Deep Thoughts

Remembering Rosamunde Pilcher

Bestselling author Rosamunde Pilcher passed away last week at the age of 94. We are honored to have published many of her books, including THE SHELL SEEKERS, SEPTEMBER, COMING HOME, WINTER SOLSTICE, and many more.

Rosamunde Pilcher had a long and distinguished career as a novelist and short-story writer, but it was her phenomenally successful novel THE SHELL SEEKERS that captured the hearts of all who read it and won her international recognition as one of the most-loved storytellers of our time. She was an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) and lived in Dundee, Scotland.

Fall 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Exciting news: Macmillan’s Fall 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

EVERY BOOK we are publishing from August 2019 to December 2019 awaits you… What are you waiting for???!! DIVE IN!

Nonfiction Spotlight on UNEXAMPLED COURAGE

This week’s nonfiction spotlight highlights a largely-unknown incident in American history that sparked a Civil Rights revolution in UNEXAMPLED COURAGE: The Blinding of Sgt. Isaac Woodard and the Awakening of President Harry S. Truman and Judge J. Waties Waring by Richard Gergel.

On February 12, 1946, Sergeant Isaac Woodard, a returning, decorated African American veteran, was removed from a Greyhound bus in Batesburg, South Carolina, after he challenged the bus driver’s disrespectful treatment of him. Woodard, in uniform, was arrested by the local police chief, Lynwood Shull, and beaten and blinded while in custody.

Read more about the history and how the author discovered the story here in the New York Times, and check out an excerpt here.

Two starred reviews!

“Gergel is both an astute researcher and an engaging writer, bringing this significant story to vivid life. Civil rights history at its most compelling.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A]n important work on the prehistory of the civil rights struggle and an insightful account of how a single incident can inspire massive social and political changes.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Day’s YA – TIN HEART

Happy Friday, YA librarians!

My latest pick is chock-full of heart, wit, & just the right amount of absurdity.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza
9781250312761
Ages 12 to 18
Available March 12, 2019 from Flatiron Books

After seventeen-year-old Marlowe undergoes a life-saving heart transplant, all she wants to do is start living a normal life and thank her donor’s family. But her life was never normal and her donor’s family has no interest in hearing from her. After Marlowe’s letters of gratitude are rejected, she takes on a fake name and befriends Carmen, whom she believes is her donor’s sister. On top of all of that, Marlowe, the daughter of a self-proclaimed Vegan warrior, is falling for the butcher’s son! (#SCANDAL) Could her life get any more complicated? Probably.

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – CARRY ON

Happy New Year, YA pals!

My first post of 2019 celebrates a YA classic…

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
9781250049551
Ages 13 to 18
Available in
hardcover, trade paperback, e-book, and audio (basically any format you want)

If you’ve read FANGIRL, you know all about Simon and Baz, the main characters in Cath’s fan-fiction. In CARRY ON, YA Queen Rainbow Rowell gives Simon and Baz an entire novel of magic, intrigue, and LOTS of moody staring.

Simon is entering his final year at Watford School of Magicks. But, let’s briefly recap his previous six: Simon is deemed The Chosen One and is forced to defeat the Insidious Humdrum—a villian that is nearly identical to an 11-year-old version of himself. Yikes!

readmoreremove

Get Ready for the 2020 Election Season

The 2020 election season has officially begun, with Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren launching an exploratory committee for the presidency. Here are the two books from the Senator herself explaining who she is and what she stands for:

A FIGHTING CHANCE
The inspiring story of the two-decade journey that taught Warren how Washington really works—and really doesn’t.

THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class
A passionate, inspiring book about why our middle class is under siege and how we can win the fight to save it.

Holiday Break, and Happy Reading!

♫♪♫♫♪ ‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the Flatiron Building, not a publicist was pitching, not even a phone a’ringing. The books were already put up on the shelves with care, because no one at Macmillan would be there. ♫♪♫♫♪

Macmillan’s offices are closed from 12/24/18-1/1/19. May your days be merry and bright, enjoy the holidays with friends and family, and we’ll see you in 2019!

We intend to do a lot of reading while we’re off on our long, winter break and we hope you do, too. Here’s just a taste of what we’ll be digging into:

Amanda

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey 
A private investigator is hired to solve a murder at the magic school where her estranged twin sister teaches–a murder mystery + family tension X exclusive magic abilities = an awesome debut.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – ENCHANTÉE

Welcome to the final Day’s YA post of 2018!

Read on for magic, deception, and hot air balloons! And see you all back here in 2019!

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease
9781250295521
Ages 12 to 18
Available February 5, 2019 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Young Listeners

In order to provide for her chronically ill sister and to escape an abusive thieving brother, Camille uses forbidden magic to transform herself into Cécile Descharlots, Baroness de la Fontaine. As the Baroness, Camille swindles wealthy young Versaille aristocrats out of their precious coins. The glamorous palace life and the attention of a handsome hot air balloon inventor are intoxicating—but the line between her two disparate lives begins to blur as the French Revolution ignites around her.

 


ENCHANTÉE is a Cinderella-esque story with more layers than Marie Antoinette’s cakes. The stakes are high, the magic system is unlike that of any other YA fantasy, and the descriptions of Paris and Versailles are simply enchanting. The cast of characters that Camille encounters are equally humorous and maddening, and their obsession for excess and luxury juxtaposes perfectly with the poverty experienced by Camille’s family.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – THE GILDED WOLVES

Happy Friday, YA folks!

Are you a fan of Ocean’s 11, Moulin Rouge, or THE NIGHT CIRCUS (or perhaps all three)? Then stop what you’re doing and read this book ASAP, because it was written for you!

 

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
9781250144546
Ages 12 to 18
Available January 15, 2019 from Wednesday Books

It’s 1889 Paris, and the city is abuzz. The World’s Fair is coming and a new, glimmering tower at the edge of the Siene is under construction. Séverin Montagnet-Alarie owns the L’Eden Hotel, but he was born to hunt treasures. Which is why the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, chooses him to track down a mysterious ancient artifact. To do so Séverin needs the help of his friends—an eccentric group of experts, each with their own unique speciality.

 

There’s Leila, a cabaret dancer with secrets of her own;
Enrique, the beautiful historian with a flirty side;
Zofia, the awkward and nerdy engineer extraordinaire;
Tristan, the little brother of the group who annoys the others with his pet tarantula, Goliath;
And Hypnos, the charming outsider whose trustworthiness is more than a little questionable.

This misfit crew is truly a family—they love, fight, laugh, and annoy each other. The ensemble group shines—each with their own motivation and unique perspective, but their stories intertwine beautifully. And OH, THE BANTER. Truly irresistible. readmoreremove

css.php