Free Stuff

Booklist’s “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” Romance Webinar

♫♪♫♫♪ You and Booklist, sitting in a tree… R.E.A.D.I.N.G.
First comes Talia Sherer, then come all the swoony Macmillan titles,
Then come the happy library patrons lining the aisles! ♫♪♫♫♪

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Happily-Ever-After Guaranteed” romance webinar with Talia “the Tigress” Sherer today, but if not, you can download the slides and the title list spreadsheet.

Watch the archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

Don’t forget that you can download this presentation and many others to use at your library’s next book buzz event!

September 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction
PAPER GODS: A Novel of Money, Race, and Politics by Goldie Taylor
CHRISTMAS AT THE CHALET by Anita Hughes

Mystery/Thriller
UNEASY LIES THE CROWN by Tasha Alexander
HEARTS OF THE MISSING by Carol Potenza
DEADLY CAMARGUE by Cay Rademacher
HARVEST OF SECRETS by Ellen Crosby
THE GIRL FROM BERLIN by Ronald H. Balson readmoreremove

Spring 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Fun fact: Macmillan’s Spring 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

Take your time to peruse all of the excellent new Macmillan books coming out next year. As always, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us if you have questions.

Click here for the full list of Macmillan Spring 2019 catalogs available by publisher.

Welcome LibraryComic Fans!

We’ve got lots of juicy YA lit coming at ya (ha, ha) in 2019! Read about our favorites below and enter to win an ARC. Do it. Don’t be shy.

Don’t forget to follow us on Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) and check out Emily’s candid “Day’s YA” reviews.

ARCs available for sweepstakes*:

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease
Click here to enter to win an ARC!
Available February 5, 2019 from Flatiron Books
Ages 12 And Up
Also available in audio

Love. Magic. Revolution. It’s CARAVAL in the world of Marie Antoinette! ENCHANTÉE is Gita Trelease’s lush and imaginative debut fantasy about an impoverished girl who must use magic to impersonate an aristocrat in Versailles to provide for her sister as her own political awakening forces her to choose sides in the French Revolution.

GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
Click here to enter to win an ARC!
Available January 15, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18

Paris, 1889: In this city, no one keeps tabs on secrets better than treasure-hunter and wealthy hotelier, Séverin Montagnet-Alarie. But when the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, seeks him out for help, Séverin is offered a treasure that he never imagined: his true inheritance. To find the ancient artifact the Order seeks, Séverin will need help from a band of experts. Together, they’ll have to use their wits and knowledge to hunt the artifact through the dark and glittering heart of Paris.

“Chokshi shines as a master storyteller in her newest novel; the setting, world building, plot, and conflict are all staggering. However, the elements that perhaps shine the most are the history, riddles, mysteries, and science, woven together in a world brimming with power and magic.”—Booklist, starred review

YOU’D BE MINE by Erin Hahn
Click here to enter to win an ARC!
Available April 2, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 14 to 18

Annie Mathers is America’s sweetheart and heir to a country music legacy full of all the things her Gran warned her about. Superstar Clay Coolidge is a heartbreaker and troublemaker and his label has threatened to drop him if he can’t convince Annie to join his summer tour and fix his image. Swayed by Clay’s undeniable charm and good looks, Annie and her band agree to join the tour. Can the right song and the perfect summer on the road make two broken hearts whole?

THE DYSASTERS by PC Cast and Kristin Cast (signed by the authors)
Click here to enter to win a *signed* ARC!
Available February 26, 2019 from Wednesday Books
Ages 12 to 18
Also available in audio

Foster Stewart and Tate Taylor are special—between the two of them, they can talk to plants, control the clouds, and see perfectly in the darkest night. But when a deadly tornado strikes and awakens their true abilities—the power to control the element air—they must stop the evil Dr. Stewart (who genetically manipulated them at birth and also happens to be Foster’s father) before he destroys their lives and the world.

*This sweepstakes is open to librarians / educators currently employed in the United States. Entrants must be age 18 or older. No purchase necessary. Limited quantity available. Entries must be received by Sunday, September 17, 2018 to be eligible. We will select the potential prize winners at random from among all eligible entries received.

More books for teens coming in 2019 from Flatiron Books YA & Wednesday Books:

readmoreremove

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

A LibraryReads Birthday Giveaway!

Fun fact: LibraryReads turns FIVE this month and we’re celebrating with a giveaway! We’re divvying up all 70+ Macmillan LibraryReads picks to date and giving them to FIVE lucky librarians!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: LibraryReads 5) by Sunday, August 19. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing. Read on for the fine print.

UPDATE 8/22: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winners:

Betsy Bensen, Harford County Public Library, Bel Air MD
Leigh-Anne Yacovelli, Wernersville Public Library, Wernersville PA
Leanne Milliman, Charlevoix Public Library, Charlevoix MI
Elaine Sumner, Cumberland Public Library, Cumberland RI
Ashley Duncan, Northwest Regional Library, Surprise AZ

Good luck and Happy Birthday, LibraryReads!

readmoreremove

THE MIDDLEMAN Signed Giveaway

New York Times bestselling author Olen Steinhauer‘s newest standalone thriller, THE MIDDLEMAN, follows the people on all sides of a domestic terrorist group, from the group’s converts to the FBI agents investigating them.

THE MIDDLEMAN is an August 2018 Indie Next pick, has two starred reviews, and one lucky librarian has a chance to win a signed copy!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Middleman) by Sunday, September 2, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address (read on for the fine print).

UPDATE 9/4/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winner, Evelyn Hershkowitz, Readers’ Services Librarian, Syosset Public Library, Syosset NY!

“Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Steinhauer is a master at layering gray upon gray, motive upon motive…. Another must-read from a modern master.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Introducing “The Girls” Podcast

Courtney Summers’ YA thriller SADIE is already making noise:
Booklist
‘s starred review called it “captivating.”
Kirkus Reviews‘s starred review called it “A riveting tour de force.”
Our very own YA gal, Emily, called it “heartbreaking and haunting.”
And now it’s making even more noise!

Coming August 1 to a pair of headphones near you: The Girls, a “true crime” podcast based on SADIE!

Follow along with West McCray’s (fictional) investigation as he searches for Sadie Hunter, a nineteen-year-old girl who disappeared after her little sister was brutally murdered.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast and listen to a teaser, and be sure to tune in on August 1 to help West McCray #FindSadie. readmoreremove

July 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction:
DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA’I by Alan Brennert
GODSEND by John Wray
PARIS ECHO by Sebastian Faulks
RECEPTOR by Alan Glynn

Mystery/Thriller:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
NO MERCY by Joanna Schaffhausen
THE PERFECT LIAR by Thomas Christopher Greene
REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox
SINS AS SCARLET by Nicolas Obregon

Nonfiction:
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson
THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife readmoreremove

RESCUED Signed Giveaway

We adore Shamus Award-winning author David Rosenfelt’s witty, heartfelt mystery series featuring lawyer Andy Carpenter and his faithful golden retriever, Tara. And not just because they have the cutest dogs on the covers, but it does help. (KUGEL!! You’re needed for a photo op! 😉 )

We’re giving away a signed copy of the newest Andy Carpenter mystery, RESCUED, to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Rescued) by Sunday, August 5, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

UPDATE 8/6/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winner, Lyndsey Ammons from Saline County Library, Benton AR!

readmoreremove

css.php