Free Stuff

Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” Webinar

We hope you were able to tune in to Booklist’s “Library Love for LibraryReads” webinar today, but if not, you can download the full title list and slides, and here are all the titles presented:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A DANGEROUS ENGAGEMENT by Ashley Weaver
THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan
A STRANGER ON THE BEACH by Michele Campbell
THE LONG CALL by Ann Cleeves
A HERO BORN by Jin Yong
TINFOIL BUTTERFLY by Rachel Eve Moulton
SALT SLOW by Julia Armfield
GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
NINTH HOUSE by Leigh Bardugo
THINGS YOU SAVE IN A FIRE by Katherine Center
ON DIVISION by Goldie Goldbloom
KEEPING LUCY by T. Greenwood
THE FURIES by Katie Lowe
THE TOPEKA SCHOOL by Ben Lerner
DOMINICANA by Angie Cruz
HERE WE ARE by Aarti Namdev Shahani
YOU’VE BEEN VOLUNTEERED by Laurie Gelman
THE NOBODIES by Liza Palmer
THE WIDOW OF ROSE HOUSE by Diana Biller

Listen to the full archived webinar here.

While you’re at it, request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss.

Make sure to vote early and often for LibraryReads!

Booklist’s “Macmillan Spring Fling” Webinar (4/2/19)

We hope you tuned in to today’s Booklist “Macmillan Spring Fling Webinar,” featuring adult and YA titles from Macmillan, Tor, and Bloomsbury, but if not, here are the title list and slides PDF.

The archived webinar is available here.

See something you like? Request to be whitelisted for our e-galleys on Edelweiss!

Hot NetGalley Alert!

The downloads are heating up for some of our NetGalley e-galleys! Have you reads any of these red-hot forthcoming titles?

THE FIRST MISTAKE by Sandie Jones
Author of August 2018 LibraryReads Pick THE OTHER WOMAN
“Happily remarried to Nathan after the death of her first husband, Alice is also grateful for good friend Beth. But then Nathan starts vanishing for stretches, and Alice gets the sense Beth isn’t as reliable as she thought.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE TIME COLLECTOR by Gwendolyn Womack
“Flashbacks to different times in history enrich the story with both tragedy and hope. The device of allowing characters to learn about each other’s pasts by touching objects is especially clever, bringing energy to necessary exposition. For fans of historical fiction who like a hint of the supernatural and cosmic connection.”–Booklist

MURDER KNOCKS TWICE by Susanna Calkins
The first mystery in Susanna Calkins’ captivating new series takes readers into the dark, dangerous, and glittering underworld of a 1920’s Chicago speakeasy.

While some are also available on Edelweiss, if you’re craving a NetGalley widget, hit me up at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com from your NetGalley account email address, and I’ll happily send you a link!

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

If your TBR pile is gettin’ low, check out our list of most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut is the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton. The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“In late 1980s New York, aspiring writer Eve Rosen is trying to keep up her spirits as a lowly assistant when she lucks out with an invitation to an event at the Cape Cod home of New Yorker writer Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie. She lucks out further when she becomes Grey’s research assistant and is invited to the couple’s oh-so-chic Book Party, but soon she’s starting to think that the publishing world isn’t so glamorous after all.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Law student Rachel North, married to a star of Boston’s defense bar, is thrilled to be interning with the Boston DA’s office. Then the trouble starts, and she’s got to decide how to do what’s right. A stand-alone from the multi-award-winning novelist/journalist.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

readmoreremove

Register Now for LJ and SLJ Day of Dialog 2019!

Join Team Macmillan Library, Library Journal and School Library Journal for the most anticipated librarian-only gathering of the year: Day of Dialog 2019!

Hear about the latest trends in the library and publishing worlds and listen in on hot author panels covering a range of topics including the top novelists for the fall/winter season. And did we mention we’ll be giving away free ARCs and swag?

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
9:00 AM–6:00 PM
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
524 West 59th St. New York, NY 10019

Seating is limited. RSVP HERE TODAY.

