Reviews and Publicity

Thriller Thursday (3/8/18 Edition)

It’s a slushy gray Thursday, perfect mystery-reading weather:

THE THIRD VICTIM by Phillip Margolin
Also available in audio
Regina Barrister, a legendary criminal defense attorney, has agreed to take on the seemingly impossible task of defending Alex Mason—a prominent local attorney accused of kidnapping, torture, and murder. Yet Regina’s young co-counsel is worried her boss’s behavior and the details in the case against their client don’t quite add up. “Margolin continues his return to the exceptional form of his early novels with this gripping, tightly plotted, and smoothly written legal thriller.” — Booklist

MEMENTO MORI by Ruth Downie
The eighth gripping novel in the bestselling Medicus series, in which Ruso and Tilla investigate the death of the wife of Ruso’s friend in the sacred hot spring of Aquae Sulis. “Highly recommended for series fans and readers of Lindsey Davis’s Roman mysteries, but it also serves as a worthy stand-alone.” — Library Journal readmoreremove

Booklist’s Rogue Book-Group Choices

Booklist hosted a live event with librarian book-group experts to talk about what makes a good selection, how to pick something unexpected for your group without causing a mass exodus, and lots and lots of suggestions for when you want to take your book group rogue. Check out their Macmillan recommendations:

BINTI by Nnedi Okorafor
Science fiction can be scary for book groups, but don’t be afraid, especially if Black Panther piqued your interest. BINTI is about space, sure, but it’s really about race and other meaty issues.

Dealing with aging parents is a familiar book group topic. This graphic novel includes art and photography that will enhance the conversation.

EVERFAIR by Nisi Shawl
Like BINTI, this is an Afro-futurist sci-fi book, plus steam punk and alternate history! So many genres. It will lead to discussions about prejudice, identity, colonialism, and even the structure of the story itself.

IF I WAS YOUR GIRL by Meredith Russo
Another YA book that adult book groups might poo-poo. It’s a teen love story, but the heroine is a trans girl who starts her senior year at a new school where she can be herself. If your book group members like to gain new understanding of people they might not (think they) encounter in real life, this is a great choice.

THE LONELY CITY by Olivia Laing
Pair with images of the artists discussed (Hopper, Warhol, Wojnarowicz); you can also talk about gentrification.

Watch the full event below!


2018 Lammy Awards Finalists

The Lambda Literary Foundation (LLF) announced the finalists for the 30th annual Lambda Literary Awards (a.k.a. the “Lammys”) celebrating achievements in LGBTQ literature. We’re waving our rainbow flag in support of these nine nominees from Macmillan!

Lesbian Fiction
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado

Gay Fiction
THE END OF EDDY by Edouard Louis

Gay Poetry
DON’T CALL US DEAD by Danez Smith

Lesbian Mystery

Lesbian Memoir/Biography
ABANDON ME by Melissa Febos
THE FACT OF A BODY by Alexandria Marzano-Lesnevich

Gay Memoir/Biography
THE WORLD BROKE IN TWO: Virginia Woolf, T.S. Eliot, D.H. Lawrence, E.M. Forster, and the Year that Changed Literature by Bill Goldstein

AMBERLOUGH by Lara Elena Donnelly
AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz readmoreremove

And the Oscar Goes to… Macmillan!

Congratulations to our 2018 Oscar Award winners! (The books, of course…)

Best Picture

Best Director
Guillermo del Toro, THE SHAPE OF WATER

Best Music (Original Score)
Alexandre Desplat, THE SHAPE OF WATER

Best Production Design

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)
CALL ME BY YOUR NAME, Screenplay by James Ivory

THE SHAPE OF WATER by Guillermo del Toro & Daniel Kraus is available from Feiwel & Friends and Macmillan Audio.

CALL ME BY YOUR NAME by André Aciman is available from Picador & Macmillan Audio.

Stokercon 2018 Book Buzz (& Happy #ThrillerThursday, John Hart!)

Happy #ThrillerThursday / #BookBirthday week to THE HUSH by John Hart!
Also available in audio
A March 2018 Indie Next pick! New York Times bestselling and LibraryReads author Hart’s sequel to THE LAST CHILD picks up ten years later when Johnny Merrimon is living in the wilds beyond the town where a dangerous force is at play. “Hart continues to deepen his palette in this ambitious sequel, which is distinctive enough in story and tone to be read as a stand-alone. Recommended for fans of Dennis Lehane’s SHUTTER ISLAND and Tom Franklin’s CROOKED LETTER, CROOKED LETTER.” — Library Journal

Today in Providence, RI, our librarian pals Kristi Chadwick & Becky Spratford are buzzing about our books to librarians at Stokercon 2018! Here’s what they covered (in addition to our 2017 Stoker Award nominees):

ANNIHILATION by Jeff VanderMeer (movie tie-in edition)
GRIST MILL ROAD by Christopher J. Yates
THE MERRY SPINSTER: Tales of Everyday Horror by Mallory Ortberg
GLIMPSE by Jonathan Maberry readmoreremove

