Deep Thoughts

Bernie Sanders Enters the 2020 Presidential Race

Bernie Sanders announced his intention to join the 2020 presidential race, and Macmillan has the books to reacquaint your patrons with his core beliefs and his plans for the future if elected.

OUR REVOLUTION: A Future to Believe In
Sanders shares his personal experiences from the 2016 campaign trail, recounting the details of his historic primary fight and the people who made it possible. And for the millions looking to continue the political revolution, he outlines a progressive economic, environmental, racial, and social justice agenda that will create jobs, raise wages, protect the environment, and provide health care for all–and ultimately transform our country and our world for the better. For him, the political revolution has just started.

WHERE WE GO FROM HERE: Two Years in the Resistance
America’s most popular political figure speaks about what he’s been doing to oppose the Trump agenda and strengthen the progressive movement and how we go forward as a nation.

Women’s History Month 2019

March is Women’s History Month, and today we celebrate their powerful voices with these fierce reads:

PRAIRIE FIRES: The American Dreams of Laura Ingalls Wilder by Caroline Fraser
DIVIDED WE STAND: The Battle Over Women’s Rights and Family Values That Polarized American Politics by Marjorie Spruill
A WARRIOR OF THE PEOPLE: How Susan La Flesche Overcame Racial and Gender Inequality to Become America’s First Indian Doctor by Joe Starita
RENAISSANCE WOMAN: The Life of Vittoria Colonna by Romie Targoff
THE QUEEN’S EMBROIDERER: A True Story of Paris, Lovers, Swindlers, and the First Stock Market Crisis by Joan DeJean
BECAUSE OF SEX: One Law, Ten Cases, and Fifty Years That Changed American Women’s Lives at Work by Gillian Thomas
MRS. SHERLOCK HOLMES: The True Story of New York City’s Greatest Female Detective and the 1917 Missing Girl Case That Captivated a Nation by Brad Ricca
BRINGING DOWN THE COLONEL: A Sex Scandal of the Gilded Age, and the “Powerless” Woman Who Took On Washington by Patricia Miller
NATIVE COUNTRY OF THE HEART: A Memoir by Cherríe Moraga
THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class by Elizabeth Warren
MINORITY LEADER: How to Build Your Future and Make Real Change by Stacey Abrams
QUEEN VICTORIA: Twenty-Four Days That Changed Her Life by Lucy Worsley
WOMEN ROWING NORTH: Navigating Life’s Currents and Flourishing As We Age
by Mary Pipher
A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
OUTRAGEOUS ACTS AND EVERYDAY REBELLIONS: Third Edition by Gloria Steinem
A DANGEROUS WOMAN: American Beauty, Noted Philanthropist, Nazi Collaborator–The Life of Florence Gould by Susan Ronald
THIS WOMAN’S WORK by Julie Delporte
ELOQUENT RAGE: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower by Brittney Cooper
QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
MOTHER IS A VERB: An Unconventional History by Sarah Knott

Remembering Rosamunde Pilcher

Bestselling author Rosamunde Pilcher passed away last week at the age of 94. We are honored to have published many of her books, including THE SHELL SEEKERS, SEPTEMBER, COMING HOME, WINTER SOLSTICE, and many more.

Rosamunde Pilcher had a long and distinguished career as a novelist and short-story writer, but it was her phenomenally successful novel THE SHELL SEEKERS that captured the hearts of all who read it and won her international recognition as one of the most-loved storytellers of our time. She was an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) and lived in Dundee, Scotland.

Fall 2019 Catalogs Now Available Online!

Exciting news: Macmillan’s Fall 2019 catalogs are now available on Edelweiss!

EVERY BOOK we are publishing from August 2019 to December 2019 awaits you… What are you waiting for???!! DIVE IN!

Nonfiction Spotlight on UNEXAMPLED COURAGE

This week’s nonfiction spotlight highlights a largely-unknown incident in American history that sparked a Civil Rights revolution in UNEXAMPLED COURAGE: The Blinding of Sgt. Isaac Woodard and the Awakening of President Harry S. Truman and Judge J. Waties Waring by Richard Gergel.

On February 12, 1946, Sergeant Isaac Woodard, a returning, decorated African American veteran, was removed from a Greyhound bus in Batesburg, South Carolina, after he challenged the bus driver’s disrespectful treatment of him. Woodard, in uniform, was arrested by the local police chief, Lynwood Shull, and beaten and blinded while in custody.

