Articles tagged "Adam Ehrlich Sachs"

It’s #PubDay! (5/21/19)

Fantasy, coming-of-age, and a PW Best Book of the Summer–pick your poison!

AN ILLUSION OF THIEVES by Cate Glass

“A combination of political intrigue, deceit, and forbidden talents imbues this adventurous series-starter that ends with hints of another caper to come with a Mission Impossible vibe.”–Booklist, starred review

THE SCENT KEEPER by Erica Bauermeister

Watch Nancy Pearl interview the author!

“A young girl with a unique talent for identifying scents embarks on a journey of self-discovery when she’s ripped from her intensely isolated childhood home… An artfully crafted coming-of-age story that will take the reader on an exquisite olfactory adventure.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019

The trees are green, the sun is warm, and I know I’m getting ready for some good beach reading! Enter, Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of Summer 2019!

Staff Picks
THE REDEMPTION OF TIME: A Three-Body Problem Novel by Baoshu
RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston
HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers

Fiction
IN WEST MILLS by De’Shawn Charles Winslow
THE ORGANS OF SENSE by Adam Ehrlich Sachs

Mystery/Thriller
THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse
THIRTEEN by Steve Cavanagh
THE WHISPER MAN by Alex North

SF/Fantasy/Horror
MIDDLEGAME by Seanan McGuire

Comics
KING OF KING COURT by Travis Dandro

Nonfiction
DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
MR. KNOW-IT-ALL: The Tarnished Wisdom of a Filth Elder by John Waters
THE VINYL FRONTIER: The Story of the Voyager Golden Record by Jonathan Scott

Starred Review Round-Up (4/26/19)

Calling all collection development librarians! These books all received multiple starred reviews!

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Both leads are complex, well-developed characters, whose penchant for humorous byplay never comes at the expense of the plot, which resolves itself in a clever fair play reveal. Fans of Maisie Dobbs and Bess Crawford will be delighted.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga

“A sympathetic portrait of Mexican-American feminism (both in mother and daughter) delivered in a poignant, beautifully written way.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Moraga’s captivating and perceptive memoir successfully conveys her belief that ‘we are as much of a place as we are of a people.'”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove
css.php