Articles tagged "addiction"

Fall for Nonfiction

Fall for nonfiction with new books from Bill O’Reilly and Russell Brand, plus a couple of excellent memoirs:

KILLING ENGLAND: The Brutal Struggle for American Independence by Bill O’Reilly, Martin Dugard
O’Reilly and Dugard’s bestselling history series continues with the story of the Revolutionary War, told through the eyes of George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and Great Britain’s King George III.

RECOVERY: Freedom from Our Addictions by Russell Brand
A guide to all kinds of addiction from a star who has struggled with heroin, alcohol, sex, fame, food, and eBay that will help addicts and their loved ones make the first steps into recovery.

THE BEST OF US: A Memoir by Joyce Maynard
A touching memoir chronicling Maynard’s second marriage. “This haunting story, penned by a master wordsmith, is a reminder to savor every loved one and every day.” — Booklist, starred review

RIOT DAYS by Maria Alyokhina
A Pussy Rioter’s riveting, hallucinatory account of her years in Russia’s criminal system and of finding power in the most powerless of situations… “An inspirational memoir about youthful idealism and the power of popular culture to challenge the status quo.” — Kirkus Reviews

 

Buzzfeed’s “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer”

Buzzfeed chose eight excellent books from Macmillan as part of their “Exciting New Books You Need To Read This Summer” feature:

THE ANSWERS by Catherine Lacey
Catherine Lacey’s novel THE ANSWERS centers around people looking for the answers to love, to emotions, to ailing bodies. Mary, a young woman in New York City, is desperate for a cure for her paralyzing pain when she finally finds an effective treatment that she can’t afford. To pay for it, she joins eccentric actor Kurt Sky’s “Girlfriend Experiment” — a project for which Sky has recruited multiple women to fulfill different roles in an attempt to create the perfect romantic relationship — and becomes his “Emotional Girlfriend,” along the way learning more about herself and the nature of connection.

GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
Heartbroken after her engagement is called off and feeling that her life has become a mess, 30-year-old Ruth quits her job and goes home to her parents to take care of her father, who is in the early stages of Alzheimer’s. As his condition grows worse, Ruth devotes herself to researching supplements and meals that might restore his memory. Tender yet funny in turns, GOODBYE, VITAMIN offers poignant insight into family, memory, marriage, parenthood, love, and loss.

THE CITY ALWAYS WINS by Omar Robert Hamilton
Omar Robert Hamilton’s THE CITY ALWAYS WINS is a vivid, powerful portrait of Egypt’s failed revolution in 2011. Through the eyes of Mariam and Khalil, two young people fighting at the front lines of the revolution in the streets of Cairo and its political underground, THE CITY ALWAYS WINS is an urgent and relevant work that captures the realities of class friction, war, torture, and dictatorships.

MY LIFE WITH BOB by Pamela Paul
MY LIFE WITH BOB is the ultimate book about reading books — New York Times Book Review editor Pamela Paul has kept a journal (named Bob) for 28 years, meticulously tracking every book she’s ever read. The result is an intimate look into her interior life and the ways in which the stories she has read have changed her own story. Clever and heartfelt, MY LIFE WITH BOB will appeal to anyone with a deep love for reading.
readmoreremove

Happy #BookBday (4/4/17 Edition)

Happy #BookBday to five new works of fiction waiting to be snapped up by your patrons:

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
An April 2017 Indie Next pick, a Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts with FOUR starred reviews! An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

A LITTLE MORE HUMAN by Fiona Maazel
An April 2017 Indie Next pick! Meet Phil Snyder: new father, nursing assistant at a cutting-edge biotech facility on Staten Island, and all-around decent guy. Phil also has a special talent he doesn’t want to publicize—he’s a mind reader and moonlights as Brainstorm, a costumed superhero. But when Phil wakes up from a blackout drunk and is confronted with photos that seem to show him assaulting an unknown woman, even superpowers won’t help him. “Maazel takes a dark, inventive look at the cost of pushing humans to their limits.” — Booklist

THE SISTERS OF BLUE MOUNTAIN by Karen Katchur
Perfect for fans of Lisa Scottoline and Heather Gudenkauf, a suspenseful novel in which a small-town murder forces two sisters to face the secrets and lies that have torn them apart. “Katchur weaves a suspenseful tale of family secrets and what it means to keep quiet. For readers who relish complex family mysteries.” — Library Journal

CASTLE OF WATER by Dane Huckelbridge
Castaway meets The Notebook in this beautifully written adventure/romance set on a deserted island from first-time novelist Dane Huckelbridge. “…a diverting if sentimental story with just enough detours from the obvious path to keep it from predictability.” — Booklist
readmoreremove

Sneak Peek: April 2017 Indie Next List

indie nextThe April 2017 Indie Next list includes four Macmillan titles!