Read more about the history and how the author discovered the story here in the New York Times, and check out an excerpt here.

Two starred reviews!

“Gergel is both an astute researcher and an engaging writer, bringing this significant story to vivid life. Civil rights history at its most compelling.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“[A]n important work on the prehistory of the civil rights struggle and an insightful account of how a single incident can inspire massive social and political changes.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Day’s YA – TIN HEART

Happy Friday, YA librarians!

My latest pick is chock-full of heart, wit, & just the right amount of absurdity.

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza
9781250312761
Ages 12 to 18
Available March 12, 2019 from Flatiron Books

After seventeen-year-old Marlowe undergoes a life-saving heart transplant, all she wants to do is start living a normal life and thank her donor’s family. But her life was never normal and her donor’s family has no interest in hearing from her. After Marlowe’s letters of gratitude are rejected, she takes on a fake name and befriends Carmen, whom she believes is her donor’s sister. On top of all of that, Marlowe, the daughter of a self-proclaimed Vegan warrior, is falling for the butcher’s son! (#SCANDAL) Could her life get any more complicated? Probably.

readmoreremove

Getting Ready for Black History Month

Celebrate Black History Month with these new and forthcoming books:

A BOUND WOMAN IS A DANGEROUS THING: The Incarceration of African American Women from Harriet Tubman to Sandra Bland by DaMaris Hill
A revelatory work in the tradition of Claudia Rankine’s CITIZEN, DaMaris Hill’s searing and powerful narrative-in-verse bears witness to American women of color burdened by incarceration.

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
“With such a dynamic ensemble of opinions and reflections, the collection will be sweet reading not just for Beyoncé’s superfans, but also for activists, feminists, and budding vocalists. An uplifting and resounding ovation.”Kirkus Reviews 

“Entertaining and illuminating, this essay collection will please readers no matter their Beyoncé fan status level.”Publishers Weekly

DRESSED IN DREAMS: A Black Girl’s Love Letter to the Power of Fashion
by Tanisha C. Ford
From sneakers to leather jackets, a bold, witty, and deeply personal dive into Black America’s closet.

GO HIGH: The Unstoppable Presence and Poise of Michelle Obama
by M. Sweeney
A photographic celebration of the former first lady’s elegance and strength.

readmoreremove

Day’s YA – CARRY ON

Happy New Year, YA pals!

My first post of 2019 celebrates a YA classic…

CARRY ON by Rainbow Rowell
9781250049551
Ages 13 to 18
Available in
hardcover, trade paperback, e-book, and audio (basically any format you want)

If you’ve read FANGIRL, you know all about Simon and Baz, the main characters in Cath’s fan-fiction. In CARRY ON, YA Queen Rainbow Rowell gives Simon and Baz an entire novel of magic, intrigue, and LOTS of moody staring.

Simon is entering his final year at Watford School of Magicks. But, let’s briefly recap his previous six: Simon is deemed The Chosen One and is forced to defeat the Insidious Humdrum—a villian that is nearly identical to an 11-year-old version of himself. Yikes!

readmoreremove

Get Ready for the 2020 Election Season

The 2020 election season has officially begun, with Massachusetts Senator Elizabeth Warren launching an exploratory committee for the presidency. Here are the two books from the Senator herself explaining who she is and what she stands for:

A FIGHTING CHANCE
The inspiring story of the two-decade journey that taught Warren how Washington really works—and really doesn’t.

THIS IS OUR FIGHT: The Battle to Save America’s Middle Class
A passionate, inspiring book about why our middle class is under siege and how we can win the fight to save it.

Holiday Break, and Happy Reading!

♫♪♫♫♪ ‘Twas the night before Christmas, when all through the Flatiron Building, not a publicist was pitching, not even a phone a’ringing. The books were already put up on the shelves with care, because no one at Macmillan would be there. ♫♪♫♫♪

Macmillan’s offices are closed from 12/24/18-1/1/19. May your days be merry and bright, enjoy the holidays with friends and family, and we’ll see you in 2019!

We intend to do a lot of reading while we’re off on our long, winter break and we hope you do, too. Here’s just a taste of what we’ll be digging into:

Amanda

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey 
A private investigator is hired to solve a murder at the magic school where her estranged twin sister teaches–a murder mystery + family tension X exclusive magic abilities = an awesome debut.

readmoreremove

css.php