now available in trade paperback.

SONGS ABOUT A GIRL by Chris Russell
Ages 12 to 18
Charlie Bloom is happiest behind her camera, taking pictures of her former classmate Olly Samson’s new band, Fire&Lights. Soon, they’re the hottest boy band in the country and Charlie becomes caught between Olly and Fire&Lights’ gorgeous but damaged frontman, Gabriel West. As the boys’ rivalry threatens to tear the band apart, Charlie stumbles on a secret about the band—and herself—hidden within the lyrics of their new #1 single. “Confronting the fickleness of fame and the damaging effects of rumors and harassment, Russell’s debut is highly relevant in an age of social media furors and the constant churn of news.” — Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

css.php