Free Stuff

Thriller Thursday: Case Closed Podcast

Happy #ThrillerThursday to two bestselling authors with returning series favorites. Plus, a new true crime podcast!

FEARED by Lisa Scottoline
Also available in audio
In the next book in the best-selling Rosato & DiNunzio thriller series, the all-female law firm is hit with a sex discrimination suit. “Series fans and newcomers alike will revel in the partners’ fierce loyalty, served up with an endearingly humorous slice of South Philly family life. A sure bet for legal-thriller fans.” — Booklist

ABANDONED by Allison Brennan
Investigative reporter Max Revere has cracked many cases, but the one investigation she’s never attempted is the mystery from her own past: why her mother abandoned her. “…an enjoyable mix of family story, romance, and thriller. Readers who enjoy strong female leads will finish this one wanting more from award-winner Brennan.” — Booklist

If you’re hooked on The Girls podcast, we’ve got another one to recommend: Case Closed, a new true crime podcast perfect for fans of Serial, Dirty John, Criminal, and other favorites.

Produced by Macmillan Podcasts & Criminal Element, and hosted by renowned true crime book editor Charlie Spicer—a 30-year veteran of St. Martin’s Press who has published more than 100 books—each season of Case Closed will track one murder from crime to trial to conviction. readmoreremove

A LibraryReads Birthday Giveaway!

Fun fact: LibraryReads turns FIVE this month and we’re celebrating with a giveaway! We’re divvying up all 70+ Macmillan LibraryReads picks to date and giving them to FIVE lucky librarians!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: LibraryReads 5) by Sunday, August 19. Make sure to include your library’s mailing address to be placed in the random drawing. Read on for the fine print.

Good luck and Happy Birthday, LibraryReads!

readmoreremove

THE MIDDLEMAN Signed Giveaway

New York Times bestselling author Olen Steinhauer‘s newest standalone thriller, THE MIDDLEMAN, follows the people on all sides of a domestic terrorist group, from the group’s converts to the FBI agents investigating them.

THE MIDDLEMAN is an August 2018 Indie Next pick, has two starred reviews, and one lucky librarian has a chance to win a signed copy!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Middleman) by Sunday, September 2, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address (read on for the fine print).

“Steinhauer has written an unnerving and timely thriller with incredible pivots. From a perspective on activist/terrorist civilian organizations to an examination of Big Brother conspiracy plots, there’s something here for everyone to grip—with white knuckles.” — Library Journal, starred review

“Steinhauer is a master at layering gray upon gray, motive upon motive…. Another must-read from a modern master.” — Booklist, starred review readmoreremove

Introducing “The Girls” Podcast

Courtney Summers’ YA thriller SADIE is already making noise:
Booklist
‘s starred review called it “captivating.”
Kirkus Reviews‘s starred review called it “A riveting tour de force.”
Our very own YA gal, Emily, called it “heartbreaking and haunting.”
And now it’s making even more noise!

Coming August 1 to a pair of headphones near you: The Girls, a “true crime” podcast based on SADIE!

Follow along with West McCray’s (fictional) investigation as he searches for Sadie Hunter, a nineteen-year-old girl who disappeared after her little sister was brutally murdered.

Click here to subscribe to the podcast and listen to a teaser, and be sure to tune in on August 1 to help West McCray #FindSadie. readmoreremove

July 2018 E-Galley Recommendations

First, if you’re not whitelisted (pre-approved) for Macmillan’s e-galleys on Edelweiss, DO IT! Then download and read these fresh, forthcoming Macmillan titles:

Fiction:
DAUGHTER OF MOLOKA’I by Alan Brennert
GODSEND by John Wray
PARIS ECHO by Sebastian Faulks
RECEPTOR by Alan Glynn

Mystery/Thriller:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
NO MERCY by Joanna Schaffhausen
THE PERFECT LIAR by Thomas Christopher Greene
REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox
SINS AS SCARLET by Nicolas Obregon

Nonfiction:
ONE PERSON, NO VOTE: How Voter Suppression Is Destroying Our Democracy by Carol Anderson
THE RAVENMASTER: My Life with the Ravens at the Tower of London by Christopher Skaife readmoreremove

RESCUED Signed Giveaway

We adore Shamus Award-winning author David Rosenfelt’s witty, heartfelt mystery series featuring lawyer Andy Carpenter and his faithful golden retriever, Tara. And not just because they have the cutest dogs on the covers, but it does help. (KUGEL!! You’re needed for a photo op! 😉 )

We’re giving away a signed copy of the newest Andy Carpenter mystery, RESCUED, to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Rescued) by Sunday, August 5, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

UPDATE 8/6/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to our winner, Lyndsey Ammons from Saline County Library, Benton AR!

readmoreremove

Sign Up Now: “Summer Book Club Bash” Booklist Webinar

Go beyond the beach with great summer reading suggestions perfect for book clubs. Listen to Anne Spieth share her favorite picks at Booklist‘s “Summer Book Club Bash” webinar on Tuesday, July 31 at 1pm Central.

Click here to RSVP. See you there!

Winter 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Exciting news: Macmillan’s Winter 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

Take your time to peruse all of the excellent new Macmillan books coming out early next year. As always, don’t hesitate to get in touch with us if you have questions.

Click here for the full list of Macmillan Winter 2019 catalogs available by publisher.

A GATHERING OF SECRETS Signed Giveaway

We adore New York Times bestselling author Linda Castillo and her Kate Burkholder series, set in Ohio’s Amish country featuring a formerly Amish chief of police. In the newest series entry, A GATHERING OF SECRETS, a deadly fire burns a historic barn to the ground—with a young Amish man inside.

We’re giving away a signed copy of A GATHERING OF SECRETS to ONE lucky librarian!

To enter the giveaway, simply email Library@MacmillanUSA.com from your professional/library-issued e-mail address (subject: Gathering of Secrets) by Sunday, July 1, and make sure to include your library’s mailing address. Read on for the fine print—good luck!

UPDATE 7/2/18: This giveaway is now closed. Congratulations to Ginny Collier, Manager, Collection Management & Technical Services, Atlanta-Fulton Public Library System, Atlanta GA!

A GATHERING OF SECRETS will be available July 10, 2018 from Minotaur Books and Macmillan Audio. readmoreremove

RSVP Now: “Crime Fiction for Mystery Month” Booklist Webinar

Booklist’s eighth annual Mystery Month starts with a bang in May—prepare your alibi by attending this killer webinar of forthcoming mysteries, thrillers, and espionage novels for adult readers on Thursday, April 26 at 1pm Central!

Anne “sweet teeth” Spieth will be sharing the best new mysteries from Macmillan and we hear that Booklist moderator Annie Bostrom, Adult Books Associate Editor, will provide getaway maps and legal advice (wink wink).

Click here to RSVP.

css.php