Deep Thoughts

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – CARRY ON

Happy New Year, YA pals!

My first post of 2019 celebrates a YA classic…

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
9781250049551
Ages 13 to 18
Available in
hardcover, trade paperback, e-book, and audio (basically any format you want)

If you’ve read FANGIRL, you know all about Simon and Baz, the main characters in Cath’s fan-fiction. In CARRY ON, YA Queen Rainbow Rowell gives Simon and Baz an entire novel of magic, intrigue, and LOTS of moody staring.

Simon is entering his final year at Watford School of Magicks. But, let’s briefly recap his previous six: Simon is deemed The Chosen One and is forced to defeat the Insidious Humdrum—a villian that is nearly identical to an 11-year-old version of himself. Yikes!

readmoreremove

Get Ready for the 2020 Election Season

The 2020 election season has officially begun, with Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren launching an exploratory committee for the presidency. Here are the two books from the Senator herself explaining who she is and what she stands for:

A FIGHTING CHANCE
The inspiring story of the two-decade journey that taught Warren how Washington really works—and really doesn’t.

THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class
A passionate, inspiring book about why our middle class is under siege and how we can win the fight to save it.

Holiday Break, and Happy Reading!

♫♪♫♫♪ ‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the Flatiron Building, not a publicist was pitching, not even a phone a’ringing. The books were already put up on the shelves with care, because no one at Macmillan would be there. ♫♪♫♫♪

Macmillan’s offices are closed from 12/24/18-1/1/19. May your days be merry and bright, enjoy the holidays with friends and family, and we’ll see you in 2019!

We intend to do a lot of reading while we’re off on our long, winter break and we hope you do, too. Here’s just a taste of what we’ll be digging into:

Amanda

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey 
A private investigator is hired to solve a murder at the magic school where her estranged twin sister teaches–a murder mystery + family tension X exclusive magic abilities = an awesome debut.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – ENCHANTÉE

Welcome to the final Day’s YA post of 2018!

Read on for magic, deception, and hot air balloons! And see you all back here in 2019!

ENCHANTÉE by Gita Trelease
9781250295521
Ages 12 to 18
Available February 5, 2019 from Flatiron Books and Macmillan Young Listeners

In order to provide for her chronically ill sister and to escape an abusive thieving brother, Camille uses forbidden magic to transform herself into Cécile Descharlots, Baroness de la Fontaine. As the Baroness, Camille swindles wealthy young Versaille aristocrats out of their precious coins. The glamorous palace life and the attention of a handsome hot air balloon inventor are intoxicating—but the line between her two disparate lives begins to blur as the French Revolution ignites around her.

 

ENCHANTÉE is a Cinderella-esque story with more layers than Marie Antoinette’s cakes. The stakes are high, the magic system is unlike that of any other YA fantasy, and the descriptions of Paris and Versailles are simply enchanting. The cast of characters that Camille encounters are equally humorous and maddening, and their obsession for excess and luxury juxtaposes perfectly with the poverty experienced by Camille’s family.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – THE GILDED WOLVES

Happy Friday, YA folks!

Are you a fan of Ocean’s 11, Moulin Rouge, or THE NIGHT CIRCUS (or perhaps all three)? Then stop what you’re doing and read this book ASAP, because it was written for you!

 

THE GILDED WOLVES by Roshani Chokshi
9781250144546
Ages 12 to 18
Available January 15, 2019 from Wednesday Books

It’s 1889 Paris, and the city is abuzz. The World’s Fair is coming and a new, glimmering tower at the edge of the Siene is under construction. Séverin Montagnet-Alarie owns the L’Eden Hotel, but he was born to hunt treasures. Which is why the all-powerful society, the Order of Babel, chooses him to track down a mysterious ancient artifact. To do so Séverin needs the help of his friends—an eccentric group of experts, each with their own unique speciality.

 

There’s Leila, a cabaret dancer with secrets of her own;
Enrique, the beautiful historian with a flirty side;
Zofia, the awkward and nerdy engineer extraordinaire;
Tristan, the little brother of the group who annoys the others with his pet tarantula, Goliath;
And Hypnos, the charming outsider whose trustworthiness is more than a little questionable.

This misfit crew is truly a family—they love, fight, laugh, and annoy each other. The ensemble group shines—each with their own motivation and unique perspective, but their stories intertwine beautifully. And OH, THE BANTER. Truly irresistible. readmoreremove

Donna Seaman Interviews Wayétu Moore

Earlier this month, Booklist‘s Donna Seaman interviewed debut novelist Wayétu Moore about SHE WOULD BE KING, the fifth Sarah Jessica Parker Pick for Book Club Central. The two covered everything from the importance of telling stories to how Liberian history is central to that of our own. Read on.

Click for a Discussion GuideRead-Alike TitlesDownloadable Images, and an Interview.

 

Remembering Ntozake Shange

Award-winning writer Ntozake Shange passed away last weekend at the age of 70. We are honored to have published SOME SING, SOME CRY (written with her sister Ifa Bayeza).

Her works include the Tony Award-nominated and Obie Award-winning FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED SUICIDE/WHEN THE RAINBOW IS ENUF, as well as SASSAFRASS, CYPRESS & INDIGO and LILIANE. Among her honors and awards are fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation and the Lila Wallace-Reader’s Digest Fund and a Pushcart Prize.

Remembering Poet Tony Hoagland

Graywolf Press poet Tony Hoagland (1953–2018) succumbed to pancreatic cancer earlier this week, and to help commemorate his life in letters, we’ve compiled an Edelweiss collection of his poetry, including WHAT NARCISSISM MEANS TO ME, a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and his most recent collection, PRIEST TURNED THERAPIST TREATS FEAR OF GOD.

Tony Hoagland’s poems interrogate human nature and contemporary culture with an intimate and wild urgency, located somewhere between outrage, stand-up comedy, and grief.

“Few [poets] deliver more pure pleasure. His erudite comic poems are backloaded with heartache and longing, and they function, emotionally, like improvised explosive devices.” —Dwight Garner, The New York Times

“When we wake up each morning, though, we have to live in the banal folly (and comfort) of capitalism today, and we need to live as if it is still possible to make moral and compassionate choices. Tony Hoagland writes poetry for that part of our lives.”      —Mark Halliday, Pleiades

Welcome to Macmillan Library Marketing, Amanda!

Hello librarians!

I’m baaaack! After spending the past year in special sales, I am so excited to jump back into the amazing world of library marketing. I just couldn’t resist joining Talia and Emily’s epic team and finally sharing my love of books and libraries with you all once again. I’m happy to help with any title questions, galley requests, or general fan-girling over your latest great book find.

I can’t wait to see you at our buzzes or conferences, and if you find a book you love, I would love to chat about it! For anyone I haven’t met yet, I’m a big fan of all things genre, so I’d love to geek out with anyone who feels the same. But like any book lover, I’ll read anything that comes with a good recommendation.

Please feel free to reach out to me at amanda.rountree@macmillan.com, on the phone at 646-307-5169, or through our twitter @MacmillanLib. Let’s talk books!

–Amanda

css.php