Debuts

F19 E-Galley Drop

It may only be January, but we’re gearing up for Fall 2019 with this epic e-galley drop! Head over to Edelweiss to download some of the hot titles of the season:

WHAT ROSE FORGOT by Nevada Barr
A gripping standalone in which a grandmother in her sixties emerges from a mental fog to find she’s trapped in her worst nightmare.

29 SECONDS by T. M. Logan
A woman being harassed by her male colleague is offered a once-in-a-lifetime deal that can make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No traces. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29-second phone call.

CAMPUSLAND by Scott Johnston
A laugh-out-loud first novel about one year of insanity at the Ivy-like Devon University, a blissful bubble of elite students and the adults at their mercy.

GIDEON THE NINTH by Tamsyn Muir
Tamsyn Muir’s necromantic science fantasy debut combines a solar system of swordplay, cut-throat politics, and lesbian necromancers for the most fun you’ll ever have with a skeleton.

THE GRACE YEAR by Kim Liggett
A speculative YA thriller in the vein of THE HANDMAID’S TALE and LORD OF THE FLIES in which girls are banished at sixteen to the northern forest to brave the wilderness–and each other–in order to rid themselves of their feminine magic before returning purified and ready to marry.

A GOLDEN GRAVE: A Rose Gallagher Mystery by Erin Lindsey
The follow-up to MURDER ON MILLIONAIRES’ ROW, Erin Lindsey’s second historical mystery follows Rose Gallagher as she tracks a killer with shocking abilities through Gilded Age Manhattan.

HUDSON’S KILL by Paddy Hirsch
New York in 1803 is seething with racial tension, as a mysterious provocateur pits the city’s black and Irish gangs against each other. When a young black girl is found stabbed to death, both Justy Flanagan, now a City Marshal, and Kerry O’Toole, now a school teacher, decide separately to go after the killer in this follow-up to THE DEVIL’S HALF MILE.

Killing It! February 2019 LibraryReads List Edition

FANTASTIC NEWS! Macmillan has FIVE February 2019 LibraryReads picks, including the highly coveted #1 spot, and a Hall of Famer!

In the #1 spot:
THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
A February 2019 Indie Next List Pick!
After shooting her husband in the face, Alicia Berenson takes a vow of silence. Theo Faber is a criminal psychotherapist who has waited a long time for the opportunity to work with Alicia. His determination to get her to talk and unravel the mystery of why she shot her husband takes him down a twisting path into his own motivations—a search for the truth that threatens to consume him…. “This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

PW Spring 2019 Announcements

Publishers Weekly has chosen the stand-out books from the coming months for their 2019 Spring Announcements, and there are 81 Macmillan titles you’ll need to save room for on your shelves!

Business & Economics

THE BILLIONAIRE BOONDOGGLE: How Our Politicians Let Corporations and Bigwigs Steal Our Money and Jobs by Pat Garofalo (a Top 10 pick)
INVEST FOR GOOD: Increasing Your Personal Well-Being While Changing the World by Mark Mobius, Carlos Von Hardenberg, and Greg Konieczny (a Top 10 pick)
BIG BUSINESS: A Love Letter to an American Anti-Hero by Tyler Cowen
HOW TO WIN IN A WINNER-TAKE-ALL WORLD: Career Management in the Twenty-First Century by Neil Irwin
WIN OR DIE: Leadership Secrets from ‘Game of Thrones’ by Bruce Craven

Comics & Graphic Novels

HOT COMB by Ebony Flowers (a Top 10 pick)
OFF SEASON by James Sturm (a Top 10 pick)
WHY DON’T YOU WRITE MY EULOGY NOW SO I CAN CORRECT IT?: A Mother’s Suggestions by Patricia Marx and Roz Chast
GRASS by Keum Suk Gendry-Kim, trans. by Janet Hong
CHRONIN VOLUME 1: The Knife at Your Back by Alison Wilgus

readmoreremove

Short Story Feature + Stars for RAG and INSTRUCTIONS FOR A FUNERAL

Today we celebrate the bite-size wonder of short stories with a feature on four incredible collections.

MOTHERS: Stories by Chris Power
Peopled by men and women who find themselves at crossroads or dead ends, these stories evoke the magic and despair of the essential human longing for purpose. “Power’s wide-ranging debut is confident, complex, bizarre, poignant, and elegantly crafted—a very strong collection.”–Kirkus Reviews

BONUS! If you enjoy listening to music while reading, check out Chris Power’s custom MOTHERS playlist.

WE LOVE ANDERSON COOPER: Short Stories by R.L. Maizes
Available July 23, 2019
A charmingly funny but deeply human short story collection about outsiders from a Pushcart Prize-nominee.

BONUS! Head over to Edelweiss for the e-galley.

And we’re not the only ones loving on short stories. These forthcoming collections have received multiple starred reviews!

RAG: Stories by Maryse Meijer
Available February 12, 2019
“In Meijer’s outstanding and disturbing second collection (after HEARTBREAKER), her fragmented writing style produces an intense and distilled view of isolated moments—or, conversely, makes the outrageous or aberrant seem ordinary.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

SUPER MEGA Stars On Stars On Stars On Stars (1/11/19)

Forecast calls for a meteor shower! Make room on your shelves for our many STARS.