Be informed, inspired, and entertained by the best authors, editors, and publishers in the industry, discuss the latest trends, and get the inside scoop on the hottest books in the world of children’s and young adult literature.

Wednesday, May 29, 2019
9:00 AM–6:00 PM
New York Academy of Medicine
1216 Fifth Avenue at 103rd Street

Seating is limited. RSVP HERE TODAY.

Sign Up Now: “Macmillan Spring Fling” Webinar

Hear from Team Macmillan Library, Tor/Forge, and Bloomsbury in this one-hour webinar featuring our very best Spring 2019 reads! We’ll begin with our favorite Adult picks and wrap up with YA and select Middle Grade titles. ARCs and other goodies will be offered. Fun will be had.

Join the family for this special treat on Tuesday, April 2 at 1:00 pm Central/2:00 pm Eastern.

Register for this webinar here. See you there!

Macmillan’s True Crime Podcast: Case Closed

Hear ye, hear ye: podcast lovers, listen up!

Hey now! We’re podcasting! Like bosses! Case Closed, our first ever True Crime Podcast–featuring one murder per episode (from crime to trial to conviction), expertly hosted by St. Martin’s Press VP, Executive Editor, Charlie Spicer–is now available for download wherever you enjoy listening.

Season 1, adapted from CRAZY FOR YOU, explores the 2010 murder of Atlanta businessman Rusty Sneiderman. Sign up for a free trial with the code CLOSED.

Season 2 investigates the murder of Erin Corwin, who was just 19 years old when she kissed her husband Jon goodbye at the Marine base in Twentynine Palms, California, and headed to Joshua Tree National Park to scout hiking trails. It was the last time he would ever see her alive. A true story of marriage, obsession, and murder, based on the book SECRETS OF A MARINE’S WIFE by New York Times bestselling author Shanna Hogan.

New episodes release every Tuesday and are available on every podcast platform.

Maximum Shelf: THE GUEST BOOK

Yesterday’s featured Maximum Shelf Awareness pick was the long-awaited and hotly-anticipated THE GUEST BOOK.

THE GUEST BOOK follows three generations of a powerful American family, a family that “used to run the world.” And when the novel begins in 1935, they still do. Kitty and Ogden Milton appear to have everything—perfect children, good looks, a love everyone envies. But after a tragedy befalls them, Ogden tries to bring Kitty back to life by purchasing an island in Maine. That island, and its house, come to define and burnish the Milton family, year after year after year. And it is there that Kitty issues a refusal that will haunt her till the day she dies.

In 1959 a young Jewish man, Len Levy, will get a job in Ogden’s bank and earn the admiration of Ogden and one of his daughters, but the scorn of everyone else. Len’s best friend, Reg Pauling, has always been the only black man in the room—at Harvard, at work, and finally at the Miltons’ island in Maine. An island that, at the dawn of the twenty-first century, this last generation doesn’t have the money to keep. When Kitty’s granddaughter hears that she and her cousins might be forced to sell it, and when her husband brings back disturbing evidence about her grandfather’s past, she realizes she is on the verge of finally understanding the silences that seemed to hover just below the surface of her family all her life.

“With THE GUEST BOOK, Blake gives readers a modern-day classic that shows how our personal and collective histories are inscribed upon our lives every single day. And once we recognize that, it is up to us to do right by that knowledge, as our actions become our legacy.”–Shelf Awareness

See the full summary, review and interview with Sarah Blake on Shelf-Awareness.com. And enter to win an ARC!

January YA Sweepstakes

We’ve made it to the end of January and we want to share all of our January YA releases with TWO lucky librarians!

To enter, head to our Instagram (@Macmillan_Lib) and find the below photo. (You can also click on the photo below to be taken directly there.) Once you’re there, you’ll fin all of the information on how to enter!

Titles included in the sweepstakes:
THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
A HOPE MORE POWERFUL THAN THE SEA (Young Readers’ Edition) by Melissa Fleming
WHITE STAG by Kara Barbieri
IN PARIS WITH YOU by Clémentine Beauvais

readmoreremove

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

css.php