THE RIVER OF KINGS by Taylor Brown
Two starred reviews! Two brothers travel a storied river’s past and present in search of the truth about their father’s death in the second novel by the acclaimed author of FALLEN LAND. “Drawing comparisons to James Dickey’s DELIVERANCE and Charles Frazier’s COLD MOUNTAIN, Brown’s impressive second novel is an intense, solidly written story of family loyalty, Southern traditions, and haunting historic landscapes, all bound up in the mythical powers of the Altamaha River.” — Library Journal, starred review

MARLENA by Julie Buntin
A Barnes & Noble Spring 2017 Discover pick and one of Publishers Weekly‘s Most Anticipated Spring 2017 Debuts with three starred reviews! An electric debut novel about love, addiction, and loss; the story of two girls and the feral year that will cost one her life, and define the other’s for decades. “Buntin’s prose is emotional and immediate, and the interior lives she draws of young women and obsessive best friends are Ferrante-esque.” — Booklist, starred review

MERCIES IN DISGUISE: A Story of Hope, a Family’s Genetic Destiny, and the Science That Rescued Them by Gina Kolata
In this work of narrative nonfiction in the tradition of THE IMMORTAL LIFE OF HENRIETTA LACKS, New York Times science reporter Kolata follows a family through genetic illness and one courageous daughter who decides her fate shall no longer be decided by a genetic flaw. “Kolata delivers an inspiring chronicle of a remarkable family, medical advances, and redefining destiny.” — Booklist readmoreremove

Street Lit for Your Shelves

Drama, mystery, romance, and more abound in these new and forthcoming urban fiction titles:

THE CARTEL 6: THE DEMISE by Ashley & JaQuavis
The Cartel’s plan to open a casino will rake in cash, but comes with great sacrifice: a dead girl, a scorned wife, traitors, and one hole in the desert will launch a chain of catastrophic events and a fight with the Arabian mob. “The story’s turns and surprises, paired with its unflinching studies of emotional pain and physical pleasure make this an excellent, exciting read for newcomers, longtime Cartel followers, and all urban-lit fans.” — Booklist

THE REAL MRS. PRICE by J.D. Mason
Two women, both married to the same man, come together to find out where he is—and who he really is. “Mason writes a murky whodunit with a touch of the supernatural… Push this one to readers who enjoy an atmospheric novel with plenty of twists and turns.” — Library Journal

DIAMONDS AND PEARL by K’wan
In this street lit take on Romeo and Juliet, a young gangster in New Orleans falls for the daughter of a Harlem drug kingpin. “The author of HOOD RAT and GUTTER excels in his latest title, and his ear for street slang remains sharp and on point. The abrupt ending leaves readers thirsty for more. Let’s hope there’s a sequel in the mix as this is one of the top urban fiction novels of the year.” — Library Journal, starred review & pick of the month

LUXE TWO: A LaLa Land Addiction by Ashley Antoinette
In this sequel to LUXE, Bleu Montclair is addicted to the luxe life and it has led her down a road of self-destruction. Now two separate loves want to rescue her—will she let them? Or will she be lost to her addictions? “Throughout the novel, Antoinette provides a sobering viewpoint of addiction and how drug use destroys not just one life but whole families. On her own or as part of the popular married urban fiction duo Ashley and JaQuavis, Antoinette is one of the genre’s hottest writers. Buy multiple copies to meet demand.” — Library Journal

Coming in 2017:

readmoreremove

Maximum Shelf: SUMMER SECRETS

MaxShelf-SummerSecretsToday’s Maximum Shelf Awareness features one of our favorite women’s fiction authors, Jane Green, and her latest novel, SUMMER SECRETS.

Green has never shied away from tackling hot-button issues, such as extramarital affairs and divorce, mental and physical illness, families in transition, death and grief and the angst of midlife. SUMMER SECRETS examines the heart, mind, and soul of a woman grappling with alcoholism and how that addiction pacifies and plagues every aspect of her life.

“Green has written an impassioned, harrowing drama rife with betrayals, reversals and secrets. In chilling detail, she delves into the circuitous, emotional journey of a woman who is keenly perceptive yet sadly powerless to help herself. Readers will root for Cat to do better, to live smarter, to find a way to forgive herself and make amends with those she’s hurt in the hope she can move beyond the regrets of her own dark past and step into a brighter future. ” — Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Jane Green on Shelf-Awareness.com.

Praise for SUMMER SECRETS:

“This harrowing novel offers hard-earned redemption and healing.”
— Publishers Weekly
readmoreremove

css.php