We are Macmillan Library!
Are you a librarian? Awesome!
We are here to help.

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

PW Spring 2019 Announcements

Publishers Weekly has chosen the stand-out books from the coming months for their 2019 Spring Announcements, and there are 81 Macmillan titles you’ll need to save room for on your shelves!

Business & Economics

THE BILLIONAIRE BOONDOGGLE: How Our Politicians Let Corporations and Bigwigs Steal Our Money and Jobs by Pat Garofalo (a Top 10 pick)
INVEST FOR GOOD: Increasing Your Personal Well-Being While Changing the World by Mark Mobius, Carlos Von Hardenberg, and Greg Konieczny (a Top 10 pick)
BIG BUSINESS: A Love Letter to an American Anti-Hero by Tyler Cowen
HOW TO WIN IN A WINNER-TAKE-ALL WORLD: Career Management in the Twenty-First Century by Neil Irwin
WIN OR DIE: Leadership Secrets from ‘Game of Thrones’ by Bruce Craven

Comics & Graphic Novels

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers (a Top 10 pick)
OFF SEASON by James Sturm (a Top 10 pick)
WHY DON’T YOU WRITE MY EULOGY NOW SO I CAN CORRECT IT?: A Mother’s Suggestions by Patricia Marx and Roz Chast
GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, trans. by Janet Hong
CHRONIN VOLUME 1: The Knife at Your Back by Alison Wilgus

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

SUPER MEGA Stars On Stars On Stars On Stars (1/11/19)

Forecast calls for a meteor shower! Make room on your shelves for our many STARS.

Fiction:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
“White’s tightly woven debut thriller has already won the Victorian Premier Literary Award in Australia; its arrival Stateside comes highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi
[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

TxLA’s 2019 Lariat List

The Texas Library Association’s Lariat Committee has released the 2019 Lariat List, and we’re proud to announce Macmillan has three titles on the list!

THE DARKEST TIME OF NIGHT by Jeremy Finley
MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
SEMIOSIS by Sue Burke

The list represents the 25 best works of fiction that are “a pleasure to read.” Click here to view the full list of titles.

Two stars for TIN HEART!

Shivaun Plozza’s charming and romantic second novel, TIN HEART, has received two starred reviews!

“Funny and direct, this book by Plozza is capable of balancing heartbreak, first love, mortality, and the absurd—or, as Marlowe puts it, “that moment when you’re standing in front of Bert’s Quality Butchers holding a speaker blasting ‘Meat Is Murder.’”” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Without didacticism, the text offers a glimpse into two sets of rare challenges: those faced by Marlowe, grappling with the fact that her life was restored by another’s death, and those faced by Carmen and her father, still grieving over 16-year-old Luis, whose organs were donated after a car accident. Readers will cheer for Marlowe’s bildungsroman—simultaneously unique and universal.”
Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

#ThrillerThursday (1/10/19)

Apocalyptic thrillers + female sheriffs + Minneapolis PIs = one exciting #ThrillerThursday!

THE COMING STORM: A Thriller by Mark Alpert
“Using his background in science, Alpert has crafted a tale that begins with the U.S. government ignoring the effects of climate change and then abandoning human rights in a misguided attempt to control the resulting chaos. A frightening apocalypse thriller…”–Booklist

RECEPTOR by Alan Glynn
“Readers who enjoyed Edgar finalist Glynn’s LIMITLESS will welcome this intriguing sequel.”–Publishers Weekly

readmoreremove

Nonfiction Round-Up (1/9/19)

Life-saving dogs, easy recipes, historical conspiracies, influential queens, labor uprisings, and the roots of the American criminal justice system–check out today’s nonfiction picks!

HERO DOGS: How a Pack of Rescues, Rejects, and Strays Became America’s Greatest Disaster-Search Partners by Wilma Melville with Paul Lobo
The incredible memoir of how Wilma Melville turned a band of shelter dogs into one of America’s foremost disaster-response assets in catastrophes from 9/11 to Katrina. “It makes for a harrowing, often heartbreaking, yet inspirational tale as Melville eloquently explores the small victories and wrenching losses of the dogs’ much-needed work.”–Publishers Weekly

5 INGREDIENTS: Quick & Easy Food by Jamie Oliver
Maximum flavor with minimum fuss, lots of nutritious options, and loads of epic inspiration from one of the bestselling cookbook authors of all time.

readmoreremove

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL Signed Copy Giveaway

Three starred reviews, an Indie Next Pick, and a LibraryReads Pick–Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen’s latest smash hit AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is on sale today!

A psychology study volunteer finds more than she signed up for in this follow-up to THE WIFE BETWEEN US–an electrifying new novel about doubt, passion, and just how much you can trust someone.

We’re giving away a signed copy of AN ANONYMOUS GIRL to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply fill out this Google form by Thursday, January 31, and make sure to include your professional/library-issued e-mail address and library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

AN ANONYMOUS GIRL is available 1/8/19 from St. Martin’s Press and Macmillan Audio.

This sweepstakes is open to librarians in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Entries must be received by Thursday, January 31, 2019 to be eligible. The winner grants Macmillan Library the right to announce their name on Twitter, MacmillanLibrary.com, and any other platform we want to congratulate them on. We will select the potential prize winner at random from among all eligible entries received. If a potential prize winner cannot be reached after three (3) business days, we will select an alternate winner, so check your email.

css.php