Deep Thoughts

All Hail Emily Day, a PW Star Watch 2019 Honoree!

As if you didn’t already know, our very own Marketing Coordinator/YA Specialist Emily Day is officially AWESOME!

Publishers Weekly, in association with Frankfurter Buchmesse, has picked 50 honorees from the publishing/bookselling communities, known for their “trailblazing spirit, innovative problem-solving, and leadership qualities,” and obviously the list would not be complete without Emily.

From her Day’s YA reviews, to our beautiful Instagram page, to hella cool enamel pins, Emily has proven her innovative spirit, and now we wish her a hearty congratulations!

Author Spotlight: Eve Ensler

Today we celebrate body activist and female advocate extraordinaire, Eve Ensler.

Eve Ensler is an internationally bestselling author and an award-winning playwright whose works include THE VAGINA MONOLOGUES, THE GOOD BODY, INSECURE AT LAST, and I AM AN EMOTIONAL CREATURE, since adapted for the stage as Emotional Creature. She is the founder of V-Day, the global movement to end violence against women and girls, which has raised more than $90 million for local groups and activists, and inspired the global action One Billion Rising.

Like millions of women, Eve Ensler has been waiting much of her lifetime for an apology. Sexually and physically abused by her father, Eve has struggled her whole life from this betrayal, longing for an honest reckoning from a man who is long dead. After years of work as an anti-violence activist, she decided she would wait no longer; an apology could be imagined, by her, for her, to her. THE APOLOGY, written by Eve from her father’s point of view in the words she longed to hear, attempts to transform the abuse she suffered with unflinching truthfulness, compassion, and an expansive vision for the future.

readmoreremove

Happy Earth Day 2019!

Happy Earth Day! Check out our new and essential books on everything from climate change to fracking:

LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
“Rich, a novelist (KING ZENO, 2018) and journalist, turns his widely discussed 2018 investigation for the New York Times Magazine into an exceedingly well-written history of the early political battles over addressing climate change… LOSING EARTH is eloquent, devastating, and crucial.”–Booklist, starred review

THE SIXTH EXTINCTION: An Unnatural History by Elizabeth Kolbert
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
“Throughout her extensive and passionately collected research, Kolbert offers a highly readable, enlightening report on the global and historical impact of humans… a highly significant eye-opener rich in facts and enjoyment.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

AMITY AND PROSPERITY: One Family and the Fracturing of America by Eliza Griswold
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize
“An important addition to the emerging genre of works about fracking and its environmental and human costs. This will find large audiences among concerned citizens and warrants the attention of public officials as well as fans of J.D. Vance’s HILLBILLY ELEGY.”–Library Journal, starred review

readmoreremove

Booklist Recommends: On Diversity and Immigration

Keep your patrons in the know with these two Booklist best of lists on diversity and immigration:

Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill

“With a lyricism that sings, swings, and stings, poet and writer Hill reflects on black women who resisted violent racism and misogyny, ranging from the notable and notorious (Fannie Lou Hamer, Eartha Kitt, Ida B. Wells, Joanne Little) to lesser-known, no-less-heroic women.”–Booklist, starred review

FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, and Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers

2019 NAACP Image Award Winner

“This trailblazing crew of black women, self-described ‘Colored Girls,’ have been in the room with power brokers since the 1960s and have wielded significant influence on Democratic presidential campaigns and administrations… Told with obvious deep respect and affection, this is a spirited look at the politics and personal lives of four iconic women.”–Booklist, starred review

Click here for the full Top 10 list.

Read-alikes: Tales from the Border

Have you read THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ: A Border Story by Aaron Bobrow-Strain?

“In this caring and unforgettable borderland saga, Bobrow-Strain reveals the profound personal toll of the immigration crisis.”–Booklist, starred review

“This potent, important work, which ‘occupies a space between journalism and ethnography, with a dash of oral history and biography,’ adds much to the continuing immigration debate.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

If you loved THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ, Booklist recommends these read-alikes.

For more similarly-themed title recommendations, click here.

Libraries = Strong Communities: Happy National Library Week 2019!

From April 7-13, we celebrate the vital role libraries play in our lives and communities.

And one woman who knows this as well as anyone is Melinda Gates, author of the upcoming THE MOMENT OF LIFT: How Empowering Women Changes the World.

Melinda was chosen as this year’s National Library Week Honorary Chair and spoke at ALA Midwinter in Seattle about the importance of libraries. Click here or the image above to watch part of her speech.

You can also find more resources on how YOU can celebrate libraries this week here.

Tweet your love of libraries all week long with the hashtag #NationalLibraryWeek.

