Debuts

#PubDay (3/19/19)

A kick-butt female vigilante, a speculative SF novella collection, and a debut love letter to Chicago and its people join us to celebrate #pubday!

SAVE ME FROM DANGEROUS MEN by S. A. Lelchuk

Two starred reviews!

“This intelligent, action-packed thriller will resonate with readers as it touches on such themes as domestic violence, the widening gap between rich and poor, and the intrusive potential of advanced technologies like artificial intelligence. A credible plot and solid prose are pluses, but the book’s real appeal stems from its powerful, distinctive protagonist.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“Nikki’s fight scenes are satisfying, clever, and exciting…. Bookworms will love the references to classic novels, and Lelchuk winks at Nikki’s similarities to a certain well-known literary vigilante; a bookshop regular even calls her Lisbeth. A timely and totally badass debut.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

We’re Seeing Stars!

Holy starred reviews, Batman! Check out these forthcoming titles that earned two starred reviews!

THE GUEST BOOK by Sarah Blake

“This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society. Its convincing characters and muscular narrative succeed on both counts.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Blake deftly interrogates the many shades of prejudice and ‘the ordinary, everyday wickedness of turning away.’ Blake’s brilliant and ravishing novel promises to hit big”–Booklist, starred review

LOTHARINGIA: A Personal History of Europe’s Lost Country by Simon Winder

“Winder highlights the contrasts between readers’ modern perspectives and those of the Lotharingians and their peers with a deft combination of personal observation, historical anecdotes, and humorously straightforward summaries of complex military, dynastic, and ideological conflicts. This work is highly recommended for fans of European and world history.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

Macmillan Dominates with FOUR April LibraryReads Picks!

Exciting new, folks! The votes are in, and you lovely librarians chose FOUR Macmillan titles for the April 2019 LibraryReads list!

THE GIRL HE USED TO KNOW by Tracey Garvis Graves

An April 2019 Indie Next Pick!
“Careful to balance the emotional and intellectual power between Annika and Jonathan, Graves creates a believable love affair in which Annika is not infantilized but rather fully realized as simply different. And her differences become her strengths when catastrophe strikes, compelling Annika to take the lead for the first time in her life. A heartwarming, neurodiverse love story.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE MOTHER-IN-LAW by Sally Hepworth

Author of LibraryReads pick THE THINGS WE KEEP
“A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

readmoreremove

National Book Critics Circle Announces Winners for 2018 Awards

Last night, at the New School in New York, the National Book Critics Circle announced the recipients of its book awards for publishing year 2018.

The biography prize went to Christopher Bonanos for FLASH: The Making of Weegee The Famous (Henry Holt & Company), where John McWhorter says “Bonanos has written a page-turner about, of all people, a grubby loner scrambling around Manhattan taking pictures of usually humble and often dirtyish goings-on, usually after dark, and with a focus bordering on the compulsive.”

Anna Burns won for her novel, MILKMAN (Graywolf) where Lori Feathers says “as original in its presentation as it is profound in its exposition of the familiar and not so familiar terrors that daily assail its young hero, a woman who faces persistent, insidious predation, both sexual and politically motivated.”

Two Starred Reviews for LANNY and CAPE MAY

A Henry James read-alike and a spicy debut both received two starred reviews!

LANNY by Max Porter

Movie adaptation starring Rachel Weisz coming soon!

“In his bold second novel, Porter (GRIEF IS THE THING WITH FEATHERS) combines pastoral, satire, and fable in the entrancing tale of a boy who vanishes from an idyllic British village in the present day…. This is a dark and thrilling excavation into a community’s legend-packed soil.“–Publishers Weekly, starred review

Elegantly mysterious: a story worthy of an M.R. James or even a Henry James and a welcome return by an author eminently worth reading.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

CAPE MAY by Chip Cheek

“This young couple’s September honeymoon in Cape May got so boring they almost went home early. If only…. The 1950s setting, the pellucid prose, and the propulsive plot make this very steamy debut novel about morality and desire feel like a classic.“–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Yes, betrayals are at the core of what happens at Cape May, but beyond that, this remarkable debut novel offers a sobering reminder of how the possibilities of life, when first encountered, often carry their own riptide.”–Booklist, starred review

Most Downloaded E-Galleys on Edelweiss!

