Home » Reviews and Publicity » Happy #Pubday to Sally Hepworth’s THE MOTHER-IN-LAW!

Happy #Pubday to Sally Hepworth’s THE MOTHER-IN-LAW!

Join us in wishing Sally Hepworth’s LibraryReads pick, THE MOTHER-IN-LAW, a very happy book birthday!

From the moment Lucy met her husband’s mother, Diana, she was kept at arm’s length. Diana was exquisitely polite, and properly friendly, but Lucy knew that she was not what Diana envisioned. But who could fault Diana? She was a pillar of the community, an advocate for social justice who helped female refugees assimilate to their new country. Diana was happily married to Tom, and lived in wedded bliss for decades. Lucy wanted so much to please her new mother-in-law.

That was five years ago.

Now, Diana has been found dead, a suicide note near her body. Diana claims that she no longer wanted to live because of a battle with cancer.

But the autopsy finds no cancer.
The autopsy does find traces of poison and suffocation.
Who could possibly want Diana dead?
Why was her will changed at the eleventh hour to disinherit both of her adult children and their spouses?

With Lucy’s secrets getting deeper and her relationship with her mother-in-law growing more complex as the pages turn, this new novel from Sally Hepworth is sure to add to her growing legion of fans.

“Hepworth (THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR, 2018) turns up the tension in her latest Australian-set domestic suspense novel… A masterful depiction of how much is said in the silences, accompanied by increasing unease over what happened to Diana, make this a winner for fans of Liane Moriarty and Megan Abbott.”–Booklist, starred review

Click here to read an excerpt.

Also by Sally Hepworth:
THE FAMILY NEXT DOOR
THE MOTHER’S PROMISE
THE THINGS WE KEEP
THE SECRETS OF MIDWIVES

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php