Deep Thoughts

Booklist Recommends: On Diversity and Immigration

Keep your patrons in the know with these two Booklist best of lists on diversity and immigration:

Top 10 Diverse Nonfiction

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill

“With a lyricism that sings, swings, and stings, poet and writer Hill reflects on black women who resisted violent racism and misogyny, ranging from the notable and notorious (Fannie Lou Hamer, Eartha Kitt, Ida B. Wells, Joanne Little) to lesser-known, no-less-heroic women.”–Booklist, starred review

FOR COLORED GIRLS WHO HAVE CONSIDERED POLITICS by Donna Brazile, Yolanda Caraway, Leah Daughtry, and Minyon Moore with Veronica Chambers

2019 NAACP Image Award Winner

“This trailblazing crew of black women, self-described ‘Colored Girls,’ have been in the room with power brokers since the 1960s and have wielded significant influence on Democratic presidential campaigns and administrations… Told with obvious deep respect and affection, this is a spirited look at the politics and personal lives of four iconic women.”–Booklist, starred review

Click here for the full Top 10 list.

Read-alikes: Tales from the Border

Have you read THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ: A Border Story by Aaron Bobrow-Strain?

“In this caring and unforgettable borderland saga, Bobrow-Strain reveals the profound personal toll of the immigration crisis.”–Booklist, starred review

“This potent, important work, which ‘occupies a space between journalism and ethnography, with a dash of oral history and biography,’ adds much to the continuing immigration debate.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

If you loved THE DEATH AND LIFE OF AIDA HERNANDEZ, Booklist recommends these read-alikes.

For more similarly-themed title recommendations, click here.

Libraries = Strong Communities: Happy National Library Week 2019!

From April 7-13, we celebrate the vital role libraries play in our lives and communities.

And one woman who knows this as well as anyone is Melinda Gates, author of the upcoming THE MOMENT OF LIFT: How Empowering Women Changes the World.

Melinda was chosen as this year’s National Library Week Honorary Chair and spoke at ALA Midwinter in Seattle about the importance of libraries. Click here or the image above to watch part of her speech.

You can also find more resources on how YOU can celebrate libraries this week here.

Tweet your love of libraries all week long with the hashtag #NationalLibraryWeek.

An Interview with Jennifer Berry Hawes

After the tragic shootings at the Mother Emanuel AME church, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Jennifer Berry Hawes knew this was a story that needed telling. In GRACE WILL LEAD US HOME: The Charleston Church Massacre and the Hard, Inspiring Journey to Forgiveness, she offers a moving portrait of the events and emotions that emerged in the massacre’s wake. Today, Hawes joins us to share more about her writing experience, to highlight a courageous librarian named Cynthia Hurd, and to talk about life as a Charlestonian since that terrible day in 2015.

***

How did you decide you wanted to write a book on the massacre?

I didn’t think about writing a book until five or six months after June 17, 2015. I had been covering the aftermath of the shooting for the newspaper I work for in Charleston and had begun to realize that, while the massacre itself had caused such unimaginable pain for the survivors and the victims’ loved ones, it was only the opening chapter of a much more complex story. I have since come to think of mass shootings as akin to tossing a rock into a pond. The initial impact disrupts the surface in obvious ways. But then ripple upon ripple of disruption spreads from that impact. This is what happens after these events, and happened here, from divisions among families and the church to divisions within families grappling with so much pain. Add in critical issues to our nation–race and gun violence–and this became a much more complicated story than we could tell in our newspaper. My editors agreed. As people who live and breathe Charleston, we wanted to bear witness to this deeper narrative.

Tell us a little about the librarian, Cynthia Hurd, one of the nine people killed in the church.

To me, the lush garden of climbing roses and overflowing window boxes that Cynthia meticulously tended outside of her home beautifully illustrates her essence. She was a helper, a nurturer, a warm spirit who greeted people with a wide, toothy smile. When her sister, Jackie, was diagnosed with cancer just a couple of weeks before the shooting, Jackie called Cynthia first. “I got you,” Cynthia promised, and everyone knew she meant it. When Cynthia agreed to stay at Bible study on June 17, she had plans to go with Jackie, who lived two states away, to meet with doctors and discuss her treatment options the following week.

readmoreremove

Amy Klobuchar Joins the 2020 Presidential Race

Another Macmillan author has joined the 2020 Presidential Race! Keep your patrons in the know with Senator Amy Klobuchar’s optimistic, plainspoken and often very funny memoir.