If your TBR pile is gettin’ low, check out our list of most downloaded Edelweiss e-galleys!

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir

Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut is the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton. The Emperor needs necromancers. The Ninth Necromancer needs a swordswoman. Gideon has a sword, some dirty magazines, and no more time for undead bullshit.

THE LAST BOOK PARTY by Karen Dukess

“In late 1980s New York, aspiring writer Eve Rosen is trying to keep up her spirits as a lowly assistant when she lucks out with an invitation to an event at the Cape Cod home of New Yorker writer Henry Grey and his poet wife, Tillie. She lucks out further when she becomes Grey’s research assistant and is invited to the couple’s oh-so-chic Book Party, but soon she’s starting to think that the publishing world isn’t so glamorous after all.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE MURDER LIST by Hank Phillippi Ryan

“Law student Rachel North, married to a star of Boston’s defense bar, is thrilled to be interning with the Boston DA’s office. Then the trouble starts, and she’s got to decide how to do what’s right. A stand-alone from the multi-award-winning novelist/journalist.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

readmoreremove

Lambda Award Finalists

The Lambda Literary Awards honor the best in LGBTQ books, and this year’s finalists include NINE Macmillan titles!

Gay Fiction

HISTORY OF VIOLENCE by Édouard Louis
SOME HELL by Patrick Nathan

Bisexual Fiction

THE BEST BAD THINGS by Katrina Carrasco

Gay Poetry

WILD IS THE WIND: Poems by Carl Phillips

Lesbian Mystery

A WHISPER OF BONES: A Jane Lawless Mystery by Ellen Hart

Gay Memoir/Biography

THE UNPUNISHED VICE: A Life of Reading by Edmund White

LGBTQ SF/F/Horror

THE BARROW WILL SEND WHAT IT MAY by Margaret Killjoy
THE DESCENT OF MONSTERS by JY Yang
WITCHMARK by C. L. Polk

#PubDay (3/5/19)

A short story collection, a city missing its resident superhero, a March Indie Next pick, and a stunning exploration of the human condition…welcome to #pubday!

INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL: Stories by David Means
Three starred reviews!
“With his debut novel, HYSTOPIA (2016), Means proved he is a gifted long-form storyteller. But his follow-up, his fifth story collection since 1991, affirms his position as one the best story writers of his generation.”–Booklist, starred review

“Means spins intricate, highly textured yarns with great artistry, care, and an acute, empathetic eye. Treasures abound.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In this magnificent book, we find the stories of every one of us: absent and present, dislocated and connected, at the mercy of our history, our narratives.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

readmoreremove

Women’s Prize 2019 Longlist

The Women’s Prize for Fiction 2019 longlist has officially been announced, and Macmillan has three titles in the running!

MILKMAN by Anna Burns (2018 Man Booker Prize Winner!)

NUMBER ONE CHINESE RESTAURANT by Lillian Li

GHOST WALL by Sarah Moss (January 2019 Indie Next Pick + 2 Starred Reviews!)

Three Stars for RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE

Everyone is falling in love with debut M/M rom-com RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE by Casey McQuiston! Just check out these THREE starred reviews:

“The much-loved royal romance genre gets a fun and refreshing update in McQuiston’s debut…. A clever, romantic, sexy love story.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“The impossible relationship between Alex and Henry is portrayed with quick wit and clever plotting. The drama, which involves political rivals, possible betrayals, and even a meeting with the queen, is both irresistible and delicious. Readers will be eager to see more from McQuiston after this extremely promising start.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

“In between sweet and steamy love scenes, RED, WHITE & ROYAL BLUE allows readers to imagine a world where coming out involves no self-loathing; where fan fiction and activist Twitter do actual good; and a diverse, liberal White House wins elections. This Blue Wave fantasy could be the feel-good book of the summer.”
Booklist, starred review

Also don’t miss Booklist’s exclusive interview with the author.

css.php