February 2018 Bestsellers & Recent Releases

Our sales team created an Edelweiss collection of our month’s bestsellers and recently released titles — what a perfect collection development tool for you! Here are some of the top titles for February 2018:

Recent Releases:
THE GREAT ALONE by Kristin Hannah
FORCE OF NATURE by Jane Harper
JACKIE, JANET & LEE by J. Randy Taraborrelli
THE HAZEL WOOD by Melissa Albert

Edgar Award Nominees:
ARTHUR AND SHERLOCK: Conan Doyle and the Creation of Holmes by Michael Sims
MANDERLEY FOREVER: A Biography of Daphne du Maurier by Tatiana de Rosnay
MRS. SHERLOCK HOLMES: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case that Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca
TORNADO WEATHER by Deborah E. Kennedy readmoreremove

NYPL Winter 2018 Staff Picks

Patience & Fortitude are roaring about our New York Public Library Winter 2018 staff picks!

HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado
IT ENDED BADLY: Thirteen of the Worst Breakups in History by Jennifer Wright
KNOTS: Stories by Gunnhild Øyehaug, translated by Kari Dickson
BORED AND BRILLIANT: How Spacing Out Can Unlock Your Most Productive and Creative Self by Manoush Zomorodi
THE WENDY PROJECT by Melissa Jane Osborne, illustrated by Veronica Fish (Young Adult)

2018 LA Times Book Prize Nominees

The Los Angeles Times announced their 2018 Book Prize finalists and we’ve got 5 nominees:

Current Interest
LOCKING UP OUR OWN: Crime and Punishment in Black America by James Forman Jr.

LONDON’S TRIUMPH: Merchants, Adventurers, and Money in Shakespeare’s City by Stephen Alford

Graphic Novel/Comics
PRESENT by Leslie Stein

Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction
GOODBYE, VITAMIN by Rachel Khong
HER BODY AND OTHER PARTIES by Carmen Maria Machado readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday (2/22/18 Edition)

The stars are aligning for two historical mysteries this #ThrillerThursday, plus a FREE cozy mystery sampler!

Two starred reviews & Finch won the NBCC’s 2017 Nona Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing Award! In Charles Lenox’s very first case in 1850, a trunk containing the body of a young woman is found floating in the Thames River. “With its splendidly drawn characters and brisk, supple prose, this can be either an inviting introduction to readers new to Finch’s accomplished series or a winning addition to the canon for established fans.” — Booklist, starred review

It’s Rome, 44 B.C., Julius Caesar has been appointed dictator for life by the Roman Senate, and the Ides of March is approaching…. “Can a murder whose killers’ identities and motives are known in advance provide the basis for a gripping whodunit? Saylor answers that question with a definitive yes in his thrilling and moving 16th novel featuring Gordianus the Finder.” — Publishers Weekly, starred review

Why choose one mystery to cozy up with when you can have 10? (Well, samples.) Download the new free COZY CASE FILES mystery sampler! Volume 4 includes excerpts from these forthcoming Winter 2018 titles:

ANOTHER ONE BITES THE CRUST: A Bakeshop Mystery by Ellie Alexander

A WHISPER OF BONES: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart

CURSES, BOILED AGAIN! A Lobster Shack Mystery by Shari Randall

DEATH IN THE STARS: A Kate Shackleton Mystery by Frances Brody

THE PURLOINED PUZZLE: A Puzzle Lady Mystery by Parnell Hall

DEATH OF AN UNSUNG HERO: A Lady Montfort Mystery by Tessa Arlen

DEATH BY DUMPLING: A Noodle Shop Mystery by Vivien Chien

DATE WITH MALICE: A Samson & Delilah Mystery by Julia Chapman

LOST BOOKS AND OLD BONES: A Scottish Bookshop Mystery by Paige Shelton

ANTIQUE BLUES: A Josie Prescott Antiques Mystery by Jane K. Cleland

What are you reading this #ThrillerThursday? Share your picks with us @MacmillanLib.

2018 Audie Award Nominees

Listen to this great news: Macmillan Audio has 10 finalists for the 2018 Audie Awards!

Best Male Narrator
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny, read by Robert Bathurst

I LIKED MY LIFE by Abby Fabiaschi, read by Susan Bennett, Dan Bittner, Therese Plummer

MY LIFE, MY LOVE, MY LEGACY by Coretta Scott King as told to Rev. Dr. Barbara Reynolds, read by Phylicia Rashad & January LaVoy

TELLING TALES by Ann Cleeves, read by Julia Franklin
GLASS HOUSES by Louise Penny, read by Robert Bathurst

Narration by Author or Authors
THIS FIGHT IS OUR FIGHT written and read by Elizabeth Warren

THIS FIGHT IS OUR FIGHT written and read by Elizabeth Warren
GHOSTS OF THE TSUNAMI by Richard Lloyd Parry, read by Simon Vance

ELEVENTH GRAVE IN MOONLIGHT by Darynda Jones, read by Lorelei King

THE BREAKDOWN by B.A. Paris, read by Georgia Maguire

For a full list of nominees, more information, and to listen to clips from the audiobooks, visit and follow the hashtag #Audies2018.