Home » Debuts » For Your Consideration: June 2019 LibraryReads Titles

For Your Consideration: June 2019 LibraryReads Titles

Download, read, and vote for your favorite June 2019 titles for the June 2019 LibraryReads list!

Votes due May 1!

THE ELECTRIC HOTEL by Dominic Smith

Two starred reviews!

“A compelling plot, robust characters, and finely crafted prose richly evoke a bygone age and art.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“Smith’s tale is as luminous as celluloid projected on a silver screen hung from a dirigible floating over the Hudson (yes, this happens). Highly recommended for historical fiction fans and readers who love old Hollywood novels.”–Booklist, starred review

MAGIC FOR LIARS by Sarah Gailey

“There’s something for almost all readers here: family drama, romance, high-school gossip, fantasy-world building. Above all, Gailey shows us that humans are humans, even when they are magic, and they are still flawed, damaged, and oh so interesting.”–Booklist, starred review

THE RIGHT SORT OF MAN by Allison Montclair

“A war widow joins a former spy in setting up a matrimonial agency…. The Right Sort Marriage Bureau’s debut is exactly the right sort to have readers hoping for a second date.”–Kirkus Reviews, starred review

THE BURNING CHAMBERS by Kate Mosse

“As usual, Mosse infuses the narrative with plenty of authentic historical detail while creating a highly charged atmosphere of intrigue. The mystery, the love story, and the incendiary nature of both setting and plot will keep readers turning the pages and eagerly awaiting the next volume.”–Booklist

A NEARLY NORMAL FAMILY by M.T. Edvardsson

“In Swedish author Edvardsson’s U.S debut, a family is shattered by a heinous crime…. Edvardsson ably weaves themes of parental guilt and sacrifice into a nuanced family drama.”–Kirkus Reviews

FKA USA by Reed King

“An epically concocted apocalyptic vision of America in all its faded glory.”–Kirkus Reviews

THE DAUGHTERS OF TEMPERANCE HOBBS by Katherine Howe

“In a new work harking back to Howe’s New York Times best-selling THE PHYSICK BOOK OF DELIVERANCE DANE, rising-star history professor Connie Goodwin studies the uses of magic in Colonial America (think herbal healing) and the dangers to practitioners. What folks don’t know is that she’s actually descended from a woman accused of witchcraft in Salem whose magic was realer than history allows—and that her partner’s life is threatened by a centuries-old curse.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE FIRST MISTAKE by Sandie Jones

Available on NetGalley. To be pre-approved for an e-galley, please email library@macmillanusa.com with the subject “THE FIRST MISTAKE.”*

Author of August 2018 LibraryReads Pick THE OTHER WOMAN

“Happily remarried to Nathan after the death of her first husband, Alice is also grateful for good friend Beth. But then Nathan starts vanishing for stretches, and Alice gets the sense Beth isn’t as reliable as she thought.”–Library Journal, Pre-Pub Alert

THE HISTORY OF LIVING FOREVER by Jake Wolff

“The search for an eternal life potion weaves through raw emotion, scientific curiosity, and heartbreak in Wolff’s intoxicating debut…The epic sweep and sly humor in the midst of enormous anguish will remind readers of Michael Chabon’s work as they relish this heady exploration of grief, alchemy, and love.”–Publishers Weekly, starred review

THE PERFECT DATE by Evelyn Lozada

When a single mom ends up playing an unwilling fake girlfriend to a charming playboy baseball player, love suddenly turns everything upside down in this fun, heartwarming multicultural romance in the vein of THE WEDDING DATE and THE KISS QUOTIENT.

MONTAUK by Nicola Harrison

A Library Journal Winter/Spring 2019 Best Debut!

“Full of substance and delightful characters with intriguing and intricate lives, Harrison’s first novel will be a strong pick for fans of historical fiction featuring strong female leads, such as Kate Alcott’s A TOUCH OF STARDUST and Jacqueline Winspear’s popular ‘Maisie Dobbs’ series.”–Library Journal, starred review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.

css.php