Fiction:

THE NOWHERE CHILD by Christian White
“White’s tightly woven debut thriller has already won the Victorian Premier Literary Award in Australia; its arrival Stateside comes highly recommended.”–Library Journal, starred review

“The impatient may be tempted to skip ahead, but they shouldn’t. Thriller fans will want to savor every crumb of evidence and catch every clue. White is definitely a writer to watch.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

TRUST EXERCISE by Susan Choi
[T]he writing (exquisite) and the observations (cuttingly accurate) make Choi’s latest both wrenching and one-of-a-kind. Never sentimental; always thrillingly alive.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Fiercely intelligent, impeccably written, and observed with searing insight, this novel is destined to be a classic.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

readmoreremove

TxLA’s 2019 Lariat List

The Texas Library Association’s Lariat Committee has released the 2019 Lariat List, and we’re proud to announce Macmillan has three titles on the list!

THE DARKEST TIME OF NIGHT by Jeremy Finley
MEET ME AT THE MUSEUM by Anne Youngson
SEMIOSIS by Sue Burke

The list represents the 25 best works of fiction that are “a pleasure to read.” Click here to view the full list of titles.

Macmillan Audio Sweepstakes

Our pals at Macmillan Audio are giving away copies of our most exciting Winter 2019 audio books! See below for entry details and deadlines.

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib
“In her powerful debut, Zgheib masterfully chronicles the pain of an anorexic’s distorted thinking and intense fear of food in a riveting diarylike structure… This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review

Enter here!
Open now until 1/20

THE NIGHT TIGER by Yangsze Choo
Three starred reviews!
“Astoundingly captivating and striking in its portrayal of love, betrayal, and death, THE NIGHT TIGER is a transcendent story of courage and connection.”–Booklist, starred review

Enter here!
Open now until 1/24

Sneak Peek: February 2019 Indie Next List

The February Indie Next List includes three Macmillan titles!

THE COLLECTED SCHIZOPHRENIAS: Essays by Esmé Weijun Wang
“A collection of autobiographical essays on schizophrenia, which ‘shirks reality in favor of its own internal logic’….quite powerful and certainly useful for fellow sufferers.”
Kirkus Reviews

THE GIRLS AT 17 SWANN STREET by Yara Zgheib
“In her powerful debut, Zgheib masterfully chronicles the pain of an anorexic’s distorted thinking and intense fear of food in a riveting diarylike structure… This is an impressive, deeply moving debut.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE SILENT PATIENT by Alex Michaelides
“This edgy, intricately plotted psychological thriller establishes Michaelides as a major player in the field.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

See You @ ALA Midwinter 2019 (Macmillan Library booth #810)

Only a couple weeks left until ALA Midwinter! Make sure to come by our booth #810 and some of our many events to meet our great authors!

Daily doings:

Friday, January 25:

Opening Session with Melinda Gates (THE MOMENT OF LIFT)
Fri 1/25 | 4:00-5:15 PM
Washington State Convention Center Ballroom 6A-B
Add to your schedule.

In-booth signing with Harvey-award winning cartoonist Peter Bagge
Fri 1/25 | 5:30-6:30 PM
Macmillan Library booth #810

Saturday, January 26:

In-booth signing with debut YA author + fellow librarian (!!) Emily A. Duncan (WICKED SAINTS)
Sat 1/26 | 10:00-11:00 AM
Macmillan Library booth #810

United For Libraries “Spotlight on Book Clubs”
Sat 1/26 | 2:00-4:00 PM
Macmillan Library (booth #810) will be giving away copies of our favorite Book Club picks!

LibraryReads Debut Author panel with Angie Kim (MIRACLE CREEK)
Sat 1/26 | 3:00-4:00 PM
Washington State Convention Center, Room 3A
Add to your schedule.

Cocktails + Book Buzz*
We’ll be talking books, you’ll be buzzing with excitement…
Sat 1/26 | 5:00-6:00 PM
Sheraton Seattle, Cirrus Ballroom
RSVPs closed.
Add to your schedule.

Sunday, January 27:

In-booth signing with Catriona McPherson (GO TO MY GRAVE)
Sun 1/27 | 10:30-11:30 AM
Macmillan Library booth #810

UFL Gala Author Tea* with Wayétu Moore (SHE WOULD BE KING)
Sun 1/27 | 2:00-4:00 PM
Grand Hyatt Seattle, Leonesa Ballroom
*TICKETS REQUIRED.
Advance tickets $60 ($55 United for Libraries division members); onsite tickets $65 (if available) Event code: UNI1
Add to your schedule.

Monday, January 28:

LibraryReads Booktalk Author Breakfast* with Rachel Howzell Hall (THEY ALL FALL DOWN) and Yangsze Choo (THE NIGHT TIGER)
Mon 1/28 | 8:00-9:30 AM
Sheraton Seattle, Cirrus Ballroom
*RSVP REQUIRED by 1/7/19.
Add to your schedule.

**Events as of 1/3/19. Check back regularly for updates. #meow

For Your Consideration: March 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite March 2019 titles for the March 2019 LibraryReads list!  

*Votes due February 1!

REDEMPTION POINT by Candice Fox

“Wrongly accused of abducting Claire Bingley, former police detective Ted Conkaffey is protecting himself from Claire’s murderous father by hiding out in a remote town in the Australian rain forest and trying to find the real culprit. Meanwhile, the detective inspector investigating the killing of two bartenders at the local Barking Frog Inn is a homicide first timer. Enter tattooed-to-the-hilt Amanda Pharrell, a private detective who’s done time for murder and who joins with Ted to discover who’s responsible for all the blood. Just the way Ned Kelly Award–winning Fox joins forces with James Patterson now and again.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

MAKE ME A CITY by Jonathan Carr

“The rise of Chicago in the 19th century provides the frame for a trove of colorful stories and characters in this entertaining debut novel…Carr has a sure touch, and in many extended anecdotes, his narrative skills show exceptional detail, pacing, and tension. A solid storyteller enlivens a rich patch of American history.”–Kirkus Reviews

readmoreremove

css.php