An Interview with Jennifer Berry Hawes

After the tragic shootings at the Mother Emanuel AME church, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jennifer Berry Hawes knew this was a story that needed telling. In GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness, she offers a moving portrait of the events and emotions that emerged in the massacre’s wake. Today, Hawes joins us to share more about her writing experience, to highlight a courageous librarian named Cynthia Hurd, and to talk about life as a Charlestonian since that terrible day in 2015.

***

How did you decide you wanted to write a book on the massacre?

I didn’t think about writing a book until five or six months after June 17, 2015. I had been covering the aftermath of the shooting for the newspaper I work for in Charleston and had begun to realize that, while the massacre itself had caused such unimaginable pain for the survivors and the victims’ loved ones, it was only the opening chapter of a much more complex story. I have since come to think of mass shootings as akin to tossing a rock into a pond. The initial impact disrupts the surface in obvious ways. But then ripple upon ripple of disruption spreads from that impact. This is what happens after these events, and happened here, from divisions among families and the church to divisions within families grappling with so much pain. Add in critical issues to our nation–race and gun violence–and this became a much more complicated story than we could tell in our newspaper. My editors agreed. As people who live and breathe Charleston, we wanted to bear witness to this deeper narrative.

Tell us a little about the librarian, Cynthia Hurd, one of the nine people killed in the church.

To me, the lush garden of climbing roses and overflowing window boxes that Cynthia meticulously tended outside of her home beautifully illustrates her essence. She was a helper, a nurturer, a warm spirit who greeted people with a wide, toothy smile. When her sister, Jackie, was diagnosed with cancer just a couple of weeks before the shooting, Jackie called Cynthia first. “I got you,” Cynthia promised, and everyone knew she meant it. When Cynthia agreed to stay at Bible study on June 17, she had plans to go with Jackie, who lived two states away, to meet with doctors and discuss her treatment options the following week.

readmoreremove

Amy Klobuchar Joins the 2020 Presidential Race

Another Macmillan author has joined the 2020 Presidential Race! Keep your patrons in the know with Senator Amy Klobuchar’s optimistic, plainspoken and often very funny memoir.

THE SENATOR NEXT DOOR: A Memoir from the Heartland
Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar has tackled every obstacle she’s encountered–her parents’ divorce, her father’s alcoholism and recovery, her political campaigns and Washington’s gridlock–with honesty, humor and pluck. Now, in THE SENATOR NEXT DOOR, she chronicles her remarkable heartland journey, from her immigrant grandparents to her middle-class suburban upbringing to her rise in American politics.

Sign Up Now: “Macmillan Spring Fling” Webinar

Hear from Team Macmillan Library, Tor/Forge, and Bloomsbury in this one-hour webinar featuring our very best Spring 2019 reads! We’ll begin with our favorite Adult picks and wrap up with YA and select Middle Grade titles. ARCs and other goodies will be offered. Fun will be had.

Join the family for this special treat on Tuesday, April 2 at 1:00 pm Central/2:00 pm Eastern.

Register for this webinar here. See you there!

Shelfie with Veronica Chambers

We recently challenged author Veronica Chambers (QUEEN BEY and THE MEANING OF MICHELLE among many others) to a shelfie. Would she dare to show us (and thousands of our librarian pals) her favorite shelf in her personal library? What truths might it reveal about her as a reader and as a person? Well, we’re pleased to say that Ms. Chambers was undaunted and offered a fantastic snapshot of both the shelf and the “why” behind it.

Enjoy!

****

I moved to the United States (from Panama, by way of England) when I was five-years-old. My parents were new Americans, both big readers, but money was always tight. I remember my library card and the Brooklyn Public Library at 1000 Utica Avenue, the way some kids remember softball mitts and playing fields. The library card was an extension of my hand. The library was my playing field.

readmoreremove

Bernie Sanders Enters the 2020 Presidential Race

Bernie Sanders announced his intention to join the 2020 presidential race, and Macmillan has the books to reacquaint your patrons with his core beliefs and his plans for the future if elected.

OUR REVOLUTION: A Future to Believe In
Sanders shares his personal experiences from the 2016 campaign trail, recounting the details of his historic primary fight and the people who made it possible. And for the millions looking to continue the political revolution, he outlines a progressive economic, environmental, racial, and social justice agenda that will create jobs, raise wages, protect the environment, and provide health care for all–and ultimately transform our country and our world for the better. For him, the political revolution has just started.

WHERE WE GO FROM HERE: Two Years in the Resistance
America’s most popular political figure speaks about what he’s been doing to oppose the Trump agenda and strengthen the progressive movement and how we go forward as a nation.

css.php