THE SENATOR NEXT DOOR: A Memoir from the Heartland
Minnesota Senator Amy Klobuchar has tackled every obstacle she’s encountered–her parents’ divorce, her father’s alcoholism and recovery, her political campaigns and Washington’s gridlock–with honesty, humor and pluck. Now, in THE SENATOR NEXT DOOR, she chronicles her remarkable heartland journey, from her immigrant grandparents to her middle-class suburban upbringing to her rise in American politics.

Sign Up Now: “Macmillan Spring Fling” Webinar

Hear from Team Macmillan Library, Tor/Forge, and Bloomsbury in this one-hour webinar featuring our very best Spring 2019 reads! We’ll begin with our favorite Adult picks and wrap up with YA and select Middle Grade titles. ARCs and other goodies will be offered. Fun will be had.

Join the family for this special treat on Tuesday, April 2 at 1:00 pm Central/2:00 pm Eastern.

Register for this webinar here. See you there!

Shelfie with Veronica Chambers

We recently challenged author Veronica Chambers (QUEEN BEY and THE MEANING OF MICHELLE among many others) to a shelfie. Would she dare to show us (and thousands of our librarian pals) her favorite shelf in her personal library? What truths might it reveal about her as a reader and as a person? Well, we’re pleased to say that Ms. Chambers was undaunted and offered a fantastic snapshot of both the shelf and the “why” behind it.

Enjoy!

****

I moved to the United States (from Panama, by way of England) when I was five-years-old. My parents were new Americans, both big readers, but money was always tight. I remember my library card and the Brooklyn Public Library at 1000 Utica Avenue, the way some kids remember softball mitts and playing fields. The library card was an extension of my hand. The library was my playing field.

readmoreremove

Bernie Sanders Enters the 2020 Presidential Race

Bernie Sanders announced his intention to join the 2020 presidential race, and Macmillan has the books to reacquaint your patrons with his core beliefs and his plans for the future if elected.

OUR REVOLUTION: A Future to Believe In
Sanders shares his personal experiences from the 2016 campaign trail, recounting the details of his historic primary fight and the people who made it possible. And for the millions looking to continue the political revolution, he outlines a progressive economic, environmental, racial, and social justice agenda that will create jobs, raise wages, protect the environment, and provide health care for all–and ultimately transform our country and our world for the better. For him, the political revolution has just started.

WHERE WE GO FROM HERE: Two Years in the Resistance
America’s most popular political figure speaks about what he’s been doing to oppose the Trump agenda and strengthen the progressive movement and how we go forward as a nation.

Women’s History Month 2019

March is Women’s History Month, and today we celebrate their powerful voices with these fierce reads:

PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
DIVIDED WE STAND: The Battle Over Women’s Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie Spruill
A WARRIOR OF THE PEOPLE: How Susan La Flesche Overcame Racial and Gender Inequality to Become America’s First Indian Doctor by Joe Starita
RENAISSANCE WOMAN: The Life of Vittoria Colonna by Romie Targoff
THE QUEEN’S EMBROIDERER: A True Story of Paris, Lovers, Swindlers, and the First Stock Market Crisis by Joan DeJean
BECAUSE OF SEX: One Law, Ten Cases, and Fifty Years That Changed American Women’s Lives at Work by Gillian Thomas
MRS. SHERLOCK HOLMES: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case That Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca
BRINGING DOWN THE COLONEL: A Sex Scandal of the Gilded Age, and the “Powerless” Woman Who Took On Washington by Patricia Miller
NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga
THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class by Elizabeth Warren
MINORITY LEADER: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change by Stacey Abrams
QUEEN VICTORIA: Twenty-Four Days That Changed Her Life by Lucy Worsley
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age
by Mary Pipher
A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
OUTRAGEOUS ACTS AND EVERYDAY REBELLIONS: Third Edition by Gloria Steinem
A DANGEROUS WOMAN: American Beauty, Noted Philanthropist, Nazi Collaborator–The Life of Florence Gould by Susan Ronald
THIS WOMAN’S WORK by Julie Delporte
ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper
QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
MOTHER IS A VERB: An Unconventional History by Sarah Knott

Remembering Rosamunde Pilcher

Bestselling author Rosamunde Pilcher passed away last week at the age of 94. We are honored to have published many of her books, including THE SHELL SEEKERS, SEPTEMBER, COMING HOME, WINTER SOLSTICE, and many more.

Rosamunde Pilcher had a long and distinguished career as a novelist and short-story writer, but it was her phenomenally successful novel THE SHELL SEEKERS that captured the hearts of all who read it and won her international recognition as one of the most-loved storytellers of our time. She was an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) and lived in Dundee, Scotland.

Fall 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Exciting news: Macmillan’s Fall 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

EVERY BOOK we are publishing from August 2019 to December 2019 awaits you… What are you waiting for???!! DIVE IN!

css.php