Home » Books for Teens » Adult Books for Teens

Adult Books for Teens

Booklist and School Library Journal have deemed these adult books to be perfect for teens . . . and we agree!

HOTBOX: Inside Catering, the Food World’s Riskiest Business by Matt Lee and Ted Lee
The beloved Lee Brothers take on the competitive and wild world of high-end catering, exposing the secrets of the food business that no home cook or restaurant chef has ever experienced.

“YA foodies will appreciate the approachability of the Lees’ writing.” —Booklist, YA Interest

THE FLAME: Poems Notebooks Lyrics Drawings by Leonard Cohen
Also available in audio.
The final collection of the seminal musician and poet, which he was determined to complete before his death.

“With the self-portraits that pepper the pages and the nakedness of the words, teens will get a glimpse into the artist’s soul. Some will find themselves in these pages, and some will find within Cohen’s writing the words to express their own sorrows, hopes, and frustrations. Others will read the poetry just to let the rhythm and the emotion wash over them in a visceral flow.”
School Library Journal

IN EXTREMIS: The Life and Death of the War Correspondent Marie Colvin by Lindsey Hilsum
The devastating biography of Marie Colvin, the foremost war reporter of her generation, who was killed in Syria in 2012.

“Hilsum’s outstanding biography of Marie Colvin, one of the greatest reporters of her generation, will resonate strongly with young aspiring journalists.”
Booklist, YA Interest

GODSEND by John Wray
Whiting Award–winning author John Wray explores the circumstances that could impel a young American to abandon identity and home to become an Islamist militant.

“This provocative story will create multiple opportunities for teens and adults to wrestle with the issues surrounding radicalization.” —Booklist, YA Interest

GRIEVOUS by H.S. Cross
An English boarding school is both a cozy refuge and a potential powder keg in this follow-up to WILBERFORCE.

“Older teens who enjoy literary fiction and British boarding-school novels won’t want to miss this one. It will also delight fans of David Mitchell.” —Booklist, YA Interest

THE NIGHT TIGER by Yangsze Choo
Also available in audio.
From New York Times bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee.

“Weaving family obligations and colonialism with were-tigers and ghosts, this novel is compelling and mesmerizing. That rare literary work that will appeal widely.” —School Library Journal, starred review

LOSING EARTH: A Recent History by Nathaniel Rich
By 1979, we knew nearly everything we understand today about climate change—including how to stop it. Over the next decade, a handful of scientists, politicians, and strategists, led by two unlikely heroes, risked their careers in a desperate, escalating campaign to convince the world to act before it was too late. LOSING EARTH is their story, and ours.

“With an engaging, novelist style, Rich presents a history with which all teens must be familiar.” —Booklist, YA Interest

QUEEN BEY: A Celebration of the Power and Creativity of Beyoncé Knowles-Carter by Veronica Chambers
Beyoncé. Her name conjures more than music. Artist, business woman, mother, daughter, sister, wife, black feminist, Queen Bey is endlessly fascinating.

“A natural choice for teen members of the Beyhive.” —Booklist, YA Interest

“A pop culture must-have in libraries that serve older teens and new adults.”
School Library Journal

THE PERFECT ASSASSIN: Book 1 in the Chronicles of Ghadid by K.A. Doore
A novice assassin is on the hunt for someone killing their own in K. A. Doore’s THE PERFECT ASSASSIN, a breakout high fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas, and Brent Weeks.

“Teenagers looking to define their own places in the world will connect with Amastan’s coming-of-age story, his thorny but caring relationships with family, and the blush of first love.” —Booklist, YA Interest 

MIRANDA IN MILAN by Katharine Duckett
Shakespeare’s The Tempest is transformed through debut author Katharine Duckett’s magical historical fantasy.

“Shakespeare adaptations are popular in YA and this queer feminist update will be catnip for literary teens.” —Booklist, YA Interest

“Perfect for fans of Shakespeare curious about what happened to Miranda. Pair this with Tessa Gratton’s darkly decadent THE QUEENS OF INNIS LEAR.”
—School Library Journal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php