Articles tagged "2018 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List"

Day’s YA – GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS

Hello and happy March!

We’ve almost made it to spring, but the setting in the book I want to share with you today is as frigid and wintry as they come. You may want to bundle up before reading on!

GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
9781250077738
Also available in audio.

This is the feminist SNOW WHITE retelling I’ve always wanted. I’ve been waiting for this book without even knowing it. If you also find yourself rolling your eyes at some of the more traditional, damsel-in-distress tales, this is the fairy tale for you.

Melissa Bashardoust’s debut novel tells the story of two young women. Sixteen-year-old Mina lives with her magician father and has no concrete memory of the mother who died when Mina was just a child. Mina longs to be loved and to be able to show love, but the glass heart inside her chest won’t allow it. When Mina and her father move to the castle, Mina decides that she will get the newly-widowed king to fall in love with her and become queen.

Lynet is the daughter of the king and has never known her mother, though she is the spitting image of the former queen. Lynet’s whole world is turned upside down when she discovers that she was formed from snow and was created to look just like her mother. Her father has certain expectations for how she lives her life, but Lynet has other plans. She wants to be less like the mother she never met and more like her beloved stepmother, Mina. But when the king ousts Mina and gives her role to Lynet instead, a rivalry for the throne is ignited between the two women.

Alternating chapters tell the stories of Mina’s past and Lynet’s present, while completely shattering the traditional fairy tale tropes. Prince Charming is nowhere to be found (and Lynet has no need for him, anyway) and Mina is a much more complicated character than your run-of-the-mill evil stepmother. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s CINDER, Angela Carter’s THE BLOODY CHAMBER, or Amanda Lovelace’s THE PRINCESS SAVES HERSELF IN THIS ONE, Bashardoust’s novel is Frozen meets Robin McKinley and it is even more delightful than you could ever imagine.

And to top it off, GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS was recently named to ALA’s Amelia Bloomer List for feminist literature! readmoreremove

Our 2018 YALSA & RUSA Award Winners!

Congratulations to all of the amazing Macmillan authors who won awards or were selected for YALSA and RUSA’s various reading lists this year!

2018 Alex Awards (the 10 best adult books that appeal to teen audiences):
ALL SYSTEMS RED by Martha Wells
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming

See the full Alex Award list here.

2018 YALSA Great Graphic Novels for Teens
DREAMIN’ SUN v.1 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
DREAMIN’ SUN v.2 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
DREAMIN’ SUN v.3 by Ichigo Takano, illustrated by the author
THE GIRL FROM THE OTHER SIDE: Siúil, A Rún Vol. 1 by Nagabe, illustrated by the author
HANA & HINA AFTER SCHOOL, v.1 by Milk Morinaga, illustrated by the author
HANA & HINA AFTER SCHOOL, v.2 by Milk Morinaga, illustrated by the author
THE WENDY PROJECT by Melissa Jane Osborne, illustrated by Veronica Fish

See the full GGNT list here.

2018 ALA Amelia Bloomer Project Book List (best feminist books)
GIRLS MADE OF SNOW AND GLASS by Melissa Bashardoust
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA by Melissa Fleming

See the full Amelia Bloomer list here.

2018 Rainbow Book List (Honors books with significant gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer/questioning content, and which are aimed at youth, birth through age 18.)
DOWN AMONG THE STICKS AND BONES by Seanan McGuire

See the full Rainbow list here.

Over the Rainbow Reading List (Honors adult books with significant LGBTQ content)
BESTIARY: Poems by Donika Kelly
DON’T CALL US DEAD: Poems by Danez Smith
THE END OF EDDY by Edouard Louis
ENIGMA VARIATIONS by Andre Aciman
FEVER IN THE DARK by Ellen Hart
INSOMNIAC CITY: New York, Oliver, and Me by Bill Hayes
NO ONE CAN PRONOUNCE MY NAME by Rakesh Satyal (a Top 12 pick)
THIS IS HOW IT ALWAYS IS by Laurie Frankel (a Top 12 pick)

See the full Over the Rainbow (adult) list here.

The ALA’s Reference and User Services Division (RUSA) has announced their 2018 Notable Books, Reading, and Listening Lists, as well as the winner of the Sophie Brody Medal:

readmoreremove

css.php